We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thilanka Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thilanka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Thilanka Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pannipitiya, collombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Place is wonderful . Fill with natural beauty. I like your them,that combination of nature & tradition.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    121
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
73
135
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We started our tour of Sri Lanka from this hotel. We were sorry that we only booked in for 1 night. The food was excellent and drinks very reasonable. The setting is lovely with the rice field, we saw the manager working hard there during the day. It is nice to know your rice for dinner is produced from the field you are looking out on. Rooms are huge, bathroom & shower are fantastic.. We just wish we could have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Once I have gone through the Trip advisor comments about Thilanka Resort thought up date with my views about this resort....I live in Sri Lanka and as hobby me & my husband use to travel around Sri Lanka to find & see the senic beauty of the country. We used stay at hotels once we go out & this is one of the best place we have found to sped the night close to historical city Dambulla. There are many many lovely hotels around Dambulla & Thilanka Resort & Spa also can be put into that catagory who always provides a lovely exeperience while yor stay with them. I feel this is a place where value for money and if you are nature lover this another place that you should visit. the large, beautifully painted rooms with large bath area gives you a very good experience in staying at this hotel. I specially love their food as they alwasy try to give an authentic Sri Lankan meal.
We used to go this place for lunch, once we passing Dambulla most of the time. they always willing to give you a good quality food all the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed at the Thilanka Resort and Spa with a group for 4 nights at the beginning of August.
The lobby with the pool and the rooms look great at first sight, but are quite worn. The safe in my room didn't work and they were not able to fix it during the 5 days stay. Actually didn't matter as it was right at the table and you could have carried it with you. The bathroom door didn't close properly and the main door even looked as if it would crash down if you just blow agains it (just like in "the three little pigs"). The curtains were old and dirty and I even found dead bugs stuck on it.
The local food served at the restaurant was good, they wanted to treat us with European food which was just terrible. They should stick to their curries.
The staff is generally very nice, but some of them very slow or can't speak proper English. Be careful when taking a Ayurweda-Massage, it could change to an erotic-massage!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Wonderful place, in the middle of rice fields. Staff was nice, great food, wonderful swimming pool and the room was large and beautifully arranged. Large bathroom with jacuzzi bathtube. But it was not possible to have double beds (2 single matress with individual bedlinens, even if stuck one to eachother) which might make this place not the ideal for a honeymoon despite all the rest. I would recommend it as it is really quiet and perfect for a few days around Dambulla.

Room Tip: not possible to have a double bed, don't understand why ???
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanka
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We visited the resort witg two little kids.as soon as we arrived we were offered a peddled cart ,to be escorted into the lobby area through a beautiful mango garden.The welcome was excellent. Receptionist was very pleasant,Welcome drink was ok.Although they do not offer the same ride on our way back to the car park, it was something unusual for us.
The architecture and the 25 acre garden with ending at dambulu oya was excellent.many bathing options are there.
Staff was friendly.
As vegetarians we were offered a good meal.But i would say there is still space for improvement when it comes to meals.The variety was not extensive.
Rooms were great with inbuilt pools.
Overall its great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is wonderful. The rooms are very big, clean whith air conditioning and lot of light.Rooms have both shower and bath, TV and wifi in the hall. The picture you find on the web and on tripadvisor shows for real this resort. Staff very nice. Spa inside but unfortunately I haven't tried

Food was good but not incredible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thilanka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thilanka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.