We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Simply Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Kandalama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Kandalama to your Saves list
Heritance Kandalama
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dambulla
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
““Simply Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days, and it’s probably the most unique hotel I’ve ever stayed in. It’s almost invisible from a distance; it blends in so well to its jungle and cliff surrounds. The service was lovely and we checked in at the café/pool area that overlooks the lovely lake and jungle areas. The entire hotel ‘plays’ constantly with
We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. The room was very comfortable with a lovely view. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. We enjoyed our walks in the grounds, swimming in the pools and the ride on Monica, the elephant. We would love to return!
We spent our first 3 nights at the Heritance Kandalama just outside Dambulla. The setting of the hotel is fantastic, with views of the lake and the surrounding jungle. We would love to return!

Room Tip: Luxury Rooms in the Sigiriya wing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    446
    155
    44
    25
See reviews for
430
891
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The design of this hotel is pretty amazing - built into the rock face and almost completely covered by plants it is hidden in the landscape. The monkeys will visit your balcony, so keep the door locked unless you want to share your room with them.

The location is s great base from which to explore Dambulla, Sigriya and other sites. There is a gym, multiple pools and two restaurants. The meals is the main restaurant are buffet (never been a big fan of this) and the food is okay, but was probably at the bottom end of the quality scale compared to the many other great places we dined at while in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Really good location to explore the surrounding area, but don't expect too much in terms of food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The location is lovely. We really enjoyed walking on the grounds, looking at the monkeys, birds & other wildlife. The food is excellent with a magnificent buffet with a wide range of local, regional and international choices. The hotel is well integrated into the natural landscape. Staff is very friendly and well mannered. You will find lot of photo spots which you will enjoy it very much.The infinite pool is so beatiful and the rock pool on 5th floor was lovely and relaxing .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We are a family of five (with kids aged 14, 12, and 8) and we stayed for four nights from January 1-4, 2014.

We had an amazing stay at this hotel. The food was excellent, the services were perfect, and the views and architecture were simply unbelievable.

We did have one significant issue with a hotel outsourced service which caused a significant problem for us. However, the hotel staff addressed the problem with prompt professionalism and went to great lengths to ensure that we were satisfied with the resolution. We were so impressed that for the first time, we've felt compelled to write a review.

You must make the extra effort to go to this hotel, the hotel and scenery and proximity to 4 of Sri Lanka's World Heritage Sites will make this an unforgettable vacation.

This is a five-star hotel with five-star service to match. We have absolutely no reservations recommending it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I think this is a very unusual hotel being built into the rock. The corridors are rather stark but obviously this is how it is meant to be. The rooms are very nice and the jacuzzi bath is huge, and had a very nice view overlooking the lake.The views are just stunning and the monkeys keep you
entertained, The food in the buffet was of a very high standard.I think it is a very nice experience
Staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is my second visit to this wonderful hotel. It is a hotel that is built into the rockand fits into the local environment beautifully.

The rooms are well appointed with wonderful rain showers over a spa bath in the deluxe rooms overlooking the forest. Fantastic views.

The restaurant has a very good breakfast buffet, but their dinner buffet is a little expensive, but there are no close alternatives.

The staff are all very friendly and willing to help.

It is a very popular place for weddings, so you might be lucky to see a traditional and very colourful wedding.

There is a small bar but noone seems to use it. While we were there the bar staff always seemed to be missing. The wine list is small but has a few reasonable wines.

The hotel is in an amazing position and the view from the cafe area is beautiful across the infinity pool and lake.

The staff are all in the traditional clothes which is really nice.

The hotel has a small gym.

Thank you for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The rooms are not cheap but it is worth the visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had my proposal there... it was simply Perfect. The location itself is amazing, the service is very lovely and friendly, the rooms are clean and the morning coffee there is worth a Billion morning....

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, one on the lake view and one the jungle view, I loves the jungle view way better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Kandalama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Kandalama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.