We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Slovenska Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Slovenska Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Trg Slobode 1, Budva 85310, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Budva
Donetsk, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Nice place to rest with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited this hotel with my wife and 6 years daugther. Animators work 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. Also they make minidisco every evening. Nice disposition - it is on the seaside on you need only 3 min to get in the sea. Kitchen is not bad, but in the rush hours the quantuty of visitors exceed quantity of food in all-inclusive restaraunt.

Room Tip: As for me all rooms situated very close to the seaside, so each of them will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    104
    62
    36
    37
See reviews for
83
67
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

the service is really poor and the staff is not polite. The facilites inside the resort are not representative for the four stars level.the staff is not speaking foreign languages.We are for the first time in this hotel but we will never come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and i travelled here on 1st of july 2013 for a one week stay. It was our first (definitely not last) visit! It is an extremely well run complex and our room was spotless - the chambermaid Gojka was absolutely fantastic! On our first day we went to the children's pool (even though no children came with us) and ended up spending the majority of our time there as staff was so helpful, thoughtful and friendly - that includes life guards, waitress and barmaid by the pool, restaurant staff and receptionists. The croatian animator was very good, although the complex as a whole should invest in more entertainment.
We stayed in the 4* complex on an all inclusive basis. The restaurant food was absolutely delicious and drinks were never watered down - and this is one of the best compared to many other 4/5* hotel restaurants.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay with special thanks to all the staff - well done Mr Tomasevic!

Cika Sloba i Teta Ruza :)

Room Tip: Choose first floor - feel more secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The first expression was good. Friendly stuff (manager Biserka is the best and very helpful). Apartment was clean and good repaired, new furniture. Territory is also beautiful!!! Clean see. Nice restaurant La Bocca there. There is nice pool for hotel guests only with see water. Playground and mini club exist.
But! Breakfast was not good. Tables after first people were not clean. Poor choice of food. "Coffee" was awful. No normal tee. To feed kids was problematic.
In the night time it's impossible to sleep well cause of people. There are many teenagers there. Also some adults behave as animals (loud talks, laugh and no care about others).
Other problem for the night time was drops from conditioner upper floor... I had to here drops all the night and finally there were lake on my balcony. I think this situation was available not for all.
WiFi. We could use it only next to the reception or in some public places. In apartment we had no possibility to use it. I informed stuff about this problem but nothing changed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned after 10 days at this Hotel. We were moved here as our 1st choice had an overbooking problem just before we were due to travel. Our Tour Operator uses the 3* part of the hotel but we were upgraded to the 4* section and given All-Inclusive as compensation for not getting our original hotel.
On arrival, after a long day travelling we went to the reception desk only to find it was the wrong one. They have a seperate reception desk for each of the 2 sections, although at the end of the day the 3* & 4* accommodation is mixed in the various blocks.
There is a seperate restaurant for the 2 classes and there is supposed to be a seperate bar for each, but only one was open. This caused another visit to the reception to clear up as they don't really give sufficient information when you book in.
The rooms were fine. Clean, comfortable, although the maids have a strange idea about bed making. They put the blankets under the sheets. There was a flatscreen TV with loads of channels, only Sky News was in English though but that made a change from BBC World News, and anyway we were on holiday so TV was low on our wish list. Also there was a radio/alarm clock, en-suite shower/toilet and a safe. The safe required anothe visit to reception as it was locked and needed to opened so that we could set out PIN for it, but that was handled with great efficiency.
The food was the usually Buffet style self service and the only gripe was it was often cold. The trick was to wait until a new pan was deleivered and get in quick while it was hot. 2 soups were on offer each day, a clear one and a non-clear one. No indication of what sort of soup was available, and only a few if the dishes had labels so you had to be careful with some oddities, but mostly it was obvious. Desserts were limited to small portions of cake, or fruit, or if lucky ice-cream.
We were the only English in the Hotel at the time and it was interesting to watch the other nationalities. The 1st few days these were mainly Russians, who were fairly laid back about most things, but then a large contingent of Germans arrived and they behave very different, especially when in the restaurant. If you were pushed or shoved out of the way - it was by a German. If you saw someone grabbing a large bowl of Cherries or Strawberries before they had got their main course - it was a German. Of course, as the only Brits there, we couldn't comment on how our fellow countrymen would have behaved.
We were a family group, my wife, our daughter, son-in-law and our 14 month old granddaughter. There were only 3 kiddies chairs between the 2 restaurants and 2 of those had broken straps. At the start his was not a problem due to the lack of little kids, by the ned of the 1st week there were probably in excess of a dozen toddlers so it was pot luck if you got a kiddie seat.
We found most of the staff to be polite and friendly and most could speak enough English to get by.We had one incident in the restaurant where one waitress serving drinks (help yourself at breakfast and lunch but served to you at dinner) walked past, and when we asked her for drinks she refused saying we had the wrong colour armbands (this is for all-inclusive guests - Gold for 4*, Red for 3* and White for guests from the hotel next door). The restaurant was full due to the arrival of the German guests and expanded from the main room + pool area, to another room and part of the 3* area. It require my standing in the main room asking in a loud voice what we had to do to get drinks before the Restaurant manager became available. Too late for that meal really but we got very good service thereafter.
The hotel has 2 pools with sun terraces around them. On is designed for families and had a couple of slides and was shallower, and of course closed. they were still sorting out the paving/tiling around the pool and it only opened 3 days before we left. This meant the other pool was crowded. It was also this pool that had the only open All-Inclusive bar. The 1st week we spent surrounded by a couple of school parties of Russian teenagers staying at both our hotrl and the one nextdoor. Adult supervison was lacking, but to be fair they were mostly well behaved.
Entertainment is limited here - some activities for children, and for adults there were arobics in the pool and sulsa lessons.
The resort itself was still undergoing a lot of work to get bars etc ready for the season - they are about 2-3 weeks behind due to a very wet spring. When finished the promenade will be noisy (3-4 bars holding House/Garage/Indie Parties all next to each other). The beach is stoney, crowded with "supervised" areas (ie you have to pay to get a sunbed and umbrella) and limited "free" space. To be honest, the beach isn't worthy of being called a beach. The only saving grace is that the water is clear and blue.
Someone else said that it is not ready for Westerners. this is true, most signs for boat trips, tours etc are in Russian, because baslically other that Germany, westerners haven't started to flock back in any numbers. However, speaking to the locals, they are desperate to have more British visitors, so if we start booking they will change things to suit us more.
Overall, a reasonaly good holiday, not the best, but not the worst.

