We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Kandalama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Kandalama to your Saves list
Heritance Kandalama
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days during a tour.
You will wonder where you're going and where you are on arrival as the last part of the journey is along a dirt road!
Warm welcome was only second to the room we had. Very comfortable in size, a great bed and large bathroom.
Monkeys will greet you on your balcony, which I enjoyed a lot!!
The view is stunning! Looking out onto a lake/river/hills/jungle all at the same time and we saw 2 wonderful sunsets from our balcony.
The room was showing some signs of ageing with general wear and tear but nothing you'd complain about.
The food was delicious. We had the buffet on the 1st night and tried the A la Carte restaurant on night 2. If we're honest we thought the buffet was a little over price as we chose the 2 most expensive meals on the A la Carte menu with pudding and this came to the same price as the buffet. So we would highly recommend trying the restaurant. We were 1 of 3 couples eating there so you really did feel spoilt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    446
    157
    44
    25
See reviews for
436
899
57
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel remote but excellent. Food, rooms, staff, location first class. The infinity pool over looking the lake was brilliant. Close to Sigiriya Rock which isn't to be missed. Also the nature reserve. Time your visit to see the elephants bathing in the lake. Happy elephants actually laugh! They are much happier than the fairly sad ones at Pinnawala which was a disappointment.

Room Tip: So long as you keep the windows shut to keep the monkeys out and the air conditioning in they all se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very isolated but lovely setting by a lake. Rooms lighting was dark and thus not great for the elderly! Make sure the doors to the balcony are shut and LOCKED due to the monkeys. The bathroom had floor to floor windows overlooking the forest but was very private. Had champagne breakfast on the barge (6.30am) - actually a wooden platform slung between 2 metal floats but a great experience. Not that romantic as accompanied by 4 staff.

Room Tip: Had a superior room and it was fine. However the view was restricted to the trees and forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ja Ela, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Kandalama Food was awesome... Most of the food had something in it to enjoy.... Everyone should enjoy it more than once in you life.

Staff is very helpful, friendly

The hotel atmosphere and architecture I don't want to explain it by self.....its up to you to feel the magic

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our recent trip to Sri Lanka and were bowled over by the architecture and location of the hotel. We changed rooms after the first night to get a better view of the lake and Sigirya rock however couldn't really make use of the balcony due to quite aggressive (macaque) monkeys! We loved the roof terrace, restaurant (curries were excellent) infinity pool and the proximity to birdlife. There aren't many places which you can describe as 'unique' but this is surely one of them. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

What an amazing place. Beautifully designed to fit into the mountainous rock strata and jungle, this hotel offers the ultimate in eco escapes. You are awakened in your luxury bedroom by a dozen monkeys on your balcony, overlooking the large lake and grasslands below. Kingfishers, eagles, cattle egrets, herons, parrots ands a myriad of birds soar around the three infinity swimming pools. Giant Iguanas creep across the lawns and chameleons sit implacably in the shrubs. Local safaris to national wildlife parks provide a chance to see literally hundreds of wild elephants, peacocks and crocodiles. Cultural tours to Sigirya, Dambulla and Polonnaruwa complete this extraordinary experience. Wonderful staff, comfortable rooms, good food in a fabulous location...what more could you want?

Room Tip: All rooms have a staggering view, but hotel is very long...about 1/4 km.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this hotel - only stayed for one night but could have easily stayed for 3... Scenery is breathtaking, it's a beautiful break from the hustle and bustle of city life and is truly an amazing experience. Staff friendly and attentive, food was excellent and rooms were well equipped and took full advantage of the gorgeous surroundings. Felt like we were in the real heart and beauty of Sri Lanka - only tips would be to request a room with a view of the lake as our first room looked into trees. Upon request we were immediately relocated into a deluxe suite with an outstanding view. Second tip - when eating outside, beware of lurking monkeys... Had 2 king prawns skilfully stolen by a roving monkey within seconds of it hitting our table (which was quickly replaced by staff!!) Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and is a must for your Sri Lankan adventure.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Kandalama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Kandalama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.