We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mindblowing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Temple

The Golden Temple
Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Dambulla
Attraction details
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mindblowing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Rock Cave Temple is a mindblowing attraction and worth to see. The climb on the rock with the view is beautiful!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    431
    104
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Amazing place..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

These caves are extraordinary!!! The climb up the hills is steep and we were with our 3 yr old son. It is a steep climb and you should carry water with you... there is water being sold there, but I would advice you to take your own water.
there are a lot of monkeys on the way up so don't carry any snacks in hand.

After reaching the top, what we saw was just a hill and a building built inside it... but the moment we entered the caves... the beauty of the carving and the painting and the whole view of cave was mesmerising!!!!... really a treasure!!

Better to start early in morning before the heat sets in!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Amazing, historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've visited several times and never fail to be in awe of the art work that covers the roof of each cave. With each visit I notice something I hadn't noticed previously. The atmosphere is one of calm reverence with local Buddhists and visitors all caught up, each in their own way, in the essence of the place.

We took on a guide from the Cave's entrance and were disappointed that he was prepared only to give us facts and figures relating to Buddhism and appeared rattled when we asked questions relating to the historical use of the caves by kings. He did briefly answer questions but made it clear that he was not going to volunteer any additional information. One cave was not open, apparently for necessary protection reasons, which was a disappointment for me.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lot of buddas:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great location. Number of statues of the Buddha is really huge - over 150. I like the statues of laying buddha.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An interesting place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The paintings on the wall of the caves are very interesting
There is a nice view from the hill .The best time to visit is early in the morning

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Temple also viewed

Dambulla, Central Province
 
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
Sigiriya, Central Province
 

Been to The Golden Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.