We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, close to Anuradhapura sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alakamanda

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alakamanda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alakamanda
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No 11/1 Nagasena Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, close to Anuradhapura sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is one of a few modern, comfortable and new hotels that have come up in Anuradhapura.

Hotel is in a convenient location about 2 km from the city centre and not very far from the majestic historical sights of Anuradhapura.

Staff are friendly and welcoming. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable, each with a private verandah/seating area.

They have a choice of Sri Lankan and Western cuisine. Overall a comfortable choice for a stay in Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
60
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopsteignton
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A virtually brand new hotel in a quiet residential area. It took us a while to find it but was well worth it! Our room was in middle of the first row on the left as you enter the grounds. This was not one of the cheaper rooms but we thought it reepresented very good value.. It was spacious, clean and bright with a good shower and bathroom facilities, with an inset "rock garden"!

We enjoyed a local curry for dinner and the breakfast was good too, Staff were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was very clean and, although slightly chilly as the weather had been dull for a couple of days, the swimming was good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

the hotel is five minutes by tuk tuk from the centre of the city. Rooms are simple but comfortable no hairdryer. breakfast and meals are good. The staff is very kind.The Ancient City is really wonderful

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not at all disappointed. Completely met our expectations - a clean, quiet, average hotel. Rooms well kept and comfortable, and friendly staff, although not well trained in hotel customer service. We were happy with our stay. We asked for local food and our requests were met - we had a lovely curry and rice one night and hoppers for breakfast. Would recommend the hotel put local good on their menu as other guests asked us how we managed to have these meals provided. Down side? While room service was available, the only time we requested it was one morning when we wanted tea, and were told we had to wait until breakfast was served (and not with a smile!) However, a small detail and we would certainly recommend this hotel, one shouldn't expect too much in this price range.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room - a good choice, very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Our room smelt really damp. We were in the cheaper rooms - the first room on the left. The damp smell and damp feeling really put me off the place to the extent that we left after a day having paid in advance for two.

The room was decorated to a high standard and was better furnished than many other hotels in sri lanka at this price range.

The food seemed pretty good and the service good also - if a little over attentive.

If you choose this hotel check the room out first.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Location and Access – Situated in a suburban tranquil location. A vehicle is recommended to stay here and there is free parking. On the outskirts of the city the main sights are 10 to 15 minutes drive. No local shops, bars or restaurants. Note there are some stairs/steps to negotiate in the grounds and to access the public areas and accommodation

Google Earth - the hotel cannot be seen on street view

Architectural Style – Low modern with a main block containing reception, restaurant and lounge areas. 2 separate accommodation blocks one single and one two storey. The two storey block containing the newest, designer chic, luxury accommodation

Reception – A small functional space with staff that are very welcoming and hospitable. A great first impression

Public Areas/Decor – All is well maintained to a very high standard with modern furnishings. The garden in particular is a delight, kept beautifully with faux stone features reflecting some of the stonework that can be seen at temples in the area. A small swimming pool makes for a great place to cool down after a hot day sightseeing

Guest Rooms
We chose to stay in the new modern block with luxury rooms. Driver accommodation provided

Space – Very large and comfortable with seating area and outside balcony with furniture overlooking the garden and pool

Decor/Maintenance/Cleanliness – Everything was fresh, new and clean

Furnishing/Bed – Ample furniture including arm chairs and coffee table. A comfortable bed with pillows, cushions and good standard linen. Minimal décor. The drapes do not provide a blackout which might be a problem for anyone who is light sensitive – but an eye mask is a great solution!

Bathroom – One of the best of all the hotels I have used in Sri Lanka. Contemporary tiling quality fittings including “rain” shower and a limited range of toiletries. Good towels

Amenities including entertainment – Free wifi (in public areas) in room large wall mounted flat screen tv with many channels. Coffee and tea making

Lighting – good

Air Conditioning and ceiling fan

Food Offering – We did not use the hotel for dinner. However breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, western style cooked items and eggs to order, toast and coffee. Tableware, like everything in this hotel, is absolutely immaculate

Security – Reception is staffed 24 hours –We returned early morning after a late party and were welcomed and escorted to our room with no problem

Other Guests – Mainly Indian and some Europeans. Relatively quiet when we stayed

X Factor – The designer chic rooms and public areas and the well maintained grounds and pool will appeal to the tastes of more sophisticated travellers. Certainly the best of any of the hotels we viewed in Anuradhapura

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very small Hotel, but lots of really helpful staff. They even waited outside to escort us to breakfast on rainy days. Great pool in really serene surroundings. A bit distant, so a driver is essential. Only negative is the total lack of local food. They were happy to give our driver rice and curry, but our requests for same were met with a blank look. Generic western/asian food, think nasi goreng to pork chops with french fries, but both were well cooked. Still happy to recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alakamanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alakamanda

Address: No 11/1 Nagasena Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alakamanda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among lush greenery and surrounded by picturesque ancient ruins in the exotic and cultural city of Anuradhapura is Alakamanda...a unique boutique hotel that upholds tradition and vows to leave you with a beautiful yet magical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alakamanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alakamanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.