We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Dambulla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundaras Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sundaras Resort to your Saves list
Sundaras Resort
189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 7777, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Dambulla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for one night in February 2012. From when we arrived, we were made to feel extremely welcome by Damien, his mum and there team. We were upgraded free of charge to one of the nicest rooms we had stayed in for our entire month in sri lanka. The air con was effective, the room spacious and clean, and hot water in the bathroom. I felt really welcome and Damien went out of his way to make sure we were enjoying our stay and travel tips for our future travel plans in Sri Lanka. The food was delicious and the menu was varied and a reasonable price. We ate all our meals here and were impressed.

The location is brilliant, only a 10 minute walk to the temple and a short tuk tuk ride to the centre of town and sigiriya rock, which is worth the climb. Damien helped organise us a very reasonable van to Kandy on our departure, which was such a luxury for the price we paid and we even stopped at the spice farms along the way.

Overall, a brilliant place to stay, keep up the good work Damien and his team. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer in this lovely little village.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    59
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
25
77
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This nice hotel is a really good place to stay if you want to visit Sigiriya or the Golden Temple of Dambulla. It's just a walking distance to get to the temple. we spend a weekend there and really enjoyed it. the staff made us feel welcome all the time. our room was quite small but really nice, comfortable and clean. in the morning we got a delicious breakfast. all in all: great room, locoation and service!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastrup, Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Have never felt more comfortable and so welcome as I did here! I lived in a a/c doubleroom. It was clean, bed was comfortable, warm bath and an opportunity to make tea and coffee.
The food in the restaurant was super yummy! Very good breakfast, and for dinner you should go for they fried rice with chicken it was just sooo good!! The people were super friendly. The owner Damien were at the busstation when we arrived to Dambulla, and he tooked me and my friend to the hotel. He also helped us a lot around the things for the tourist attractions we wanted to see in Dambulla. Can only recommend it!! It was awesome....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmiera, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in the hotel after the arrival in Sri Lanka. After the exhausting flight we were tirde, but we were warmly welcomed and we were taken in the hotel even before normal cheeck in time. Wide rooms, nicely cleaned, warm water and delicious breakfest. The location of the hotel is great, next to Dambulla temple. The temple was within walking distance. Also near there is the Sihiria rock. Also the Hotel was our first good impression of Sri Lanka. Thanks to owners of the hotel. Jolanta from Latvia.

Room Tip: I was booked in a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel. I can't believe the good reviews on this site!!!! Yes, staff are very friendly, but that does not make up for a bad experience. I stayed there for a few nights in February, there were constant blackouts and there seemed to be difficulties with getting the generator started. It rained a lot during my stay and on two nights there were frogs in my bathroom. Don't get me wrong,I am widely travelled and I am from Africa, so I'm not a stranger to creepy crawlies. There are lots of mosquitos in Dambulla and even though there was a mosquito net over the bed it was was too small. My main gripe was that there was no hot water and I had to go to another room to shower where the water was lukewarm . Noise from the private apartment above the hotel filter down into the bedroom below. Further, when I booked the booking said room comes with personal safe, ironing facilities and tea/coffee making facilities, this was not the case. Also their credit card machine was not working at the time.
All in all too expensive for what you get, I checked out and stayed up the road for a quarter of the price, with the same comfort level.
I was booked in a Deluxe room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundaras R, General Manager at Sundaras Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thnak you for your review.We are deeply sorry that you came acroos the minority of people who didnt have a plesent stay in at our Resort.
We do appriciate your review ,your review helps us to improve our standards, as we are trying to improve everyday to satisfy our customers comfort and satisfaction to a high level.
In regards to your issues,
Credit card machine out of order / difficulties with getting the generator started / Hot water issues due to a black out , thunder storm - Sri lanka is a fast developing country after a 30 yrs of War it is hard to compare our standards to other countries like Europe. We are fully aware of the issue with the generator and it has been replaced, but it is not possible to stop a black out or a thunder storm.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sundaras Resort . Hope to provide you a better service next time.
Sorry and Thank you.
Sundaras Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The staffs were very friendly and ever ready to help you. The resort is located less than five minutes from the Dambulla Caves. The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We would not recommend this hotel. This was the worst (and not the cheapest) room from our trip to Sri Lanka (11 days).

Pros:
- Great location to explore the caves!
- Excellent staff
- Food: had dinner once. Was ok.

Cons:
- Mainly the room: we booked a Deluxe AC room. It was quite bad: not very clean, many blood stains on the sheet (after many mosquitos bites I realized where they came from). Maybe we got the worst AC room... It didn't look like the pictures on the website at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundaras R, General Manager at Sundaras Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you didn't have the best stay ay our resort.
in regards to your review " not very clean, many blood stains on the sheet" this is the first time we were review " Not Clean" cleanliness is our priority. We wouldn't want anyone to misunderstands about the stains you mentioned as blood stains. As we used white bed sheet and every thing white it is very easy to see any type of stains. The stains you called as blood stains is only "rust stains" which came to the bed sheets while we are drying the bed sheets , as we are very Eco friendly hotel , we used the sunshine to dry our bedsheets.
Now we have replaced all bed sheets with little rust makes as our guest might misunderstand about those marks as blood stains.
Once again thank you for staying with us.
and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundaras Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundaras Resort

Address: 189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 7777, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply the best place to stay if you are visiting Sri lanka * Dambulla Rock Temple (5 mins WALK) * Sigiria Lions Rock (15 mins ride) * Anuradapura/Polonnaruwa/Kandy ancient cities * Safaries/ Elephant riding. This is a family own business run by a lady owner with English Australian /Swedish and South Korean back ground partners. We are more likely to understand all travelers needs! Our rooms are very clean and tidy - cleanliness is guaranteed! Our food is delicious, High Speed INTERNET access FREE WiFi! So you can be connected with your loved ones. Taxi Service. We organize airport pick ups (Notice required). Best value for your money!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sundaras Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundaras Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.