And if you want a trip out - go to see Kotor. Lovely old town, spectacular setting.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main drag. It can get a bit of noise late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff is not nice and helpful at all and normally don't speak English. We have had issues with hot water..
And there are extra hidden fees for parking (4 euro per day) and tourist taxes (1.50 euro per day)!! Very disappointing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is located at the city center - very near to old city of Budva. The sea is 100m from the hotel.

In fact the hotel is not located in one building - it is a complex of villas and a park. This park is available to the public. That fact is a security issue because all rooms are accessible to the public - so be very careful when leaving the room.

The park itself is maintained from the hotel staff. The process starts usually at 7am, so sometimes it is not easy to sleep in the morning. My room was right under one tree, so from 4am to 7am one bird sang all the time - the windows do not provide the sound protection, so I did not slept well.

The other issue is that in the hotel is a problem with the hot water - there is warm water not hot. Even sometimes from the hot tap is running only cold water!!!. Our guide said that in the summer there is also electricity interruptions caused by overloading the system.

Because of the rooms (villas) location on the first morning it will be very difficult to restaurant... If you have to leave the hotel very early in the morning keep in mind that the breakfast starts at 7am - nobody cares that you have to leave...

Room Tip: All rooms are inside villas, so there is need to pre-choose the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Slovenska Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slovenska Plaza

Address: Trg Slobode 1, Budva 85310, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Budva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Slovenska Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 754
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Slovenska Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slovenska Plaza Hotel
Slovenska Plaza Budva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Slovenska Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.