We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arika Boutique Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arika Boutique Villa to your Saves list
Arika Boutique Villa
Puwakattawala Road, 40th mile post | off Matale Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing! Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed at arika with a group of 18 students and 4 teachers for 8 days. Everything about this place was amazing. The staff were truly wonderful with our students. The food was fanatic (the best we have had In Sri Lanka). The chef never repeated a meal the whole time we were there! The rooms were spacious and well kept. The bathroom in the ground floors are neat.

The only problem we had is that the floor around the pool is polished concrete so it was very slippery after the kids swam...I am surprised someone hasn't fallen and broken something.

I can't wait to return to this little gem!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel and I felt it offered good value for money. The staff were all extremely wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I only ate breakfast, but it was always delicious. If you order it the night before it comes quickly. This is a small operation, so you need to give it a little bit of slack. It has an intimate personal feel about it, which I much prefer to bigger anonymous hotels. If the food is a little slow, it is because it is home made right then!

Wifi is a bit unpredictable and I could only get it in the reception area, but it is a nice and comfortable place to sit and listen to the wildlife, so. I did not find this a big inconvenience. You can easily buy beer in Dambulla town and the hotel is happy for you to drink your own alcohol, if you bring it. The power kept failing, but again I took this all in the spirit of being in such a secluded spot. It always came on again within 15 minutes. The rooms are large and very beautifully designed with a focus on natural materials. Very stylish. All in all, this is a wonderful place. I would definitely come back and wish the hotel manager every success.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

When booking, I tried to search for some comments about Arika Villa, but could not find almost anything. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find a nice and modern-looking small hotel in a quiet location. We learnt that it was opened just 6 months ago. Villa has a great ambience and the staff is helpful and friendly. They told us they didn't have a room for drivers there, but the receptionist helped us out and accomodated our driver during our stay.
Our room (#102) was really spacious with an exit to the backyard. The bathroom was big too and its open roof gave me the impression of taking a shower outside (a very interesting design solution). There were also a swimming-pool, garden and a bbq to use. There was no problem to get a socket adaptor from the reception. The hotel offers Continental, English or Sri Lankan breakfast and the menu for dinner is well thought-out.
We stayed in Arika Villa for 2 nights and we truly enjoyed the quietness, relaxing environment and being surrounded by nature. In the morning you could hear birds singing which was lovely!
A couple of things to improve: the wifi was only accessible from the reception and there was no signal in the room. The frigde was so loud we had to switch it off at night. There were too many switches in the room and to find the correct one for the lamp you needed patience trying all of them in a row until finding the right one :)
Despite these small drawbacks, it is a highly recomendable place to stay with children, friends or for couples at an affordable price.

Room Tip: to avoid waiting I would suggest to order your dinner menu in advance during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently.

The villa is a great idea and location is lovely however I think some things have been overlooked.

Our room on the ground floor had an open roof over the shower which is nice until it rains!! It was unbelievably loud one evening.

there are fridges in the room with nothing in them but they are incredibly loud. I switched ours off.

Also there are only comfy seats in the very small reception area, could do with some in the rooms perhaps which are easily big enough.

Another thing to note is that they don't sell alcohol at all and apparently you can't buy lion lager anywhere in the area. Not that it's a big deal but its nice to have a beer when it's so hot and there's nothing else to do at night - the tv in our room didn't always work either!

However, the staff are attentive and will usually do what they can for you. Good location for the tourist sights also.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor in rainy season
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I want to give this place an excellent review but two things stop me from doing so - firstly, our room had a cockroach each night I was there, and secondly, the first night we waited more than an hour for the food, although the two breakfasts and other dinner we had here came quickly.

On the plus side - we had a huge and rather nice bathroom in our ground floor bedroom with a skylight that extended beyond the first floor. (I suppose our location on the ground floor was the reason for cockroaches and other insects, and thus we didn't make a fuss about the cockroaches.)

The location was also off the beaten track, so it is extremely tranquil and great for a relaxing stay.

The staff we interacted with also tried to be very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My two daughters (23ys & 2yrs), housemaid, my wife and myself checked in to Arika Boutique Villa, Dambulla, Srilanka on 11th October 2013 for 02nights but loved our experience that we cancelled our visit to Nuwara Eliya and stayed an extra night at Arika.

Arika Boutique Villa is an hideout, hidden in greenery, in a village. Staying at Arika will give you a quite, serene, peaceful and relaxing stay at an affordable price. A river stream passes one side of Arika and water from four rivers flow here.

The Architecture, colours both exterior and interior are amazing. The rooms that we stayed in and the bathrooms were excellent . The bathroom was the best . I have never stayed anywhere where the bathroom is so big and gives you a view of the trees and the sky. Staying on the ground floor, we had the swimming pool in front of our main door and the garden at the back door.

From the time we entered we were pampered by the staff; each of them very professional and would cater to our every need and were very friendly. They made the atmosphere so homely that I sometimes felt that I was staying in my own villa. I knew each of them by their names.

The food was excellent. The Chef who has international experience cooked anything that we asked him. He was excellent. Most of the other staff too have worked outside Srilanka in various hotels.

In a few months fruits and vegetables will be available from Arika’s own organic farm.

I highly recommend Arika Boutique Villa for families, honeymooners, and anyone who is looking for peace and quietness.


Freddy D'Cruz
Dubai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked for two nights here but ending up staying for four! I was lucky to be one of their first guests and was warmly welcomed. The hotel is in a quiet location and surrounded by nature and wildlife which makes for a very relaxing and peaceful stay. The pool is lovely for a proper swim and right in the middle of the hotel so it's nice to get pop out of the room.The staff are wonderful: very professional and cater for your every need along with being geninuely friendly. The food was great and the chef has worked abroad so can cook you both Sri Lankan and European dishes - I was very impressed by all of it.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and families. I would also recommend it for people, like me, who are on their own and want some peace and quiet for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arika Boutique Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arika Boutique Villa

Address: Puwakattawala Road, 40th mile post | off Matale Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deviating from the long scenic route of the A9 road which connects Matale and Dambulla, one comes across a path surrounded by a wild, lush natural forest leading to one of the most unique and secluded getaway spots in the serenity of rural Sri Lanka. The Arika Luxury Villa, evocatively named after the intricate water lily; is located in a heavily landscaped area at the confluence where the stream meets the local river. With a part of the hotel facing the stream and merging with the tranquility of the natural surroundings, its strategic position in the remarkable location highlights its environmentally friendly ethos and makes it the perfect private hideaway. The alluring aura subtly brings you to an inviting stairway which leads to an age-old door from the culturally rich city of Jaffna; embedded on the seemingly raw, but environmentally friendly, brick wall which holds the key to your luxury stay within. Following the concept of the water lily; after which the hotel is named after; Arika is a complex two-floored architectural marvel that is built around an indoor swimming pool overlooking the passing stream beyond the open deck. The hotel boasts of facilities such as a glass-walled multi-cuisine restaurant to enhance a welcoming feel and a steam room for relaxation. Having avoided damage to the surrounding environment as much as possible, the hotel also has a local Karandha tree indoors emerging from the courtyard. Most of the furniture is purely cement based thus giving it a natural perspective. Going along the lines of a green concept; solar panels are used for water heating and recyclable materials for other aspects, thus making it a seamless eco-friendly experience. Yes ... Arika prides itself as the perfect secret escape for those who seek pure tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arika Boutique Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arika Boutique Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.