We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star cabana resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paradise Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Paradise Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Paradise Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kubukkadanwala | Dambulla, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“5-star cabana resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Pleasantly surprised to find a hidden gem in the midst of thick forestry and foliage of Dambulla, Sri Lanka. Cabana style with a loft (double storey & couch) and verandah/balcony to enjoy the greenery, also allowing a family with young kids (or 2 couples) to easily roam around. Spacious toilet with rain shower as well as an outside separate jacuzzi good for two! Wonderful service from the guest relations officer (personalised and helpful) to lifeguard (at swimming pool) to the buffet dinner team who cooked up an amazing spread. A must-visit for the eco-traveller!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear SGTravelor,

We are really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our services and facilities during your stay with Green Paradise and that our staff were able to provide you with a wonderful experience.
We trust that you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka and plan to return in the future.

Best regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    57
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
61
57
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kindom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The room was too small. But you can hear all your neighbors, which wasn't good at night when you are trying to sleep at 1am and they are partying next door.

We were not lucky, unclean bath tub . Our friend's had dried vomit on their sheets and wall, we told the hotel at checkout and showed them, they thanked us for reporting to them but that was about it. No compensation or anything. In general I have noticed the the hotels we have been to lack the sophistication of service that we have seen in other countries we have visited.
hotel dont have a view
food was too cool no taste. there was a cemetery near by the hotel. terrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear MaheeV,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, however having gone through our guest records and guest complaint records we are unable to find any record of your stay with your given name and nationality on profile or any record of the complaints or incidents that you have highlighted in your review. Nevertheless all your comments have been discussed with the team to ensure that extra attention is being paid to all our guests requirements.
Unfortunately we are unable to do anything concerning the small cemetery which is located outside one section of the resort property as it is a public cemetery, the resort has nevertheless constructed a perimeter wall in this area separating the perimeter road located between the resort property and the cemetery.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, null, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Without doubt, one of the best new hotels in Srilanka with true European luxury. The architecture is breathtaking.
Overwhelming service with quality.
Drinks and food are quite reasonably priced and the best in the area.
Exceeded my expectation above all the hotels in the area and would like to recommend to anyone as a must visit Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Kanishka,

Thank you for taking the time to give us you comments, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort when you are next in Dambulla.

Kind regards,
Michael Armstrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having joined an organised tour Sri Lanka with Koning Aap the two nights stay at Green Paradise was an unexpected gem, it's a perfect place to recouperate! The dinner was mouthwatering, the staff very attentive and friendly, there is a nice shop (bargaining can be fun!), they serve perfect cocktails at the bar and there was live entertainment with a music and dancing group. All the wood they've used has been imported from Italy, had a great stay and can recommend this hotel highly! The shower was of a high standard too. Breakfast buffet with a massive choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Hanny,

Thank you for the wonderful comments and really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with Green Paradise and that our staff were able to provide you with a wonderful experience.
It was a pleasure also to have been able to meet with you and the rest of your group during your stay.
We trust that you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka and plan to return in the future.

Best regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A beautiful new hotel in the middle of no where! They have spent a fortune to build an eco style hotel cabana style. It has so many good features but they have a big problem with mosquitos in rooms, restaurants and common areas. The question is how an Eco hotel be able to deal with this problem without poisoning the nature.... The food is great and the people working there so friendly and helpful. Their best capital is staff...

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool, you need a good driver to endure the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Bitte Von,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the service of our staff.
We have taken serious note of the problem you have had with mosquitoes during your stay and have taken necessary steps to minimize this through or pest control program, and appreciate your understanding concerning the difficulties of balancing the Eco concept and usage of chemicals.
We trust that you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka and will visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited this hotel on last August.It was a very good experience for us.The hotel has large and comfortable rooms.We stayed in a Garden suite.It has an outdoor jacuzzi and two televisions.The jacuzzi must be cleaned daily,because Some insects and a frog came through the holes of it. The staff was very helpful and friendly.This is a nature resort and whole rooms are surrounded by trees.The Green Paradise resort consists two restaurants(Orchid,Pizzeria al farno),Swimming pool and a fitness centre.The owners of this hotel are thirteen Italian men.So,the hotel is built according to the italian type.The only problem we had was about food.There was a set menu.The taste was good but,if there are a lot of varieties it might be better.But,to be honest this is a lovely hotel to spend your holiday.

Room Tip: Garden suites near the ground area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Sampath,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Green Paradise, and look forward to seeing you again.
With regards to the variety of the set menu, we appreciate this comment and will be correcting this, also I wish to let you know that our Chef and team are always prepared to provide any alternate request that you may have if the menu is not to your liking and apologize that this has not been communicated to you. We hope that we will be able to correct this issue on your next visit.

Best regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It's a new hotel located 10 km from Dambulla City. The hotel is very big and have really nice nature. The first thing i notice was the very big lobby and restaurant. The whole complex is light and fresh. You feel like you are in a jungle. The staff is very friendly and they try to help you with where they can. Nothing is too much in this hotel. I stayed in a garden Suite. It was a nice duplex room with an outdoor Jacuzzi. There are a lot of things to do in the hotel like swimming in the pool, a fitness, a massagesalon. The owner is an italian men so al the decorations are italian. There is also a real italian pizza oven. The food was really the best food i had during my holiday. There was a set 5 cours menu, but it was really really good! The drinks are also quite cheap. The only negative point was that there were sometimes problems with the communication.

Room Tip: Take a suite with a Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Nathalie,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Green Paradise,
I thank you for your comment regarding the communication issues and wish to assure you that we are in the process of correcting these shortcomings.
We hope that you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka and will return back someday in the future.

Best regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paradise Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Resort and Spa

Address: Kubukkadanwala | Dambulla, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, about 160 km from the International Airport, this hidden gem offering ultimate luxury and isolation is tucked away amongst lush vegetation amidst the mystery and spirit of the past. The resort offers easy access to the nearby historical sites like the Dambulla Rock Temple and other cave temples dating back hundreds of years ago and the Sigiriya Rock fortress and the ancient cities of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, as well as short drive to the East Coast beaches of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Paradise Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paradise Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.