We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doublebooked our rooms then tried to shift us to the dungeon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nice Place Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nice Place Bungalows to your Saves list
Nice Place Bungalows
Inamaluwa Junction, Bellanneoya, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Dambulla B&B and Inns
colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doublebooked our rooms then tried to shift us to the dungeon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Everything looked alright on arrival. Although it is a little out of the way and rather difficult to find, we had our own car and managed to reach in the late afternoon. We were a small group and had booked two rooms (a single and a double) for two nights.

After having spent an enjoyable first night at Nice Place, we were informed by staff that our rooms were doublebooked, at which point they asked us to move to a couple of small, dark and sweaty rooms on the edge of the property. No thanks, we promptly packed our bags and found a better place down the road. On checking out, the inept desk staff at Nice Place attempted to overcharge us by nearly 30%.

Overall, I think it is best to pass on this place and stay somewhere closer to the monuments. You would think that, given the difficulty in finding the hotel, Nice Place would make more of an effort to keep the customers who actually arrive there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    58
    21
    12
    0
See reviews for
35
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

there is very nice nature and historical places, you must see it and very delicious food

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I traveled with my fiance to Dambulla and stayed at Nice Place for two weeks. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and natural surroundings of this outer district in Dambulla. Our room was spacious with large bed, air conditioning, hot water and balcony. The courtyard is well tended and restaurant is decorated an and Old West motif which reminds me of campgrounds where I stayed as a kid. The radio station even played old American songs which I heard many years ago. Natasha compared the compound to dacha villas which are located on the outskirts of Moscow. We enjoyed many good meals in this restaurant as well as the raised dining area at the back of the grounds which overlooks the creek.
The owner of Nice Place was an attentive and hospital host. He organized excursions in the surrounding area, a picnic with his friends at the nearby lake, and dinners which were attended by his driver, Lall. Natasha and I took long walks through the surrounding countryside and swam at the lake which is about two kilometers from Nice Place. We were always accompanied by the owner's dogs who enjoyed the outing as much as we did. We were also entertained by the pet mongoose, Kiri, who lives on the grounds and plays with the dogs.
Natasha and I have fond memories of the time which we spent at Nice Place. I recommend this establishment to anyone who will visit the area around Dambulla.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in this guesthouse, it is a great base for travelers to visit both Dambulla and Sigiriya, because the guesthouse is situation in between them. The location is in a lovely rural area and the guesthouse has a large and nice garden. I stayed in the cheapest room, which was quite ok for me, but nothing particularly good or bad. The better rooms have hot water and AC. The owner and the employees are very friendly and helpful. The rice and curry is one of the best I had during my 3 months in Sri Lanka. And generally the service is really good.
I can really recommend this nice place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Clean room with hot watter. Near to Sigirya rock and Dambulla caves.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malé
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Nice Place was recommended by our driver - and it was indeed a Nice Place after the previous two places. The room was airy and clean, the bathroom pleasant to use. The meals were good but service was slow but friendly. (Our two very small children were climbing up the walls by the time our meals were served on two occasions and we'd ordered earlier the second time to avoid this). The host was extremely pleasant and they did a load of washing for us for very little after a rather messy Jeep Safari excursion. The beds were clean but the slats were really uncomfortable in the small bed (even after moving them around a bit in the middle of the night). The surroundings were calm and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights under the recommendations of Upul from Sri Lanka Tailored Tours whilst we were touring the cultural triangle - mainly Sigriya and Dambulla Caves for here.
It really is a lovely little place, very quiet and only a few guests can stay at a time.
It has a very peaceful ambience and an abundance of local wildlife living in the trees.
The rooms were sparse, but incredibly clean and modern and the food was amazing. I can not recommend their Sri Lankan curry enough - it was one of the tastiest we tried in Sri Lanka. We were also introduced to another local delicacy, Arrack, by our tour guide whilst here and I definitely think that it worth a try as well (it's the main Sri Lankan spirit and very very nice).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nice Place Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Place Bungalows

Address: Inamaluwa Junction, Bellanneoya, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice Place Hotel & restaurant has been created in a unique design with a vision to blend the accommodations in a natural surroundings of trees,bushes,birds and innocent wild animals.You can select a room with a private balcony overlooking world famous Sigiriya rock and a forest setting or select a seperate private cottage to get complete privacy. You can just relax and enjoy the natural beauty in your own garden setting or go on one of the many excursions on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Nice Place Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Place Bungalows Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nice Place Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.