We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice people-worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paradise Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Paradise Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Paradise Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people-worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the Green paradise Eco Hotel for just a night and while driving to the place had some apprehensions as the road we used was a short cut that was still under construction and felt more like a long cut! Once we got there, all apprehensions vanished.Quick check in by a set of courteous and competent staff , with a golf cart handy to carry us and our baggage to the room. Dinner was a great experience-the set menu posed some limitations for some of us, but help was readily forthcoming from the Chef, who quickly rustled up fried rice and dhal curry along with mixed vegetables.The spirit continued at breakfast , when , even without our putting in a request, they came up with vegetarian dishes to supplement the pretty substantial buffet. I enjoyed an early morning walk in the lawns and before realizing, it was time to leave, but not without a word of gratitude and appreciation for the staff and management who made our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. we saw a number of other guests and service was very efficient. Would like to come again if all goes well. the rooms could do with some more brightness -the lights can be altered to achieve this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Manaoj,

Thank you for staying at Green Paradise Resort and for your kind review! we are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our service and the food offerings as well as the location!

we have noted your comment about the rooms lighting and we are on top of this job now!

we certainly look forward to welcoming you again at Green Paradise to enjoy more of our hospitality!

Regards,

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    72
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
68
73
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family spent 2 nights here just before Christmas. We chose it because of it's location to Sigiriya and the sights that we wanted to see in the area. It's a beautiful location that feels like it's in the middle of the jungle or rainforest. The sounds at night could be captured for a white noise machine. Just beautiful.

We were so busy that we didn't really get to make good use of the facilities, but did eat dinner in the hotel both nights (as there is nothing else nearby) and breakfast.

The room is extremely spacious and yet a bit odd. We had a 2 story cabin, although not quite sure what you would do with the upper level. The first night our air conditioning stopped working in the middle of the night and it was way too hot to sleep. The next day we told management about it and it was fixed promptly.

The bathroom was huge and the shower was the best we had in any hotel in Sri Lanka.

Breakfast and dinner both had plenty of selection of foods that were tasty. The service by the staff in the restaurant was really good.

The lounge area (where you could get wifi) was a nice area to hang out to have a cocktail and chill. You didn't feel like you were sitting in a lobby of a hotel.

After 2 weeks in Sri Lanka, with some good and bad experiences in hotels, this was definitely the best with regards to hotel food, staff, scenery, cleanliness, etc. Our family took a vote and unanimously said that we wished we had got to stay at this hotel longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Fabulise,

Thank you very much for the complementary review! we appreciate all what you have highlighted of Green Paradise!
Well, for any tourists who loves visiting Unesco heritage sites in the triangle, GP is just one central point! But we regret to hear that the right information about the area and the activities available has not been given to you well! we have here plenty of activists! recreations activities, Sight seeing, bicycle rides, cart rides, bird watching many more!

Also, we have noted your comment about room arrangement, basically interior! we are working on this and i am sure soon i will be able to bring some change!


We thank you again for staying at Green Paradise and recommending this place by TripAdvisor! looking forward to welcoming you again at Green Paradise!

cheers!

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent two nights here and we had great expectations. The hotel definitely has a potential but it is poorly used:

- Rooms are dark and with a silly design (we had a duplex room but the bed was downstairs while the upper - brigther - part only had a fake leather sofa and a small table).

- Service from the staff was disappointing (each request had to be repeated at least 3/4 times before being executed).

- The restaurant is not nicely decorated (bright neon lights).

- Although the hotel claims to be "Agro-Eco" in its name, there is nothing that makes it such: the soap/shampoo in our room had the brand of a hotel in the Maldives, rooms are dark so we had to keep lights on at all times etc.

Good aspects are the swimming pool and nice surroundings. Pity as the location and architecture have a good potential. With better management Green Paradise can be a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Edoardo A,

Thank you for staying at Green Paradise! we really appreciate for taking your valuable time to highlight some of the important points that we need to correct immediate! We usually do not keep all lighting on in the rooms and we will definitely look in this issue with our interior designer!

I have noted your comments about the amenities and we corrected it immediate! Thanks for your observation! Also, I am happy to note that you are happy about the location and architectural design of the hotel! As you have highlighted, Green Paradise has a greater potential in the market!

We look forward to see you again!

