We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ZUTA KUCA (The Yellow House)

View south from all terraces Zuta Kuca (4 terraces in Upper Apartment)
View south from all terraces Zuta Kuca (4 terraces in Upper Apartment)
View south from all terraces Zuta Kuca (4 terraces in Upper Apartment)
Entrance to Zuta Kuca, Kanli Kula in background (private parking left of entrance)
Covered summer kitchen terrace, Upper Apartment
Original barbeque in Mediterranean garden (vines, figs, pomegranates, oranges and lemons)
Private paths and gates for each apartment to heart of Herceg Novi old town (one minute)
Herceg-Novi
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paul S
goole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Suberb views, Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have rented all over Europe and this was the most welcoming and best equiped. There are many many steps from the house to the promenade ,but judicious use of steps/road made it acceptable ( we are in 70s) The town has good facilities and everyone was helpful. The beaches are well organised and are mainly shingle with good sea swimming. Overall very enjoyable

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JennyRobs...
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Been here three times now and looking forward to the next time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I can't fault this beautiful house and location. Any season is perfect for a holiday break. Snowy mountains in the winter and beautiful clear blue sea to swim in spring and summer, not to mention all the walks available from the door. This is the third time I've enjoyed a holiday here and hope to return soon

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jacqui H
Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An amazing place to stay with unbelievable views from all 4 balconies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have stayed in Zuta Kuca twice now and will hopefully return again soon. The upper apartment is perfect for families. With two children disappearing upstairs to their own rooms and balcony we had plenty of peace and quiet. The house is beautifully clean and comfortable and really well equipped. We had a week of very high temperatures and so the air conditioning was brilliant. The views from the balconies are unbelievable and as we saw no clouds for a week on our most recent visit so the views were even better than ever! Herceg Novi is a lovely town - plenty of restaurants and cafes, very friendly locals and a great atmosphere during the day and evening. Local beaches and those you travel to by boat are beautiful. We would highly recommend a stay in this lovely house in a beautiful unspoilt part of the world.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Views from the property
Liked least: all great
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
J_Warren...
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Apartment, Great Views, Wonderful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We are a family of four with two children, 11 & 8. Montenegro is easy to travel to and the people are very laid back and welcoming. The Yellow House is a great house, we stayed in the larger 3 bedroom apartment which is really well set up - it is modern with new aircon in every bedroom and the lounge, two bathrooms and also a third toilet, and is tastfully furnished and feels realy homely with some lovely personal touches. The four terraces provide stunning views, and two have grapevines running overhead and around, with limes and figs in abundance in the garden to take advantage of, as well as a great BBQ area.

Although we hired a car we parked it all week bar a day visit to Dubrovnik which is very easy, we stopped at Cavtat on the way a lovely stunning coastal town most of the way there (45 mins, just beyond the airport)

Herceg Novi is a great base for seeing and experiencing Montenegro. The house is 2 minutes walk from the daily covered food market, the main square, and the old town. It is is a place to walk around, and visit cafes and take in the views and the people. It is not commercialised and never felt busy, yet is a thriving and bustling place.

There are beaches on the front, and we also went across to Rose which is beautiful by watertaxi that was 10Euro each way for all of us on a couple of days for the beach and lunch. There is alot to see historically here, there is plentiful watersports - kayaking, jetskis, dougnuts etc and bicycle hire all very reasonable - the latter being 2E per hour for instance.

The only caution I would place on travellers is that Herceg Novi is built up the hillside so has many steps down to the front, its not an issue for the average person and is part of the charm of the town, but would be for wheelchair users.

As a rental I would highly recommend, and we will visit again ourselves.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Views / Aircon / Balconies
Liked least: Some noise from the road to the rear at peak times
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
David S
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home in a beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Do not be misled by the approach off a busy main road. Zuta Kuca is a haven of peace and tranquillity. We are experienced holiday renters and there is always a shortcoming or a lack of some vital equipment. Not so here.. We had a wonderful 10 day stay during a heatwave which forced us to spend more time in the aappartment than we had anticpated. Sitting on the terrace gazing out to sea was the enforced rest we really needed. It was so peaceful not having internet or TV . It is only a short walk to the centre of the old town and the wonderful Green Market and a good selection of restaurants. It is a long walk down to the harbour and seafront but well worth the trip. A taxi back costs only a couple of euros if you do not have the energy for hundreds of steps. Easy acces to lovely beaches by boat from the harbour. An excellent base for exploring Montenegro and Dubrovnik.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the attention to detail/ well equipped
Liked least: Coming home!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sue L
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing holiday with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The scenery in Montenegro is second to none. When you open the shutters in the morning to let the constant sunshine in, its just blows you away every time. The locals are very friendly and everything is on your doorstep, or should I say down lots of steps. This holiday will keep you fit as everything is built on the side of hill which is fantastic but not for the weak limbed. we went in August and it was extremely hot. We had lovley days down by the sea and the Montengro film festival was in full swing each evening. There was even a concert on in the fort in the old town one night. The old town is very picturesque and there are lots of very good inexpensive restaurants to choose from. All highly recommended. We had a great trip out to Dubrovnik for a day which included a trip on a glass bottom boat. If you want a relaxing holiday without having to spend vast amounts of money and love scenery then this is definately the place to go. The yellow House is ideally situated in a quiet part of town without being isolated. The house itself is lovely with everything you could want especailly air conditioning. We went with our 2 daughters who are at university and all 4 of us enjoyed our time there.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: August was too hot
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
George R
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely home from home with views to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay in Zuta Kuca. We stayed in the upper apartment and had a wonderful relaxing holiday. We were a group of two adults and three teenagers. The apartment worked very well for us. The layout was very good with the two rooms upstairs and the ensuite downstairs. It was very well equipped and we loved the air conditioning as the temperatures were in the high 30's. The views from the balcony were amazing and it is true, you could sit and watch the boats ferrying to and from the harbour all day.
There was a very interesting market in the town with lots of local delicacies and really fresh fish - well worth a visit.
We would not recommend the holiday for the disabled as there are many steps down to the harbour.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views and air conditioning.
Liked least: Walking back up the steps to the apartment from the harbour
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$140
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Leo D
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 28 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing