We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, no service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maestral Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maestral Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Maestral Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Przno bb, Sveti Stefan 85315, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sveti Stefan
hong kong
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Small rooms, no service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

for a resort type hotel, the rooms are extremely small. If you get a water view room, the view will be great, and is certainly worth the extra buck! The porter service is really slow, so better get your own bags. Budva is a lovely little town and we love it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
26
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I go to maestral hotel twice a year because is very close to my country.the beach there is wonderful.People go there for the casino.Most of the people are italian.the food is better at la carta restaurant.the price of the hotel in summer is expensive .The room is too small and not very clean

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Four stars and minimum 200 e per night for dirty rooms, unidentified food in hotel restaurant, rude staff, dirty and old towels for the beach, not very clean pool and untreated arguing with locals or the Russians for your beach chairs, every single day the same.The staff l is attentive only to the lovers of casinos in it.You may feel like a second class guest.The village is very,very small bu nice,with 3 restaurants with the same fresh fish prepared in the same manner. If you prefer to be choosy on vacation find yourself another place to rest .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

In case you are a traveller who is looking for and accustomed to quality, please look somewhere else, unless you love frustration and disappointment. Maestral is an average overpriced 3 star property (altheough they claim it is 4 stars) located on the beach in Przno. Having stayed at some luxurious hotels our expectations were probably elevated and I was hoping for "more"...But at Maestral you can't get "more", here you can only get "less". There is a big mismatch between what you expect and what you get. Now straight to the point...When we arrived to the hotel we were expecting to be normally greeted with a smile, which is the least one can expect in any hotel (it is called the "Hospitality Industry" for God's sake!). Unfortunately at the front desk we were met by an unwelcoming lady who did not even look at us, needless to say she did not smile even once. As a matter of fact no one at Maestral's front desk smiles and all employees look very miserable (not sure if the management have noticed this). We arrived in the hotel at 14:30 in the afternoon (after travelling through the canyons of Montenegro for more than 5 hours) and naturally expected to be able to check in as we were previously informed by the hotel's reservation agent that the check-in time was at 14:00). To our surprise we were told by the front-desk lady that the room is not ready yet and it will be another 1 (one) hour until it gets ready. We had booked one of the renovated rooms (which are nicely done), but as the room was not ready, she tried to accommodate us in a different room (which was not renovated). Despite the fact that we had booked a "new" room, we decided to go and check out the "old" room in order not not wait. Needless to say the "old" room was unaccetable so we decided to wait for the originally designated "new" room. We left our luggage at the reception and went to the restaurant (which has a very nice terrace overlooking the bay) for a coffee. After patiently waiting for 1 hr and 15 minutes we went back to the front desk to finally check into our room. Unfortunately the room was still not ready and we were asked to wait for another 20 minutes by another unsmiling and miserable male employee at the front desk. After expressing our great disappointment with the long wait we were given our room key and the bell boy escorted us to our room where we were about to get another surprise...- the housemaid was still in the room and told us that the previous people had just vacated the room and we needed to wait for another 30 minutes... I was wondering how could this guy working at the front desk send us to a room which has not been serviced??? Don't they teach them this at Maestral? Complete lack of common sense and training. You can only imagine how we felt after the long wait..For those of you who are planning to stay in this hotel, please note that the check- in time is 16:30-17:00 and not 14:00 as anywhere else and as officially advertised by the hotel. So after waiting for two and a half hours we managed to get inside the room. After leaving our luggage in the room we then went to the beach for another lovely surprise. The beach was nice and the water very clean and this was our first good impression of this place. We ordered a couple of drinks and had to literally wait for 1 hr before realizing that the waiter had completely forgotten about them...So we went to get the drinks ourselves...The waiter eventually came and apologized and brought us a couple of orange juices on the house, which was a nice gesture and the first and ONLY attempt for a service recovery by an employee of this hotel...We had so many bad experiences in this hotel and I do not have the patience to explain in detail all of them but here are some of the highlights: There are no irons in the rooms, which means that you need to plan your wardrobe in advance and then the hotel will iron your clothes for a charge, which is quite inconvenient. If you go to the beach you will find out that the sunbeds on the first row next to the water are always booked for "VIPs" as they say, and most of these sunbeds are constantly empty. Breakfast in the hotel was OK but the choice was very limited. The ONlY fresh fruits you could get for breakfast were sliced tasteless kiwi and orange, and pineapple from a can!. Considering the fact that there are so many other cheap fruits in the summer ( e.g. watermelon, melon, peaches, grapes etc.) the limited choice was absolutely inexplicableand unacceptable. Some of the service staff in the restaurant and the bar do not speak English and their product knowledge is qute limited, needless to say that none of them smiles. Some other small and frustrating experiences - deactivated rooms keys which needed activating, locked minibar for the first 2 days!, wrong calls from the reception at 12 midnight, complete miscommunication between employees at the front desk, broken balcony door etc. The hotel manager (his name is Deyan I think) is quite arrogant with very basic communication skills (not the kind of person you would expect to see in a service industry, as he does not seemingly understand the concept of service (smiling and courtesy are apparently forbidden at Maestral, later on I read on Tripadvisor that other hotel guests had similar experiences to mine). It is clear that the main problem in this hotel is the recruitment of the wrong people for the wrong positions and the complete lack of service training. All in all our stay at Maestral was absolute disaster. I strongly encourage other travellers who are looking for a nice and relaxing vacation to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We staid at this hotel last year and we enyoid very much. We came back this year again but it was not the same. They gave us a room with sea view (as we ordered) but in the far edge of the Hotel. It's take us 10 minutes to go to the breakfeast. In our room some of the lights not worked. We asked 3 times but nobudy came. In my friends room the aircondition wor poorly. After we demand to change rooms, they promised to do it in the next day, and change my friends room. When we came in the next day at 6 PM, in the reception they told us that only after 8 PM they will change the rooms. We demand to speak with the manager. A person who present himself as tha vice manager was rude, and tell us that we will get a new rooms and this is it as we ars the problem. We get a new and very good rooms in the center of the hotel, not before we wait 1/2 hour to the bell boy to help move our lougage. It was a great dissapoint from the atitude, for customer who came back to the hotel second time. We deal a lot of time and change our plans because this. This is not the way to attitude to customer in a expensive hotel.

