We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location - BUT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MPS Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added MPS Village to your Saves list
MPS Village
Kalundewa Road | Dambullu Oya Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Dublin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Location - BUT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We went h/b due to it's location, had to change first room due to dirty toilet, second room's bathroom only a little better, rooms are basic, but it is Sri Lanka, also needed a realy good clean, and a lick of paint. evening menu choice the same every night, so ended up eating fish 3 nights running!!! Room was not made up on any of the days, we had to ask for more toilet paper and a change of towels and for the room to be made up on our third evening after we returned from our day out. The management needs to be tightened up as service & cheanliness & food is very hit and miss, this little place could be 5 star, with updated bathrooms & a nice paint job,PLUS staff & managenent training in cleaning & service or perhaps employ a local lady to show the young guys how to clean, as it's location & garden & pool are lovely.

Room Tip: MPS is about 2 ks off the main road,lovely walk,or tuc tuc available at bus stop on which you can ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulislk, Owner at MPS Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review and we truly regret for failing your expectations. As you have already noticed we are undergoing a major renovation plus coming up with a whole new deluxe wing and (the only reason) we had to squeeze you in to the only couple of letting rooms we kept available due to the renovation. We have already realized all the problem areas you have pointed out and that’s exactly the reason to upgrade from scratch. When you visit us next time you will experience a true change. Regarding the set menu we have three options to choose from and we are ready to provide you with any option you choose. A separate Al-a-carte menu is there for exceptions. We are really sorry for the unpleasant experience and please allow us to make it up to u by visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Cant rate it as good as the rating does not exist! It was better than average but not very good. The room was a bit basic and small but clean and had a great anti-mosquito net over the bed which was a necessity - being by the lake attracted this kind of wildlife!

We had to order the evening meal well in advance but when it came it was actually quite tasty (unusual in our experience of Sri Lanka). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Location is a bit remote so only go there with people you get on with!

Overall it was a pleasant 2 days stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Die des Vosges, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The MPS village is located in an isolated area near Dambulla.
The location is wonderful, on a lake, view on the mountain, surrounded by birds.
Rooms in a bungalow, with a very pleasant balcony, overlooking the very nice garden and the lake.
Very nice staff and manager.
Good food.
What can be improved : the bathrooms. We had two rooms for 5 persons. One toilet flush did not work and the bathrooms would need a better in depth cleaning. Unpleasant smell. It seems that it is quite nothing to improve. The MPS village will be then the best place to stay in the area!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and we were disappointed. Location is very good, overlooking the river, with an infinity pool and nice balconies BUT there are few issues that need to be improved (based on the price we paid and comparing it with previous experiences in Sri Lanka). Firstly it does not have internet connection. Secondly it does not serve beer (owner said that you can bring your own beer, where to buy it? I don't know). Thirdly toilet was not clean, full of hairs on the shower floor. Rooms are basic and the highlight is the balcony. Lastly, service is very funny. The only person who can speak English is the owner, who was not there in our first night, so there were a group of young waiters in charge of the hotel who really need to be trained. They cannot speak or understand basic English and they do weird things like look at you while you are having your dinner or taking your plate away before you have finish. They are probably trying their best but, seriously, for the price they charge they should be better trained.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulislk, Owner at MPS Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank You for your review. We regret for failing your expectations. We are happy to inform you we have got a new manager who can speak English very well to make sure all our customers will not face any communication problems. Also we like to clarify that we have not mentioned anywhere we have internet facility, but happy to inform you that we will be getting wi-fi very soon and also have a wire less connection available at our front office if you want to use the internet. Secondly I wish to inform that we do not have license to sell liquor. This is also mentioned on the reservation page and we like to inform you we do not have any restriction for guest to bring the liquor and consume at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Beautiful location and excellent service! I regret that I only spent one night there! The hotel is on large property in the mountains, with a lake and pool - fantastic to relax!
Rooms are basic but very clean. Food was great! Definitely THE PLACE to stay when visiting Dambulla!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Facing a man-made lake, amidst lots of greenery is this little gem of a property.

The manager and staff are friend yet professional. They looked after all our needs.

The rooms were basic but clean and with large verandahs facing the lake.

The restaurant on the first floor has seating on the terrace facing the lake and makes for a pleasant dining experience.

The food was tasty and good quality. There is a decent sized swimming pool but we felt it could be more clean. The hotel is currently adding more rooms but when we stayed it was not at all disturbing as the work was further away.

The property is a little far away from Sigiriya and the other sites but worth the extra travel for those looking at a budget hotel with great service, decent rooms and a picturesque setting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

On a leisurely 3-week holiday in Sri Lanka we had five very good days at MPS Village. Yes, it's some way out of town, but when you've walked around the hectic roads of Dambulla a bit you won't mind the tuk-tuk ride out. The setting is lovely, very restful. My kids especially liked the pool, which is right next to a pretty lake humming with wildlife (kingfishers, water monitors etc). Much, much recommended - and very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MPS Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MPS Village

Address: Kalundewa Road | Dambullu Oya Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the famous Dumbara Valley surrounded by misty mountains with forest cover, fruits and vegetable plantations, the MPS Village Kalundewa is only 10 kilometers from Dambulla off the Kandy Road. This Eco Friendly complex consists of Super Deluxe and Deluxe rooms with A/C facilities,Hot & Cold running water, large restaurant and entertainment area.Visitors to Kalundewa are greeted by high misty mountains with lush green forest cover and the unspoilt environment displays vibrant colour full of fresh soothing air to aid recovery. A batsmen friendly cricket pitch is also available with a large well turfed open area for soft ball cricketers. This is an adventurous type of complex with its vast spread area and the lake front, inviting visitors to relax and unwind. One could explore the surrounding environment either walking, trekking, hiking or mountain biking the forest trails. In addition to many other recreational activities, rowing on the lake offers an exciting experience. MPS Village is the perfect family get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of the city. Also it is an ideal location for small seminars and training programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your MPS Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mps Village Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MPS Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.