We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa to your Saves list
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Town, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nuwarawewa Rest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel had improved a lot than from its earlier state. They have completely refurbished the hotel. The hotel is set in the bank of Nuwarawewa lake and therefore the settings are tranquillizing. Yet the hotel is situated closer to the main ruins in Anuradhapura. The rooms are quite good. Breakfast was good and had a good variety. Only con was the service The service was bit slow. The staff was friendly but it took ages to prepare juice we ordered. I can recommend this hotel to a traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    16
    13
    11
See reviews for
16
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Recently we stayed there for one night. The lighting in the bathroom is very poor.There is no door at shower cubical and it makes a big mess in the bath room. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is averagely okay for short stay only.

Room Tip: Rooms near the reception seems good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and we appreciated the pool. The food was good at lunch and dinner time . we'd be happy to come back again. I like the old colonial feel but with upgraded facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habarana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Lakeside at Nuwara Weva is an affordable hotel. There's nothing particularly wrong with it but it is definitely a budget grade institute. Rooms are sparsely furnished with cheap materials but the overall ambience is pleasant enough. Same with the bathrooms: a shoddy paint job but that's nothing that can really be fixed by the staff. There's nothing in the mini fridge, not even sure it was turned on. I didn't use the pool but it looked clean and the deck chairs had cushions on them (maybe a later addition after a previous post). Room service was lovely, we left our room for a couple of hours in the evening and when we returned our beds had been made with flowers as an added touch - the staff definitely care.

There are probably three big concerns you should be mindful of when booking. Firstly; the pictures on the website are the result of some clever photography. They're not overly deceptive but the hotel definitely isn't as nice as the pictures make it seem - although this is standard with most hotels.

Secondly: the Wi fi is terrible. It's only active in the lobby, but it barely works and isn't available when the reception staff shut down for the night. If you will need or would definitely like Wi fi I would strongly suggest forking over for roaming/3G/data stick.

Lastly the food. The food. The food is beyond terrible. We paid for half board and so had dinner and breakfast. There weren't many guests at the hotel so the buffet was not available and we were presented with a set menu. The menu had absolutely no vegetarian options, much less gluten or dairy free.

The appetiser was a chicken terrine with balsamic vinegar, carrot purée and raspberry coulis. It looked marvellous but tasted absolutely disgusting. Worse than the little boxes presented on planes as "starters." I detest rudeness at the table but spat my bite out. The terrine was watery and rubbery and the flavours tasted like the smell of rubbish.

Next up was the coriander chicken soup entree. Several chicken stock soup cubes had been used in addition to a copious amount of salt. It was the only flavour in the bowl.

Main was a choice between chicken and fish. I chose the fish. Two thin pieces had been deep fried to the point that the fish was blackened. Also on the plate a roasted potato, mango chutney and vegetables. The vegetables were slightly boiled and cut haphazardly and not table worthy (the carrot was green in parts), not at all what you'd expect in a restaurant dinner.

Lastly the desert. All tables were given a "fruit platter." I had been looking forward to it the entire meal as I reckoned it would have been difficult to mess up. But the fruit was rotten and the selection was poor. We didn't eat it.

Bottom line: it's a pleasant hotel with a lot of potential (that it has not reached) and a terrible terrible terrible restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Dirckze GM Q, General Manager at The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We refer to your comments made following your stay at The Lakeside at Nuwarawewa. We are sorry that you had not enjoyed your stay with us for the reasons given and hasten to tender our apology. We strive at all times to make our guests happy and are disappointed we failed with you. Unfortunately without any reference to your date of visit or complaints to the hotel, it is difficult to check what went wrong that day. Whilst receiving compliments is nice, it is only through critical comments such as yours that we can make improvements to the quality of service. Nonetheless your comments do come as a surprise to us since we do pay special attention to our food. Our ingredients are monitored for quality and freshness. Our kitchen staff are talented and experienced and make it a point to check all dishes that are sent to the restaurant. Furthermore, guest comments on our food have always given us comfort that there have not been any serious lapses in this department. However, we wish to state that we have taken your comments constructively and look into the areas of concern for possible shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a relaxing time at this beautiful place. From the room it has partial view of the lake. We stayed here only for one night though intended to stay for two nights. The only downside of it is the kitchen department. Very inflexible and stiff waiters. Service in the restaurant area is dissappointing . Bread is not served with a main dish. We were asked to pay for our bread seperately . The prices were ridiculously high. Higher than a five star hotel . So we decided to check in at another hotel. Its a hotel with a lot of potential.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Dirckze GM Q, General Manager at The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Manoji.

We have taken serious note of your comment in a positive manner, we assure you that we are looking into your valuable comment and do the needful.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the price paid does not reflect what i got at all: the room has basic and cheap furnitures; average staff performance basic; food not more than ok; wifi in lobby hardly working; NOT at lakeside, only partial lakeview The worst price / performance ratios of all the hotels I stayed in Sri Lanka in 1 month.
Additionally: The General Manager offered me to give me a discount from the agoda rate due to features indicated in the internet which were not available. I never got the money back !!!
Will not go there anymore ! They only try to make easy money !!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in Anuradhapura or stay in Habanara
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Dirckze GM Q, General Manager at The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Markus
As mentioned by me, the facilities on Agoda Web site had being carrying incorrect information on the facilities available in the rooms 1. Lang 2. Wi fi 3. Fans & Mosquito nets in rooms, this was a mistake by one of our team members, which we rectified immediately, with regard to the discount offered, arrangements had being for the money to be paid back through Agoda.

Best Regards
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for couple of nights, the hotel might have been a great place a long time ago. But when we stayed here, it was a really dated hotel. The staff here is very friendly and try to do everything for the guests. But the hotel did need some updating. The rooms looked like it hasnt been updated at all for the past few decades. Overall, its a good less expensive hotel. Although, this hotel might have been renovated now.

This was back in December 2012.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa

Address: New Town, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nuwarawewa Rest House)
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuwarawewa Rest House Hotel Anuradhapura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.