We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amaya Lake to your Saves list
Amaya Lake
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Gaia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I never stayed in such romantic hotel.
quite peacuful...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    251
    105
    43
    30
See reviews for
205
316
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Hotel picked for us by a tour company- great choice! Arrived 6.30 in morning in room by 7.30-pretty good. Staff very polite. Good choice of food. In a Club Lodge- not so easy to find in dark but lovely room!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I foud the hotel staff were very pleasent, the rooms were very comfortable, the food was very good withe the buffet selection good. Very relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I am in two minds about whether I should criticize the stay because my overall experience was excellent. My only grudge is on a few counts which I must highlight for this review might help the resort in plugging such leaks.

My travel advisor had booked me into another hotel near Amaya Lake called 'Nice Place', which I outright rejected on seeing their rooms as it did not fit my taste. I was travelling with my wife and infant daughter and there was a basic level of comfort I was looking for. I had seen sign boards of Amaya Lake on the way there and so I instructed the driver to head straight to Amaya Lake. It was raining heavy and it was dark and it is my advice that one should not be driving in those parts after sunset. The roads were narrow and one slip would land you in a ditch a few meters deep on either side. I am however referring to the route from 'Nice Place' to 'Amaya Lake'. The route to Amaya Lake from Dambula town is quite good. I am presenting this detail to highlight the circumstances under which I landed at Amaya Lake.

I walked up to the reception at Amaya Lake and asked for a room. They offered me a net rate of 148 USD per night. They call it the half boarder rate and the cost included breakfast and dinner. . The check in procedure was quick and I was to stay two nights. They charged my card upfront and so I chose to pay one day at a time. (My travel advisor managed to get me the second day stay at a discounted rate through an agent at 120USD). The room we were initially allotted was pathetic. The air-conditioner did not work and the wooden panel on the bathroom door was peeling off. I informed the reception and they offered to move me into another room which the bellboy told me while shifting was in a batch of newly built rooms. My initial thought was why they had to inconvenience me by making me pack all over again whence they could have allotted the same at check in. My travel advisor later told me the next day that the hotel was being generous and the room they had re-allotted was actually a 178USD/night room.

This new room was utterly wonderful. The hotel even provided us with a baby cot. We were very tired from the travel and the adventure of having travelled in the night on roads that felt very unsafe so it was a welcome relief when we were told that the hotel could serve dinner in the room with a choice from the buffet. Everything was great except with the plumbing in the bathroom. The pleasure of a shower was denied since the shower head was clogged and leaking and the health faucet by the water closet was also clogged.

On a good note, this resort is situated on a lake shore, has some breath taking scenery and there is a lot of space to walk around and explore within the resort. The service was great and the staff courteous. The spread at dinner and breakfast really is amazing and we experienced this over our two days stay. The restaurant too, which we visited on day two was wonderful with live food counters and a lovely layout. The swimming pool though I did not use it looked great. On the whole, our stay was great and this would now help you understand the title.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

The approach road to the Amaya lake is not very great however, once you reach it, its all worth the bumpy ride. A green canopy of trees leads up to the lobby. The Lobby is huge with large paintings of Sri Lankan art and culture. There's a swimming pool in a level lower to the lobby. Multicoloured cane furniture with cushions lines the sides of the hallway. We were greeted with welcome drinks and then escorted to our room.

Each room is named after a different species of tree or animal. Our room was named after White-browed Fantail Flycatcher. Really nice room with a big bathroom and loads of space. However, the bathtub was a little stained - thankfully there was a separate shower stand.

Food is good - the buffet had a good spread, with musicians entertaining diners with local songs. The breakfast, though good, had flies / bees hovering over some foodstuff (like jams / jellies / cut fruits) which were uncovered, since the buffet area opens out into huge green lawn, leading up to the lake.

So, except the little discomfort on the cleanliness / hygiene front, the stay, staff and service was up to the mark.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Stayed for two nights as part of a wonderful tour . holiday booked with Holiday Place.com. The local tour organiser was Panlanka who did a first rate job, and our personal guide and driver was Neil da Silva who made the experience very enjoyable. The Amaya Lake Hotel is excellent, the rooms are really nice and well maintained. The location is beautiful. The food was very good, and service of a high standard. I am astonished by some of the comments posted.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This hotel should really be avoided at all costs by the independent traveller! Place is full of package holiday groups.

Our room was dirty, shower was mouldy, and it stank of cigarettes. Housekeeping was not done before 5pm in the evening forcing us out if we wanted things cleaned, staff were either rude or completely disinterested.

All of these things pale into insignificance when we think of the food - a buffet (or really a trough), none was edible. We ordered ala carte, waited about an hour for a club sandwich which when we did get it, was basically inedible. We even gave up on coffee at breakfast after a day (grey slop). 'Chef' cooking bbq dropping and reusing utensils on food. Nobody cares!

Stay at Kandalama or dont go to Sigirya.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaya Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.