We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, looks promising ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rajarata Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rajarata Hotel to your Saves list
Rajarata Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rowing Club Road, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“New hotel, looks promising ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed one night and for cocktail hosted by a business partner.
Clean comfy but little rooms.bathroom obviously good and clean being a newly construct hotel. Tastefully designed building.
Cocktail and food good. Definitely a good choice to stay if your requirement is to spend the night after exploring ancient glory of Anuradhapura

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed there for three days.We were received very well.Good service from the staff.
Excellent food and drinks I must say.
Good rooms with a relaxing view.
Very few tv channels though...and unfinished wiring in the bathroom was a bit confusing. Good pool facility but sadly not available after 7pm.
Had a nice relaxing time..
Overall 7.5/10

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had previously stayed in the hotel opposite when visiting Aunradahapura, which had wonderful gardens but very basic accommodation, so it was a surprise to find such a new modern hotel nearby. This hotel is clearly not finished and has several rooms that are not ready for occupation; I suspect that I was the first guest to stay in my room as there were no hangers in the cupboards and no decorative furnishings beyond the basic. As a result of the lack of furnishings, especially soft furnishings, noise travelled very easily and loudly from the Reception area at all times of day and night. However, there was a reflective peacefulness about the pool and garden area that was refreshing and staff could not be friendlier. The restaurant was also very good and the food was good, although I noticed that on my third and last day the menu was identical to the first so, maybe, the chef has a restricted repertoire, although those 2 set-menus were very good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Three of us stayed one night here and I'd thoroughly recommend it. It's in a very quiet location, the rooms are excellent with rain shower heads, comfy beds, very clean and well appointed. There is a huge pool. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent if a little under cooked, dessert was fabulous. The staff are very helpful. It seems like they are still working on the hotel but dint let that put you off, the facilities are are there and great!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajarata H, Marketing Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services. It is very encouraging for me and my team to receive positive feedback like yours.
Many thanks for your nice review & we will definitely improve on areas you have mentioned. Rest assured that your information will be very useful for future guests. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Anuradhapura again in the future.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very happy with our stay. The hotel is new with good large pool and friendly staff. Rooms have full range of facilities. Restaurant staff were really good to us. The hotel is a little noisy with piped music sometimes playing, and the bar area is a little austere, but these are minor issues. Location wise it is a short stroll to town and is close to a large lake. Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajarata H, Marketing Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience at our hotel over the holiday. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered & sorry for the inconvenience caused by pipe music. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, which in turn will immensely assist us to improve the guest experience in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again next year with much more to offer from our side & to make your stay more comfortable.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed just one night, I was told that the hotel had reopened after several years and the rooms have been redone with good taste. Still needs a lot of work. I am not going to give any negative comments, hoping that the place will be completed with good taste in time. We got a great rate for our stay BUT the price of drinks was too much. The food was good but if I had paid a normal rate without a discount, I would have said 'average'. (Surprising’ as I was told that the Chef was from a star plus hotel). Staff was very friendly and helpful, but no one from the management (except for the HK) spoke to us. Since its situated quite near the lake a 6.a.m. walk is recommended, and great for bird watching.
Will recommend the place for any one

Room Tip: Pool side rooms, on the first floor would be nice as the other rooms face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajarata H, Marketing Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Anuradhapura & taking your time to review us.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Rajarata in the near future.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

It is one of the best hotels I have visited. Peaceful environment for a family to rest & enjoy. The pool is not that attractive as it does have lights during night. The food was delicious & very exclusive. Although its new the potential for growth is very high. Enjoyed every moment of our stay & would recommend it to our friends & family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajarata H, Marketing Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

“ Thank You” very much for taking your time to make a review.

We were delighted to read your review and very pleased to note that your experience with us was great. We thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you and would love to welcome you back to Rajarata in the near future.

Sachini Ranasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rajarata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajarata Hotel

Address: Rowing Club Road, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rajarata Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Sri Lanka's cultural triangle and within close proximity to the fabled Nuwara Wewa Lake, Rajarata Hotel boasts of history and elegance. In addition to offering modern comforts, the hotel has a rich history that dates back to the 1970s. It's prime location in the midst of the ancient kingdom of Anuradhapura and surrounded by famous irrigation tanks and religious sites, makes it an ideal getaway all year-round. Our staff are specially trained to ensure all your requirements are met during your stay. We also care about our environment and have adopted eco-friendly policies that promote the use of resources in a sustainable and efficient manner. Moreover, we believe in giving back to the communities we operate in by sourcing produce from local farmers, and providing training and employment to those living in and around the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rajarata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajarata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.