We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a better experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thilanka Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thilanka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Thilanka Resort and Spa
51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expected a better experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I booked this hotel as it had a good rating on TA. I stayed three nights. The setting is beautiful, although one is a bit lost when you arrive as the reception is quite far from the car park.
The first night I experienced a few problems with the room and i was moved to a "better" room the next day. The breakfast served the first morning was great, but the following two mornings were actually bad. The barman could not mix the cocktails on their menu.
It seems that the interior needs to be refurbished, curtains can't be drawn properly, TV reception poor, soap and shampoo provided are of extremely poor quality (satches which is sold at roadside stores).
Staff are friendly. After visiting Sigiriya, I went to the spa for a 10 min complementary foot massage and an hour body massage. Everything was finished after 40 minutes. When i asked the therapist about this, the answer was "oh, I did not check the time".
Overall, dissapointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    105
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
64
122
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were booked to stay at the Chaaya Village hotel but due to Kuoni deleting our itinary as apparently the hotel information that had been agreed was "irrelevant"!!! we ended up here.
Far from being the relaxing destination we were expecting this became a nightmare. All our activities were in Habranna, an hour and a half drive away as the road was under construction.
The good - the pool and the staff.
The bad - almost everything else. Not sure if we were just unlucky, we certainly had the lowest grade room, but the hotel as a whole did not live up to the standard we had anticipated or booked.
The bathroom and toilet - like a prison cell - maybe someones idea of "boutique chic" but certainly not designer as far as we were concerned.
Food - ordinary at best. Breakfast not early enough to be enjoyed before we had to be collected by our guide - not the hotels fault - purely the fault of Kuoni for booking us into a hotel too far from our "activities" destination.
We experienced monsoon rain conditions outside - can't blame the weather on the hotel, but also inside, when the room above had an issue with their water and it came through the ceiling and flowed through our bathroom and into the bedroom. No apology from the hotel - we got the impression it was something that occured regularly. This was in addition to the air conditioning that leaked onto the bed which was consequently damp.
This is not a hotel to which we would return.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
754 helpful votes 754 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I do not know how exactly the hotel derives its name, but the first impression when we entered the property - mango tree garden, a beautiful mango orchard!

The area of the hotel is very large, growing mango trees everywhere. We see that the hotel is operated meticulously - everything is very neat and always clean. Under the trees we found ripe mangoes. And it was interesting to watch how squirrels eat them on the tree. They will gnaw skin and when it falls down to the ground, they will eat the inside of the fruit. In addition, in the rice field has a bright green color creates a contrast with dark green leaves of mango trees. Interestingly, the hotel growns it's own pineapples, papaya, cucumber, rice, and there are beds of beans. From the flowers seen chrysanthemums and roses, they might have recently planted, as they are still feeble.

Very comfortable cottage complexes each with four room; two on the ground floor and two on the second. We lived in the very last cottage on the second floor. What can I say! Cool! The room is large, equipped with modern appliances and furniture. A large soft bed, white sheets, and what a soft blanket, weightless and is comfortable! I like that the toilet, sink and shower with Jacuzzi bathtub - all located in separate rooms. Go in one, at the entrance to find yourself in a room with a sink, the left room with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub, right - the toilet. On the inside of the door is a mirror on a total area of ​​the door! Very comfortable, everything is done to ensure that guests enjoy their stay at the hotel. We loved it!

The hotel has a swimming pool, big and clean. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to use it due to a wedding reception being held on our arrival day, and it was awkward pacing in front of everyone in a swimsuit. On the second day we had a busy schedule; Sigiriya in the morning and Polonnaruwa in the afternoon.

Now about the restaurant. It is located on the second floor of the main building. The waiters are very polite. The food delicious. Have not long to wait for the order. In general, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of service in Sri Lanka. This is not Turkey, where the staff in the best case do not pay attention to you. Before traveling to Sri Lanka this type of service suited me, but now I realize that the work can be done differently. In Sri Lanka in general and in particular Thilanka Hotel, the attitude to tourists is very careful. Meticulous service with a sincere smile.

Although we just two nights at this hotel, those two nights were wonderful! Thanks to the hotel staff for their work and for our pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We booked a one night reservation online and received email confirmation. However when we tried calling them the day we were supposed to check in, they couldn't find us in their system. We called three times and each time they said we didn't have a reservation with them. After we arrived to the hotel, they did have a room for us and they gave us an upgrade, although it was difficult to tell what the upgrade was given that we were only showed one room. Upon our arrival, we were given cool towels and cold drinks. That was really nice.

Our room was situated in a building that was the furthest away from the entrance of the hotel. It was quiet and serene. The room itself was very large with a king sized bed, looks very modern. There was a TV and DVD player. Both of which we didn't use. The TV had bunny ears, but still very poor reception. The bathroom was spacious, with a jacuzzi that we didn't use, and a rain shower head. Plenty of hot water. We had a small frog companion in the toilet. The one drawback for us about the room was the number of ants crawling on the furniture. I don't know if this is something that is unavoidable in Sri Lanka, but for the amount of money we paid, we expected at least some sort of prevention system.

The food in the restaurant was not what we were expecting. Perhaps the chef they hired was inexperienced because the dishes were over cooked, over seasoned, or just lacking in taste. It seemed like they were trying too hard and in the end served underwhelming food. My husband ended up getting sick from his dinner, which interestingly enough was Sri Lankan cuisine. The restaurant staff seemed to be either too attentive or completely clueless. If we stayed longer than one night, we would've eaten outside of the hotel for the remainder of our meals.

The gardens were nice, it was great to see the hotel growing veggies that they used in their cuisine. We went to see the natural river at the end of the hotel property, but there wasn't really any development there other than a broken down bridge. We didn't use the spa. My husband did use the swimming pool. He said he felt like he was on display as everyone stared at him when they passed by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Spent three nights here on arrival in Sri Lanka from1st to 4th April. Arriving directly from the airport at 9am did not phase the staff and we were soon shown to our rooms some 6 hour before standard check in with no fuss.

The resort has a wonderful setting with rooms laid out in block of four spread out through fruit and vegetable gardens. The large rustic rooms are pleasant and the resort is very peaceful with the only sound in the evening or early morning being that of the local wildlife. It is a great place to be based for excursions to such wonders as the Golden Temple, Lion's Rock at Sigiriya, the ancient city of Polonnaruwa and for taking a jeep safari to see elephants in the wild.

The staff are very friendly and the service and food is of a decent standard and I would certainly stay here again if I were to travel in the region again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel was the first one we visited during our roudtrip through Sri lanka. We stayed there for four nights. After the stress we both suffered from in our Belgian job, we needed some breath and we found it in the environment of this property. First, we were a bit disappointed that the hotel is situated far from a city (always pleasant for a walk in the eve), but the environment of the complex is so various that we got the 'zen'-moments we were looking for. The staff is super friendly, the rooms are excellent, the food was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for one night as part of an independent tour. Would have liked to have stayed longer. The hotel comprises 5 or 6 modern two storey blocks of 4 rooms, set in attractive landscaped grounds. Our room was on the first floor and overlooked the pool. The décor was modern, very stylish and comfortable with an excellent shower and a large outside bath – ambient temperature water. The dining room was on the first floor of the main building, with large windows looking out over the pool and garden making it very light and airy. Dinner on the night we were there was waiter service as the hotel was not full; normally it is a buffet. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The vegetables served in the restaurant were grown in the garden. This was a small scale, very relaxing, pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thilanka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.