Susantha Bandara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights. It's a nice place, was really empty when we were there, only 10 guests in total, which is odd as I believe it's peak season at the moment.
The food is good, we found the service to be really good and very fast, but then we only ever saw one other couple eating at the same time. It's in the middle of nowhere do theres not much to do outside of the resort, we hired some bikes and just went on a ride on one of the dirt tracks. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Would like to have seem some Sri Lankan food on the menu, although they did cook egg hoppers for us for breakfast at our request even though they weren't on the menu

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear DominicFilmore,

Thank you for the complimentary review on Green Paradise! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciate, taking time to share your experience!

We also appreciate your feedback with pleasure, on our food, quick service, friendly staff, flexibility in doing different food items!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you do visit Sri Lanka again!

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had 3 nights at Green Paradise in December. It is a beautiful place with lovely rooms and a great setting. The staff were very friendly and eager to please. Previous comments about long waits for meals seem to have been taken on board and they offer a buffet every night. The food was lovely although the buffet was more expensive than some other places.

They could do a little more with the space they have and they could provide more information to residents. There is a rocky outcrop above the hotel that would be great for early morning walks but we didn't realise this until we were leaving. The manager was telling us that the hotel changed hands fairly recently and that they would be in a position to put in further investment from the beginning of April.

The location was fantastic. There is nothing else around and, because it is at the southern end of the cultural triangle we were able to get to it in 3 1/2 hours from Colombo airport (albeit arriving at 7pm on the 26th of December when the roads were relatively quiet).

I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for staying at our Resort and for your complimentary review! We appreciate your valuable comments about our hospitality, facilities and the setting!

I too think that we need more information at the Front! We do many excursions including bird/butterfly watching tours! sight seeing around the resort, the lake, natural pond at the front etc. etc. this would be attended immediate!

Whilst thanking for your high recommendation, we do look forward to welcome you on your next trip to Sri Lanka!

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Chalet was extremely well-appointed and comfortable. The environment was truly 'Green'. The Buffet Meals were well-planned and appetizing. The Staff were very helpful and friendly. We used our 2-night stay at the Hotel to go Hot-Air Ballooning, to visit the Wildlfe Park at Minneriya (Kaudulla) and of course to climb the famous Sigirya Rock once again. Will definitely re-visit Green Paradise Hotel.

Room Tip: I was told that some Chalets have additional space for a Sitting Room. This may be more useful for V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Delano,

Many thanks for the complimentary review! we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay right from the start to the end at GP! Also, we appreciate your recommendation about our room categories, attractions around, staff and service!

whilst thanking you again for the encouraging review, we look forward to welcoming you again at Green Paradise Resort!

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the green paradise in December. The location is a amazing. It feels like you are in the middle of the jungle. Rooms were big and well appointed. However rooms could have been cleaned a bit better. Found it a little bit dusty. The staff were very polite and helpful.

The spa was a huge disappointment. Staff at the spa were very unprofessional. We were not asked for our preference of massage therapist ie. male or female. And a male therapist was appointed to female clients without asking. When asked if we could have a female therapist. They said that we assumed that you would be happy with a male therapist cos "people that look like you" (whatever that meant) don't mind male therapists for female clients. The manager at the spa tried to force the male therapist on us even though we were clearly uncomfortable. In the end one member in my party forgo having a massage. Also while getting the massage, my therapist kept leaving the room to attend to the reception desk as they did not have someone there. She left about 6 times during my hour massage to attend to the reception area.

Aside from the very disappointing spa experience the rest of the hotel was good. Would recommends it for people looking for a relaxing holiday with nature.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Dalini0207,

Thank you for staying at Green Paradise Resort and taking your precious time to make a review!

Please accept my sincere apology for the sour experience you had at the Spa! This issue has been already handled and thank you for correcting us!

Similarly, we are delighted to hear that you liked the Resort and the surrounding very much!

We would like to have you again at GP!

Susantha Bandara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paradise Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Resort and Spa

Address: Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, about 160 km from the International Airport, this hidden gem offering ultimate luxury and isolation is tucked away amongst lush vegetation amidst the mystery and spirit of the past. The resort offers easy access to the nearby historical sites like the Dambulla Rock Temple and other cave temples dating back hundreds of years ago and the Sigiriya Rock fortress and the ancient cities of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, as well as short drive to the East Coast beaches of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Paradise Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paradise Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.