We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people in a nice place......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Wave Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Wave Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Wave Hotel
522 / 31 Lake Road, stage 2, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great people in a nice place......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

It is a great budget hotel. I stayed there with my family for one night. It is closer to the city and the sacred city. The rooms are new.

Upali is extremely helpful. I had to cancel my planned trip few months ago and he agreed to hold my advance payment till I make a trip to Anuradhapura. He and the others in the hotel was prepared to assist us to the maximum possible level and they are very pleasant cheerful bunch of people. Thank you for spreading the true Sri Lankan hospitality to your guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
37
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

we stayed 3 nights in upali's hotel and it was a pleasure. Upali and his family are very nice people, helpfully and the place near the lake is very plesant and very quiet. It's a good and budget place to enjoy and relax after visiting anuradhapura.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Great place, you will love it! Hard to leave, thank you, Upali, dude!! Mahtava mesta, ehdottomasti tänne!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The biggest thing about this guesthouse is the couple who run it - Upali and Sunanda - great food, great company, extremely helpful in giving advice, suggestions, saving money, etc. I originally was planning to stay for 2 nights and I ended up staying for 5! Not that there was much to do in Anuradhapura but the stay was so comfortable and enjoyable I didn't feel like moving around. And very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reside au France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was there for my last vacation with my daughter.It was my luck that i meet this people as they were so famillier & honorst.
Why i said famillier my daughter who went sri lanka first time for her life she admired her as an aunty of her and till today if i talk she says you let me stay with her & you go where you want to visit.
We shared the food together which i was so happy & my daughter too.the most of the service were done by her & her children were well behaved & kind.
As she tries to raise her head alone by doing an excellent honorst service i wish her all the best for her perceverence & the blessings of ''TRIPLE GEM''

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This guesthouse is run by a very nice and welcoming family. We had no reservation when we arrived at the bus station, and one tuk tuk driver took us there. The rooms are basic and decently clean (cold water and fan). It is close to a lake and the area is good for a short walk (even the people from the military office close by are friendly). But the strong point is the owner and his family, who are all super nice. It is a long walk to the city center, but you can have dinner there (curry is good).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We are very happy about our 2 nights stay in here. Only 10 min away from the bus station. Clean bedrooms. Cute garden next to the lake where you can see and hear birds. Most of all incredible welcome thanks to Roger and his very nice family, very smiling and always ready to help and make suggestions to improve your stay. Delicious dinner and breakfast !

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Wave Hotel

Address: 522 / 31 Lake Road, stage 2, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Wave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.