We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Tourist Rest Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Milano Tourist Rest Restaurant
596 /40 , Stage 01, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
94 25 2222364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Anuradhapura
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, International
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went here on our first night of a two night stay in town and enjoyed so much we went back again the next evening. The waiter remembered us and was very warm and welcoming. The food was very good, huge portions of curry and really good soups to start. On both evenings we were given something complementary, desert one evening and soup the next. We sat outside and they gave us coils to keep the mozzies at bay. Very good service

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mystery meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We love rice and curry, but after 3 weeks of it, the idea of a steak was very appealing. This might have clouded our judgement, but we were not prepared for a sorry piece of as-yet-unidentified meat drowning in a BBQ sauce that wasn't on the menu. We persevered and kindly asked for a new steak "sans sauce", only to receive what we are pretty sure was the same piece of meat that had been somehow scrubbed and reapplied to the fire. Not to be deterred, we gave it a try and decided it best to feed it to the cats. A long way from the medium rare fillet steak we had imagined!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place, great service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The garden area is beautiful and we really enjoyed the pet cat and impressive variety of (wild) birds. Our server was very attentive and went to great lengths to understand our somewhat complex order. I am one of those annoying people who never order off the menu and he was very patient with me. In the end, though, the food was just okay. Aside from the banana milkshake, there's nothing that I would particularly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great outdoor atmosphere & Nasi Goreng”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at Milano but decided to try it out after walking out of a bleak restaurant on the main strip. If you are able to sit outside, the atmosphere is great (and the waiters do their best to keep the mozzies at bay). The restaurant options are very limited in Anuradhapura so this is a good bet. Not much Sri Lankan fare but the food is decent and the service we experienced was great. Also one of the very few places you can have dinner and a beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grodzisk Mazowiecki, Poland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“First decent food in Anuradhapura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After a few dissapointments in the city we finally made it here, where friendly staff showed us a table in the garden. Local lager in the heat of the afternoon made the wait for a meals even shorter. I had a great devilled beef, that I asked for (really spicy, not a toursit-style - like I asked). My wife had a decent sea food soup. For a desert I ordered a curd, which tasted really good and caused no problems afterwards. The beef felt a little hot later ;)
Definetely recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milano Tourist Rest Restaurant also viewed

Anuradhapura, North Central Province
Anuradhapura, North Central Province
 
Anuradhapura, North Central Province
Anuradhapura, North Central Province
 

Been to Milano Tourist Rest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Tourist Rest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.