We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avasta Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avasta Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Avasta Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   No. 92, Niwaththaka Chetiya Road, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Rajithangani
Colombo

I went to this place on the 5th of May 2014 with my Aunt. Actually I love the environment of this hotel. Also the staff is very friendly, Surani, Lalindra, Dananjaya and Ajith treated us very well. It is very easy to reach all the religious places from here.
Though I don't like to mention insignificant things as this is a new place, but it will be an advantage to the hotel my telling this. Please make an arrangements to have a hair drier, safety locker adaptor etc., in the room for our convenience.
The other thing, I prefer them to have a good open restaurant for us to have a coffee and a snack.
Thanks

Room Tip: I prefer chalets are superb because the beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinthaka W, Owner at Avasta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Mm Rajithangani

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Whilst it is a pleasure to hear that my team were helpful and I wish to assure you that your comments are very valuable to us as we are committed to continually improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcome to Avasta in future occasion to serve you with more improved service.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modica, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have stayed one nigh in Anuradhapura, in Avasta resort. Surprisingly for 110 dollars we got luxurious challet, clean, beautifully decorated, AC, lovely bathroom. outside quite noisy with frogs making noise all night, but you could hardly hear that through the walls. small pool outside, rice fields in the middle attracting quite a lot of mosquitos, but not more then anywhere else on Sri Lanka. good food, helpful staff, spa closed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinthaka W, Owner at Avasta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
accept my sincere thanks for taking time to write your experience on trip advisor and again thank you for your positive comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the chalets were up to your expectation. I sincerely apologize for being unable to let you feel our spa centre as we were recovering the damage caused to the spa centre by heavy rain and wind that occurred a few days back.we will be re opening the spa in a few days.
We look forward to welcome you in many future occasions to your visit to the area and we wish you all the very success in life.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent 5 nights in this jewel of a hotel. Located close to everything in anuradhapura sacred city.what a nice place.we could visit most places.this was my first trip to anuradhapura.but i feel so happy because i could see the great city.The hotel was really fantastic, all the staff was courteous and VERY helpful. The rooms were clean and also felt my possessions were safe. . It is in a great location,felt like living in a village,i was doing jogging in the morning through the garden with sounds of birds, green grass & in paddy feild. so beautiful place to relax after the long travel to anuradhapura and polonnaruwa The restaurant is one of the BEST restaurants I have ever been to, . The soup is fantastic, and I would HIGHLY recommend the Italian foods... . Brilliantly done, beautifully arranged. The pastas are great for kids, the portions are fantastic and the foods are awesome. Endless options, I only wished I could try them all.they really similar to the original Italian foods.the nice beautiful pool was so private for our little family.
Great food - great atmosphere - great drinks - great service. A perfect days in anuradhapura. I highly recommend.thanks for making us so comfort .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinthaka W, Owner at Avasta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
we first thank you for taking time to write your experience on trip adviser and i was delighted to read that you had a brilliant stay at the hotel and we shared your experience with my team and they were more than happy that met your expectations.

We would look forward to welcome you to Avasta Resort & spa and to serve you again.Thanks once again and we wish you all the very best.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night and its a great location and wonderful rooms. The chalets were fantastic and a great view of paddy field. The interior wood flooring and raw brick walls are superb. The toiletries are sufficient and very clean and white linen they have provided got our mind. The bath room was beautiful and cleaned and well equipped with bath robs and bath slippers. We spent the hole evening sitting outside the villa and the breeze was fantastic. We tried the room service because we were a bit lazy to the restaurant. Menu has a wide range of items on Asian and Italian and western as well. The service was quite fast and the restaurant staff were polite and professional. The Italian dishes we ordered was delicious and would be the best in the region. The reception staff were polite too and was much helpful in planning our day tour. Overall it was a fabulous stay there. OH I forgot to write. They offered us a free breakfast and it was fantastic. I recommend this hotel for any visitor who admires a great service in the ancient glory.

Room Tip: chalet towards the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinthaka W, Owner at Avasta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on trip advisor and thank you again for your comments on Avasta Resort & Spa. It was a great pleasure for me to go through your comment and I was fascinated by it. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I will definitely share your experience with my team.
We look forward to welcome you to Avasta Resort & spa on many future occasions and render you our even more improved service.
We wish you all the best,
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here one night in a chaletand the standard and the interior design was fantastic and the amemitoes were cute.wefound that the staff were friendly and helpful in every needs.they have a nice smming pool to keep you dipped and the srvice was fabulious.we all our friends enjoyed the pool a lot.i must say thàt the restaurant service ànd the fòod was fantastic.thanks all for making our stay so unique.keep up the high stanard of your service..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinthaka W, Owner at Avasta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on trip advisor and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was unique and enjoyable one.We thank you again for your positive comments on us and we look forward to serve you in future occasions with more and more improved service.
We wish you all the best.!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We booked 3 deluxe rooms and there were no windows in the rooms. We had to pay for a separate room for the driver at a nearby hotel as they don't have accommodation for drivers.

When it rained, the water got into all three rooms under the door. We had a large towel soaking trying to keep the kids from slipping. When we showered in the bathroom, the water spilled all over the bathroom floor which seemed like a leak. The bathroom door could not be closed completely.

The wireless internet connection hardly worked. We lost power numerous times causing zero water pressure in the bathroom besides having no power. It took them forever to get the power back (not sure if they had a working generator).

The restaurant took two hours to get our dinner ready for 10 people. The next day, it took them one hour to get tea to our room but forgot to send milk. We looked at the cabanas too and for us, it seemed like an accident waiting to happen, considering the very narrow stairs.

Considering all the above issues, we tried to checkout and the front desk told us that since we pre-paid with a credit card, they could not refund the money but they would have if we have paid with cash. I would have preferred an intelligent response such as "no refund policy".

I will never stay at this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinthaka W, Owner at Avasta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your experience on trip advisor and I thank you for bringing this to my notice and I hereby sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.We understand that your comments make us room for improving ourself.

We hope that we can serve you in future occasions with an improvement in the areas you have pointed to be improved.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed there two days after a round tour of Kandy,Dambulla, sigiriya and polonnaruwa.The rooms were up to the standards and comfortable.Inside room facilities were adequate and beautiful and the bath room was cleaned well.They had massive king bed and was comfortable to sleep.The swimming pool was cute and clean and staff were attentive with our needs.The surroundings were green and beautiful paddy field with little paddy.The restaurant was good but we preferred to dine outside in the garden under a summer hut. Was raining there and so the garden was beautifully green and eye catching.Overall a nice hotel with cheerful staff.Wonderful stay than the other hotels we stayed.

Room Tip: Any chalet.the chalet next to the pool for pool lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinthaka W, Owner at Avasta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with Avasta Resort and spa on trip advisor and we are really glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and my team will be more than happy to hear that they have ensured guest satisfaction which is our utmost vision.Indeed we do work really hard to achieve it.Thanks once again and we look forward to welcome you in your future visit to Sri Lanka.

We wish all the very best for you.!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avasta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avasta Resort and Spa

Address: No. 92, Niwaththaka Chetiya Road, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avasta Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Anuradhapura Avasta is ideal place which offers quality accommodation and great service. Situated only 1.00 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the bird watching at nuwarawewa lake, sightseeing options and local attractions,walkable distance to Eight main temple and historical sights. At Avasta resort & Spa the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. Laundry service smoking area, room service, Wi-Fi available only villas not available in sanded. Wide range of amenities such as bathrobes available only villas, daily newspaper, ironing facilities, coffee/tea maker The hotel's pool (kids), garden, outdoor pool are ideal places to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Avasta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avasta Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.