We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thilanka Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thilanka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Thilanka Resort and Spa
51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We really loved this hotel. The mango trees offered privacy, the rice paddies were so lush and green. The service was great, and the room was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again, very relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    105
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
64
122
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The hotel is idyllically situated with mango trees out front and a view from the infinity pool over paddy fields and mountains in the distance. Chants from the nearby Buddhist temple are fantastically atmospheric. It is surreal lounging around in a pool while looking at and hearing an environment that may not have changed for a thousand years.

Everything is very clean and minimalistic but although the cocktails are well mixed it struggles to be much fun. The set menu is a little disappointing - quite bland but perfectly ok. However, on our second night we asked if they could do rice and curry, which was not on the menu - they agreed and it was delicious.

An odd irritation was some of the staff waiting for tips more than we experienced anywhere else.

All in all, it was a perfectly nice place to stay, but could be really good with a bit of tweaking. It works well as a base for cultural triangle sightseeing, but we wouldn't have felt comfortable lounging around there all day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We had a two night stay here on our return trip from Trincomalee (having spent two nights at a dirty hell-hole called Lotus Park Hotel. The hotel grows their own rice, vegetables and fruits and try to be self-sufficient. A great place to put your feet up and relax. Rooms are spacious. Food; above average, but a limited menu. Fantastic ambience. Nice view from the swimming pool. Staff is friendly and obliging. Service is slow but understandable considering the fact that the hotel is just recovering from a bad time and a limited number of staff is employed. When in Dambulla, I have always stayed at Kandalama Heritance. But now, I have a relatively inexpensive, alternative.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I must first point out that I work in the travel industry and so I can be a little critical at sometimes....We were due to stay for 3 nights and checked out after the first night for several reasons. The hotel lacks any real atmosphere, the staff are quite friendly, but the food is very average. We only ate once, but the chicken looked in size more like a canary. The hotel does not have any anti-insect repellant system in place like most hotels and as it is open plan, you find that the mosquitos eat better than you! We were litterally eaten to death by them, both in the bar/reception and our hotel room. There was a fair amount of stagnant water around which seemed to add to the problem. The rooms are ok for the price, not particulary clean, the gap under the door allowed the mosquitos easy access, some of the windows didn't look and the bathrooms would not of looked out of place at a prison. The rooms smelt pretty awful, which is due to the golf ball sized moth balls that they use to repell the cockroaches. I only realised this after I got rid of them and was joined in the toilet by two of the little bleeders. There is an outdoor hot tub in each room, but too dirty to use. The pool looked OK, but not recommended for kids as all the patio tiles are loose. There isn't really anywhere to relax apart from the bar/reception and the chairs are too uncomfortably for any length of time. Generally, the place looked a little tired and we felt that it was worth upgrading to a better hotel, which we did, the Kandallerma. It was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Stayed for just one nite as part of a tour. We arrived in the nite, riding up a path on a tricycle through the mango plantation to the reception of this modern hotel. Greeted with a welcoming drink we were soon in our room. Found the it clean and comfortable, wasn`t too sure about the outside bath thing, would use the pool instead. We stayed on half board and selected from a small choice of western food which tasted good, i was disappointed by the lack of local food, but found this in most places we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

The hotel was part of our one night excursion to Dambulla and Sirigiriya with the local tour operator. We were very impressed with the hotel facilities and its modern eco friendly design especially an infinity pool. A massive bedroom with a personal outdoor bath tub if you dare to share it with the insects! Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a loverly five course dinner (limited a la carte menu) and lovely breakfast. We had a relaxing time and enjoyed our stay after a long climb up on the Lion Rock and Dambulla Cave temple.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

On arrival at this hotel I was impressed by the location and welcome.
We had two rooms which looked fine and were well equipped with vast bathrooms and jacuzzi type baths. However, one was full of mosquitoes when the door was opened and the door was warped so that it would not close properly (it was actually left unlocked by the staff because of this).
The swimming pool, which initially looked attractive was, in my opinion dangerous. It had no steps to allow easy access and was surrounded by bare concrete. Around the edge were loose concrete panels with gaps that could easily trap fingers.
Food was limited and indifferent as were the staff who were not at all friendly.
We were supposed to be staying 2 nights here on our travels around the island but decided not to return and moved on elsewhere.
I consider myself an experienced traveller in Sri Lanka, having stayed in about 30 different hotels over the last 10 years. This is probably bottom of my list for hotels to return to.
Please do not confuse this hotel with the Thilanka Hotel in Kandy which is under the same management, a completely different!
Nigel Knight

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thilanka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.