We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Place for a vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amaya Lake to your Saves list
Amaya Lake
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Place for a vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It was our much needed vacation. Stayed couple of nights here, which is surrounded with lush green and a great lake.

Very pleasant rooms and hotel environment including the activities we could participate during our stay made the experience much worth for the price we spent.

Friendly staff and the yummy food is also highly appreciable.

I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear DNSam,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Amaya Lake and for taking the time to post a rave review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back and to exceeding your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    251
    105
    43
    30
See reviews for
205
316
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Got this through agoda on a discount rate for about £90. It's a complex of "lodges', really scenic, amazing service. You get ferried around in golf carts. Food was great (hotel style). I had pasta which was really yummy (needed something else after 2 weeks of curries!) Lovely view of the lake and pristine grounds. Pool looked fab, but didn't get to swim in it. Looks like the kind of place where you could stay for a while. We stayed for one night to go to Sigiriya Rock before travelling home. Room was humungous with a massive bathroom. Would have given this 5 stars, except the jacuzzi on the bath wasn't working.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear SandraKingston,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to Amaya Lake! I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services and our excellent location. The hotel staff makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set for ourselves and we are pleased you enjoyed a warmly memorable experience at our hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited last year in Spring to Sigiriya for 3 days and chose this property...mainly because of its atmosphere, seclusion and location beside the lake.

Rooms are big, and we booked for a Deluxe room and for approx USD 150 per night per room inclusive of breakfast was not a bad deal when compared with similar properties in vicinity. Although a little far from Sigiriya (you need your own transport) but the character and facilities of this property are geared towards giving you a resort experience.

Didn't really like the dinner experience though which we also found on pricier side at USD 26 per person (buffet).

Pool is nice and changing restrooms although ok but are not as clean and well maintained as I have seen in other similar places. Wifi Internet only worked in the lobby and their library is rather sparsely stocked. They have a nice shopping gallery (though very expensive!)

Room Tip: Get a room near the lake if price difference isn't too much. Else it may not be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear muditkag,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your review on Amaya Lake.
We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

We will address all your concerns given with the senior management and hope you would visit us again on the near future.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights at this hotel which had a great lake setting.
The appartments were spread out over the grounds but you could always get a buggy ride to take you to the restaurant / reception or back to your appartment.
Our room had twin beds with a seperate lounge area and a very large bathroom, complete with a large bath and a walk in shower room.
It was very clean an occassional lizard would appear but this is the tropics!
The meals were all buffet style with a very large selection of dishes.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear DaveT61,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for choosing Amaya Lake for your recent stay and for recommending your experience. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lovely hotel
Nice rooms

Friendly staff
Very good brakefast
Excelent dinner with veriety of food and lot of fruites

Veru nice swiming pool

Very good bar
Nice location
Very nice photel to dpend s long vacation

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Yossi T,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent visit to the Amaya Lake. We are so pleased you had an excellent stay with us! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and hoping to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A lovely hotel set in great grounds. The staff were very helpful and we would recommend this hotel.The early morning views across the lake rowards the "Sleeping Warrior" are stunning with many birds to see and hear.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are a long distance from reception, but there are plenty of carts available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Beracah,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your views and that our staff was at your help every time.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Amaya Lake is situated in an amazing location surrounded by cloudy mountains, windy lake and lush greenery which makes you feel that you have stepped into a heavenly place. All the chalets were located assuring maximum comfort and peace of mind. Rooms were designed in a luxurious manner, providing all the modern comforts. The lobby of the chalet was ideal for reading and to relax with cup of tea or beer. Centrally located swimming pool was warm and very clean. We enjoyed there specially in the evenings.

The large open restaurant gave us a very relaxed and an unforgettable dining experience, with a wide range of food. Namely, a large variety of fresh salads, noodles, pasta, cabonara, sea food, and many more desserts. Action station which was at the middle of the dining hall served fantastic fresh dishes.
During your stay, you should not forget to visit their Ayurvedic spa which provides a commendable service.

Last but not least, we have to mention about the very friendly and courteous service extended by hotel staff.

After visiting many hotels in Sri Lanka, we experienced Amaya Lake hotel as a place which offers you great comfort and joy, taking you through a heavenly holiday experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good, as it gives privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Rathangi R,

Ayubowan! Greetings from Amaya Resorts & Spas!

Thank you for sharing experience on your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back on your future trips to Dambulla, Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaya Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.