We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Grotto

Blue Grotto
Lustica bb, Herceg-Novi, Montenegro
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Herceg-Novi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most attractive and the most beautiful natural creation of this kind, in the area of the entire Mediterranean. The grotto is located in the Lustica Peninsula, its sea level surface is 100 square meters, and the interior is round-shaped, with the ceiling shaped as vault.
Herceg Novi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When you get there don't miss to swim in a clear turquoise water and take your camera with you. We were there with small children, and they were excited, although they didn't swim in a cave (there was lot of swimmers at that moment so it was better for them to stay on the boat).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Blue Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Amazing! Just jump in and swim. Watch out for the boats!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Philly
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“if you have a chance - just do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is great for the price, yes you take a 1 hr(30 each way) boat ride to swim for 20 minutes, but I am sure you wont see water like this anytime again soon. Doesn't need to be done twice but once was great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Interesting trip into the Blue Cave, into which the boat barely fits through the entrance. The blue wasn't that stunning, perhaps the angle of the sun was wrong! Great swimming though (I'll be honest, my first swim off a boat in deep water).

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Natural Wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We caught the Tourist Ship Alexandra, one of the many boats, taking tourists from Zanjiche beach to the Blue Grotto for 3 Euros. It was about a 20 minute boat ride along the coast. The boat squeezed into the cave from where jumped off and swam inside the cave. The light in the cave caused it to be an amazing bright blue colour. There were fish to see and people scuba diving at the bottom. The cave was exceptional deep. Afterwards we went round to the other side of the cave for some swimming in the open sea. Different boat companies offer different options and some other people from our hotel had the opportunity to explore a derelict castle instead of the sea swimming.
I'd recommend brining your swimming kit, a snorkel mask and pipe and a cool drink.
One cautionary note - I swallowed quite a bit of salty seawater and then was sick off the side of the boat on the way back!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Grotto also viewed

Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality
Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality
 
Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Blue Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.