We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and religious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mihintale

Mihintale
Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 attractions in Anuradhapura
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Historical and religious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Mihintale is one of the most religious and historical sites around Sri Lanka .. I started my tour of SL from here and learned a lot about buddhism and other historical facts .. I got a guide who invitied himself to come along but I wasnt disappointed .. he provided a lot of information about the area even pointing out the caves where the monks resided while meditating and looking for spiritual enlightenment ..
The temple at the top is about 1800 stairs up and I wasnt prepared for the climb keeping in mind i was heading to Sigiriya a day or two later .. but from the photos and other reviews am disappointed i didnt go up ..
Either way, the ruins at ground level were quite informative, where the monks came to eat and bathe and going down the stairs to where the hospital facitlites are ..
The area around is surrounded by greenery .. This is probably the only place i didnt see any monkeys around but saw my first giant squirrel ..
I would suggest coming here to get a feel of the country and the religion so understand how the rest of the culture fits in ..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    68
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend a visit to this temple and the surrounding caves. The views from the top are stunning, the temple grounds serene and the caves and surrounding monastery complex fascinating to explore. This was the only site in Sri Lanka we chose to explore with a guide and were so glad we did - we highly recommend the services of Nananda (full name Mr TWA Nananda Weerasiri), who was extremely knowledgeable and had us crawling through secret caves and standing on hidden precipices with stunning views. You're likely to find him at the entrance but can also contact him directly on 0094711891748. He's a registered official guide (number S/61)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mystic if it is raining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We go there under very heavy rain. The water is running down the steps, but the feeling you get on top of the rock is mystic. The rain forest below with clouds coming out of the trees is very nice. Worth to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A holy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The monastery of Mihintale is a very impressive place. It combines contemporary Buddhism with a strong and important history. Take a guide and follow the footsteps of Mahinda and the history of the Buddhism in Sri Lanka.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“better than anuradhapura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

smaller and that for more 'intimate' site, with less tourists.
i got a guide, which i didn't ask for, but turns out, he was quite good, as he shows you the best places(caves) which i surely wouldn't have found without him and points for nice pictures( reflections of the dagoba in a waterbassin)
entrance fee 500 rupees for the refectory, where the maha stupa and buddha statue are, no fee for Kaludiya Pokuna and
Kantaka Cetiya.
definitely worth a visit, if you're into archeological culture

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mihintale also viewed

Anuradhapura, North Central Province
Anuradhapura, North Central Province
 
Anuradhapura, North Central Province
Anuradhapura, North Central Province
 

Been to Mihintale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mihintale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mihintale to your Saves list