We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real green paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paradise Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Paradise Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Paradise Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Verona, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real green paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the green paradise . The hotel was nice and perfect. The room was huge ( garden suite ). Clean and comfort. Cleaned everyday and changed the towels everyday . The service at the restaurant was just perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The only negative point was the accommodation of our guide/driver who stayed with us for 3 nights. He had to rent out a room in Dammbulla for his comfort. We kindly ask the hotel management to consider on this regard. We love the hotel but our guide said he would not bring tourists any more because of the service they got.
The garden could be improved.

Room Tip: Garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valgatara,

We appreciate the time taken to give us comments of your stay with us, and happy to hear that you have enjoyed the services and facilities the hotel has to offer and that you were well taken care of.
In regards to our drivers accommodations, we wish to inform that this is an option available due to limited space available and all our travel agent partners are informed in advance and aware of this, Nevertheless we have been taking steps to improve and expand the accommodation availability within the hotel for drivers.
I trust that you have enjoyed your holiday in Sri Lanka and will be visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    72
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
68
73
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was heavily raining the day when we reached the hotel. It was 3 p.m when we reached the Kandalama lake bridge and was flooded. We saw vehicles and staffs from other hotels helping their guests. But none from Green Paradise. They were not even called us to inform to use alternative routes. We ordered lunch for our kids an hour before we reach the hotel as they were hungry. However, we received it only after 45 mins of reaching.
It was difficult to contact front desk as intercom was not functioning properly. They had few umbrellas to share among rooms and one of them was broken. Restuarant was severely understaffed. Buffet wasn't bad but set menu was average and not to the expected standard.

Jacuzzi was located outside the room and uncovered. It was uncomfortable for women. Despite all the above, this property has a great potential if they hire right set of trained staff and beef up the operations.It is ideal for family holiday, kids would love this place. Spa facility could be improved. I hope the hotel will take this positively.

Room Tip: Duplex with whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Nuzraan,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay in December 2012, your comments regarding the services, food and facilities have been discussed with the team and steps have been taken to correct these issues for the future. We did have issues with our road access and communication systems due to the heavy rains we experienced during the month of December 2012.
We always welcome feedback from our guests as this helps us to improve standards as well address operational issues. We look forward to seeing you again when in Dambulla.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Dambulla to spend the long weekend with our children at this hotel and stayed in the superior delux room. It was very good and spacious and build in new attic concept with upstair living area. Children had enough space to play.
I thought it would have been better if they keep the TV at the living area rather than at the bed. The king size bed is very comfortable.
I would say food and service is average. Staff is friendly. Think of revisiting again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

What a way to end our three weeks of volunteering with GoEco in Kandy than to spend three delicious days at the Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel with our friends from Oklahoma.

We used this location to visit the sights nearby with a driver. Climbing Sigiriya rock was the highlight and we're no spring chickens. It was well worth the effort.

What was not to love about this place? The airy, open stunning lobby and dining room. The comfy, clean, crisp rooms that allowed for great privacy. The sparkling bathroom. The over-the-top swimming pool was just the best. We ate all our meals at this hotel and the service and menu choices were perfect. The staff was just the best, too....friendly, helpful, and caring. Stay here!

Room Tip: Maybe near the pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Cobbery,

We appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback and it was also wonderful to have been able to meet with you and your friends during your stay.
We are happy that you have enjoyed our services and facilities and happy to hear that all our team has taken efforts to make your stay a memorable one, we still remember the sign board "Hot Hot Hopprs" and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We thought we'd be getting luxury for what we paid but despite the huge potential of this hotel, we were incredibly let down by the incompetent service and terrible management of the hotel.

The day we arrived, there was flooding in the area. Our driver called ahead to the hotel and was told that they would be sending hotel transport to those stranded. After waiting for 20 minutes, our driver called again, only to be hung up on by the manager. Not a great start. Luckily our driver managed to get us through.

