We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest hotel i've ever been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Kandalama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Kandalama to your Saves list
Heritance Kandalama
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The finest hotel i've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Kandalama really does stand out head and shoulders above the rest .. and not just by Sri Lankan standards. This is just an idillic hotel.

It is built into the side of a huge rock in mile after mile of open jungle. It is truely peaceful, relaxing and awe inspiring. We stayed here for 5 nights at the start of a 3 week tour and it turned out to be the best hotel we stayed in. We took it on a reccomendation and i'm looking forward to going back to SL just and spend the whole time at Kandalama!

You can jungle trek, bird watch, swim and all sorts of other adventures .. or relax!

The service here is is amazingly attentive but not in your face. I found the service in a couple of other hotels a little much, topping up my drinks the second the empty glass hit the table .. but you were always aware of being watched. We found it a bit much to be waited on so attentively!! I know it is the SL way and they pride themselves on the service (and they are fab at it). But Kandalama managed to distinguish themselves in service without you ever knowing anyone was even nearby. It was always very relaxed.

  • Liked — stunning scenery
  • Disliked — nothing - it's just great - i'm going back!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    446
    157
    44
    25
See reviews for
436
899
57
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on a tour of Sri Lanka for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The rooms were great and the food was good, but the absolute best thing about this hotel was the setting - it is absolutely fantastic, and a beer sitting on the rocks watching the sun go down over the lake is stunning - even the noisy Australian children managed to keep quiet!

I have stayed in a lot of nice hotels and would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed September 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

If you go to Sri Lanka, make sure you visit here, It is a superb hotel and location, If you are visiting some of the cultural sites this is perfect. The food was the best we had in Sri Lanka, (we ate in both al a carte and buffet) our room was upgraded to a deluxe room which was fantastic, the service was great, I have no complaints and we never stayed in a better hotel in the rest of our Sri lankan Journey.

  • Liked — Its uniquiness and wildlife, and quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I stayed 4 nights in the Kandalama Resort with my Italian boyfriend as part of a tour through sri lanka. We just loved Kandalama resort because of its spectacular setting. It almost disappears into the lush green of the surrounding jungle. The architect is a genious! One of the 2 pools (only two out of 3 were open when I was there) is looking over the lake, a breath taking view!

We especially liked the food. I've travelled a lot in Asia but I consider the Kandalama kitchen one of the best ever because they're not afraid of cooking their food and not -as many asian hotels - just european/american/chinese kind of mixed cuisine.

The service was very good and the waiters were very friendly, they even addressed us in Italian (but I'm not so sure I consider that a positive thing).

Being so much emerged in nature, it's rather far away from everything. When night falls you better be in because the road that leads to the hotel is a dirttrack with no streetlights.

The rooms too are wonderful and welcoming, the furniture is a kind of chique sri lankan style with pieces of art at the wall. Especially the bathroom is particular having instead of an outher wall, a window so we were actually showering with the monkeys outside. I don't know who was more ammused!!

We had a wonderful stay and I reccommend this hotel to everyone!

Have a nice trip.

Stiene

  • Liked — The setting and the food
  • Disliked — you can't go to town in the evening because it's too far away
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights at end of Sept 2007. This is a wonderful, tranquil hotel. Fantastic wildlife, monkeys on the balcony etc. Views over Sigiryia rock. Friendly staff. Excellent choice of food. Loved every part of it, can't wait to go back. A little remote if you don't have transport. Would suit all types of travellers except those not liking wildlife.

  • Liked — Fantastic view.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at the Kandalama hotel, an environmentally friendly hotel in the jungles of Sri Lanka. The prices were excellent and the service friendly. If you are looking for luxury, not a good choice, but if you want a change of pace and a little fun, definitely something to consider. We stayed for 3 days, riding elephants, viewing religious ruins and relaxing. It was a great three days of "you Tarzan, me Jane" kind of fun. If you get the chance, you should take it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stayed one night in this hotel. It is very nice. the room and bathroom very clean and comfortable and the furniture is good.
But I had problem there because there are no tag for Makkah direction for Muslim prayers so you just ask him for that.
There are many of monkies so they maybe enter to your room by balcony so keep it close most time.
I the passageways of the hotel many of sow bug and small crawling animals dont worry I dont see it in the room only in passageways at night.
The resturent s good and multi international foods there.
You can book for riding the bike for go around the hotel and book for for riding elephant (you must book early).
You will see mony of animals around the hotel it is very nice.
Happy to stay there good Luck.

Eng. A.Moghamis
Riyadh

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Kandalama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Kandalama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.