We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Tourist Rest

Save Saved
You added Milano Tourist Rest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milano Tourist Rest
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   596 /40 , Stage 01, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 55 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful first place to stay in sri lanka. Arranged a very reasonsbly priced taxi driver through the hotel for airport pickup. Rooms were very nice with working wifi and a/c. Food was excellent, although a little overpriced. Great service and very helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    98
    44
    22
    9
See reviews for
19
108
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just excellent, especially considering the price. Great staff, great rooms, good food (in a nice garden!). We stayed here for one night and rented bikes in the morning. This was one of our best stays in Sri Lanka! The shower might have been a bit more powerful (as in many places in Sri Lanka), and we had only very weak wifi reception in the room (one router was down, but just outside our room we could pick up the other two).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having seen a number of rooms during our two week trip through Sri Lanka, this was definitly one of the better places, though the interior of our room and especially the bathroom was quite worn. But the bed was comfortable, the room quiet. The restaurant had good food and it was nice to sit in the garden.
They arranged a driver who stayed with us for two weeks and who was excellent. (His name was Emil, his English is basic but enough to discuss what is needed and his knowledge about places to visit helped us a lot. He took very good care of me and my friend - two females - and we felt very save with him. We paid 45Euros per day for the car and driver, all inclusive, no hidden extras. Very much recommended!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

First, don't try to walk to the hotel from any bus station as it is quiet far. It is better to take a tuc tuc for 50rs. Rooms are clean with ac. Wifi worked most of the time and it is very nice to relax in the garden with a drink. The food and beverages are probably good ( we only had a dessert) but are overprices. You can have dinner for 350rs at the corner of the street, just 2 min walking... In the main street, you can go to family bakers to have breakfast or lunch. they also have a supermarket! the family garden near the new bus station is the best with delicious foods ( it is not on the map in the lonely planet). We hired a bike to explore the city and the bike are in very good conditionbut riding a bike can sometimes be very dangerous! When you're leaving, ask for some advice to go to your next destination. they found a driver with car who was going the same direction as us and thus we payed him as much as we would have payed for a busride but it was much more comfortable!! Overall, great, clean place with a very good service but the food is overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely staff. Arranged a very good deal for airport pickup with a wonderful driver. Excellent outdoor area and we enjoyed many cold drinks in the beer garden. Delicious curries at decent prices! I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

An all rounder great place to stay.
Excellent value for money, excellent customer service.
Room was very clean and comfortable with air conditioning, fan and private bathroom.
Free wifi, which is great.
They also helped us to book our onward accommodation for the next part of our trip, which was very generous.
Tuk Tuk service ran from the hotel with was convenient.
We hired bikes for the day through the hotel too, for 400 rupees per day.
Location is good too - quite close to the main street (10 minute walk) and a decent but enjoyable bike ride to the ruins.
We would definitely stay here again.
We ate here once at the restaurant, and the food was very enjoyable and the service very good, although very expensive compared to places we ate at nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

we booked a room in the hotel due to its reccommandations on lonely planet.

though the place is good looking, and the directions are pretty good once you get inside the city, the room we got was not good at all.

the hotel contains two buildings - the main one, where the restaurant is, and another one on the other side of the street. we stayed in the main building on the ground floor, first room to the left.
the room was bad - the toilet door did not close and either it's window. the room was kind of old and unrenovated.

it was good enough for us, and i believe all other rooms are good. but if get this room demand to replace it.

the garden, though, is beautiful and the living room is very nice.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before taking it. dont take the first room on the left on the main building, gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milano Tourist Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Tourist Rest

Address: 596 /40 , Stage 01, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milano Tourist Rest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1993, Milano Tourist Rest hotel is an oasis of calm in the heart of the historical city of Anuradhapura and is the perfect base to explore the region.It has spacious, comfortable rooms with all the latest facilities including air conditioning satellite television and wifi facility.The Hotel has two restaurants and well stocked bar, where guests can enjoy a drink and relax after a busy day exploring the historical area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Milano Tourist Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Tourist Rest Hotel Anuradhapura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Tourist Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.