Room Tip: You have to demand to get only rooms in the central building and high floor with sea view. Outherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have just returned from a Ledger holiday where we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, dinner bed and breakfast. I had a lovely room with a sea view, hotel located right next to a private beach. My room was clean and had just been recently decorated, some parts of the hotel are in need of redecorating but I think this is an ongoing programme.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of hot and cold food, the same at dinner with free water on the table.
Indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi very clean, outdoor pool was quite busy as exceptionally warm during my stay.
Staff polite and very helpful, nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, as some rooms are on the ground floor and they can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was there on business trip for a few days. Great to have a break from the meeting in the pool or the beach. The hotel is at a splendid location. The hotel itself is ok, not that great luxury that is found in bigger cities though. Room and bathroom were clean, people are friendly.
I had a pool-side room on the first floor. I can recommend it, having a dip right after getting up in the morning and only having to run a few meters to get in is great.
Drinks are a bit overpriced: 3 euro for a bear is excessive, as is 18 euro for a bottle of cheap wine. Price of food is ok.
The internet is probably run through a very tiny copper wire as it is so slow, if you can find the wifi that is ... often the signal just drops off. There is plenty of room for improvement on that side, especially for such a fancy hotel.
The hotel has confiscated quite a large area of the beach and made it private. There is a nice towel service.
Be careful when dining at the small sea-side restaurants next to the hotel. These are a real rip-off. Prices are very unclear, waiters are pouring wine without asking, etc. Be ready to pay up to 60-70 euro for a fish for 2 persons. Ridiculous ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor with a direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maestral Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maestral Resort & Casino

Address: Przno bb, Sveti Stefan 85315, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Sveti Stefan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sveti Stefan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maestral Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Maestral Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestral Resort And Casino
Maestral Hotel Sveti Stefan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maestral Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.