We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and clean family-run place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasure Island Guest House

Pleasure Island Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pleasure Island Guest House to your Saves list
Pleasure Island Guest House
Pleasure Island, Lake Road, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very friendly and clean family-run place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our tour around Sri Lanka. Our first impression was how clean it was - particularly the bathrooms were spotless - felt like we were some of the first guests after renovation. The beds were comfortable with mosquito nets, and I slept well. It's a bit out of the way, but the owners (a family of three) were VERY accommodating and drove us around. The food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent and the portions were huge. We felt very guilty when the father drove us to one of the other places to eat in town and then waited outside for us to finish - we wanted to explore a bit, but the food here was better than the place we went to. The father also drove us to Sigiriya and waited for us while we climbed the rock. There is a nice veranda where we ate and a friendly dog and cat. The daughter of the family deserves a special mention for being so welcoming and helpful (and a fantastic interpreter). Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The daughter of the family is good at english, and she manages to convey the message to her parents who do not speak english. They go a step ahead to please the travellers. Wifi is also available. The guest house is in a little remote place,with all trees around, and no street lights in the night. The family cooks food, if required,a little expensive, but we got to consider the cost of living for Srilankans , difficult for them to make a living, if they dont charge high. We had asked for Indian food, which the daughter said, they could prepare, but we were not happy with the dishes served, not their fault, they did the best they could.
A/C is not fitted in the rooms, it would be good, if they have air conditioners , as it gets hot in the summer.
We visited in the month of May 2013, and I was unable to get a good sleep because of the heat and the insects (lots of tiny insects due to the trees, plants around). Mosquito net is a must use.

Lack of A/C facility is the only draw back of this guest house.
This guest house is close to cave temple and Sigiriya.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cana, Virginia
2 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

we had lovely 3 days stay here.The owners were incredible ane very very helpful.The home cooked meals were delicious.Their daughter was very sweet and so friendly with us.The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable.so we had a great time in Dambulla.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay here in Dambulla. This place is a little out of Dambulla and so although good avlue for money, you do have to factor in a tuk tuk to and from the centre of town. The place is still being renovated but rooms were clean with hot water. Best thing was the lovely family and daughter - great at English - and their lovely home cooked food - although we were hit by a slightly larger bill than expected at the end, particularly compared to the £5 per person a night price tag, the food was some of the best we sampled in Sri Lanka! Thank you!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great 2-nights stay. The owners were incredible- very helpfull.They offered us home cooked meals, maybe not as cheap as usually in Sri Lanka but worth the price.The room was nice, bathroom too. It's a good place for those who don't need to be very close to town. You have to take tuk tuk to get to the centre.The lake nearby is a fantastic place for watching sunsets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and enjoyed meeting the family. The 15 yr old daughter acts as translator and waitress and is very sweet. It is a bit out of the way but there isn't much to see in the town anyway once you've been to the cave temples. My only issue was that the room was insanely hot, maybe an a/c further on down the line when they're completing the construction! Really lovely family experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Warm and friendly, helpfull service, tolerable clean.

BUT: You have to be clear that you are living far away from town center. Building is still in construction so you spend your night in a construction area.

FRUSTRATING: The extra prices are far too much. So we spend nearly 20 dollars for an average breakfast & dinner. Very high service charge!!!

CONCLUSION: Clean, but offside and too expensive – not recommendable. We had many better accommodations in Sri Lanka for better prices

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pleasure Island Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasure Island Guest House

Address: Pleasure Island, Lake Road, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pleasure Island Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasure Island Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.