We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough budget guesthouse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Tourist Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anuradhapura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake View Tourist Guest House
Save
You added Lake View Tourist Guest House to your Saves list
4C / 4 Lake Road | Harischandra Mawatha, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough budget guesthouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here one night and for the price and location it was fine. The room was clean; the bathroom clean enough (we had a shower curtain!) and there was no hot water. Not really needed because this area is very hot. We were told by the owner to get off at the old bus station since this guesthouse would be a 100 rupee Tuk Tuk ride. We told our bus driver this, but he still dropped us off at the New bus station so we ended up paying 250 rupees. The guesthouse has bikes for rent, but check them carefully before you set off since some of them are not that good. There is a restaurant and drinks available. We did not eat here so I can’t comment on the food. There is a nice garden area to chill out in when your day is done. For a night or 2 this place is good for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
21
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely friendly family. Had a basic room on the first floor and it was more than sufficient for my needs. You have to bear in mind that this is a budget option and should be reviewed as such. Good food, dinner more so than breakfast. Bicycle rental available, which I recommend for exploring the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are basic, but smelled like mildew and matresses were damp. The owner told us it was because it rained a lot lately, and maybe it could be the reason. Staff friendly, and good bicycle renting. The dinner was rice and curry, and was very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile


Friendly staff with most amenities catered for. The bedrooms are clean and tidy with a fan and mosquito net (a must). We didn't have hot water but it was so hot that it wasn't a problem.
The extra R350 for breakfast isn't really worth it with much cheaper/tastier options in town.
All in all a good option for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The family who run the Lake View Guest house have two children living in Melbourne and therefore take special care of Australian visitors. . Its a little out of the way but you can walk to most places in town from the hotel (take plenty of water). The rooms are clean and neat. The food is fabulous. Just let them know early in the day that you will be dining and they will prepare the works for you. Make sure you agree on a price first.
Watch out for the nightly monkey scramble as they tear across the roof.
The beers are cold so we stayed for five days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs bedrooms which give you a little more air on the hot days
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very basic accommodation. The welcoming could have been warmer.
Please be aware that there is NO lake view at all...
Free (slow) internet is included, which can be useful.
Dinners were excellent, breakfasts were ok.

Room Tip: Avoid Room n°8 (triple room) on the first floor of the annex : mould smell and cold shower only, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed at Lake View for one night before moving on to Polonnaruwa but it was the perfect base in Anuradhapura - short walking distance to main street for the banks, restaurants, shops etc, short tuk tuk ride to the bus stations (new and old) and an easy and quick cycle ride away from all the sites of the ancient city.

The rooms were spacious and very clean, the bathroom was spotless and the shower worked fine (always a bonus as far as I'm concerned). We paid a very reasonable price for the accommodation and had a lovely, and enormous, breakfast to following morning.

The guest house has free wifi and offers cycle hire for a very good price, as well as reliable, unbiased advice and information.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Tourist Guest House

Address: 4C / 4 Lake Road | Harischandra Mawatha, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Tourist Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.