When we got there, they said there was no accommodation for our driver, even though we had explicitly written ahead to secure a spot for our driver for the 2 nights that we were going to be there. We had to create a huge fuss before they ensured that he got a room.

When we finally got to our room at 7pm, ready to hit the shower and get our 2 kids to bed, we found that the shower area was completely dirty and clogged up. It took their people 1 hour to come in and longer to sort it out.

There were no bathroom amenities, the phones to reception didn't work, there was no information on the hotel's services in the room.

The room was large with very high ceilings. There was an upstairs living area. The TV was not there, no beds were there. Just one couch and a table so I didn't really understand what that space was for.

The next day, after the rooms were cleaned, we found that we had no towels. We had to ask 3 times for new towels and when they finally came, they were filthy! And when we showed it to the hotel, we didn't get an apology!

Overall, we found the hotel unclean. Our driver said that he saw rats in food stores of the hotel and the staff quarters were filthy.

At checkout, they billed us again despite us having paid for our accommodation via Agoda. Then they tried to charge us for the Christmas Eve dinner that we didn't attend. We disputed the charge because if it had been a compulsory charge, Agoda would have charged it. And there was no information about the dinner charge on their website.

On the positive side, this hotel does have potential. The grounds were nice, pool area was nice, the breakfast buffet had a good variety and was tasty, the rooms were spacious and the reception staff were sweet and friendly, albeit incompetent.

Our stay was not a positive one at all, especially considering what we paid during this peak period. But if management bucks up and service improves, it could be quite a nice getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Pinkhog,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are sorry to hear that you have not been happy with our services and your comments have been discussed in detail with our team and steps have already been implemented to correct these issues for the future.
I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast buffets, swimming pool, garden and spacious rooms.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights, the location is amazing surrounded by trees. the place is really peaceful and calm. we had the chance to swim in the nice and big swimming pool. The rooms were very nice. The rooms are kind of small cottages which i thought was so cool. we had clean sheets but for the 2 nights there we didn't have our towels changed which i thought was kinda weird. Breakfast was amazing. it consisted of many varieties which will suit all nationalities and tastes. Dinner was good there too. I was surprised that the hotel serves SHISHA and i really liked the idea since im a shisha smoker :D :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with Green Paradise, and we are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food, services, facilities and especially the Shisha the hotel has on offer. We are sorry to hear that the towels have not been changed during your stay and wish to inform you that as part of our Eco practices towels are changed only on request or every 2 days, I apologize that this has not been explained to you by our team and have discussed this matter with them and corrective action has been taken already. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After a long drive, we got to the green paradise resort. Impressive lobby is the first thing that struck us. After we received a warm welcome of the staff, we were most kindly shown around by Thyagi, a most friendly and smilefull young staff member.

The place is very nicly located, in the middle of the woods, and next to a water reservoir where some freshwater fishing is possible. Ask the staff for some help, they will show you the good spots.

Beautiful pool area, staff is most kind and understands hospitality, and speaks english very well, excellent food.

Had a nice time here, totally reccomended, would go back here when back in sri lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Travelallplaces,

We thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your stay at Green Paradise, and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. We are happy to hear that our Guest relations officer Thyagi has taken the time to show you around and also to hear that you were able to enjoy the fishing in the lake next to the hotel, we have since introduced more local fish varieties into the lake together with the local village council and fresh water fisheries department to improve on this experience and also provide alternate income for the local community, so better fishing on your next visit?. We are happy to hear that the entire team has made your stay an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paradise Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Resort and Spa

Address: Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, about 160 km from the International Airport, this hidden gem offering ultimate luxury and isolation is tucked away amongst lush vegetation amidst the mystery and spirit of the past. The resort offers easy access to the nearby historical sites like the Dambulla Rock Temple and other cave temples dating back hundreds of years ago and the Sigiriya Rock fortress and the ancient cities of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, as well as short drive to the East Coast beaches of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Paradise Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paradise Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.