We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oliva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oliva to your Saves list
Hotel Oliva
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Velji Vinogradi bb, Budva 85310, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 Budva B&B and Inns
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in july, found the staff to be great, the food (was half board here) to be great and really enjoyed staying here! We got a free drink when we arrived, and the hotel owner packed a breakfast and drove us to the bus station for 7:30 in the morning, for no charge, the morning we left. In fact refused to take any money from us for it.Found the people to be lovely, very genuine, and not treated customers as real people, not just as "tourists to be ripped off!"

Room Tip: They don't have a pool or fitness centre. But it is a short walk to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent the first week of July in this hotel. We arrived by car from the Podgorica airport. It is quite difficult to find this hotel for the first time, we went through Budva from the beginning to the end and nobody was able to describe right position. Then we got nice invitation from the owner who run this hotel together with his son. The rooms have quite old furniture, bathroom is good every room has air condition unit and TV set. Sometimes it was difficult to close the door we had to lock it. The hotel itself has 3 exceptional things - outside sitting below the olives, quality of food and the level of dining service. We had breakfast and although there are so many choices we ate all dinners there as well. Especially I would like to thank Jelena for her perfect service during dining.
Budva is good resort with plenty of food choices and fun. On the other hand the beach is overcrowded and it is much better to go either to island St,Nikola (5 euro by boat) or to the beach of St.Stefan (7 km by car) where are perfect beaches.
Montenegro has fantastic mountains we only went to Lovčem which is very close but if you like mountains it is good to go here in autumn and you find clean and beatiful nature.
Finally I like this country I like the hotel and people there. I would recommend the stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel lies in a modern part of Budva, in a quiet lane, 10 minutes walk from the beach, 20 minutes walk from the old city of Budva. Hotel itself is ok, we had a very very small room where only the bed fitted in, so minus points for the room (I dont know if other rooms were the same or larger), the balcony in the room was almost bigger then the room :).
Plus points go for the restaurant in the garden under big olive trees and especially the hotel owner, who is very friendly, funny and charming, and treating the guests as "old friends".
The buffet breakfast exceeds a 3* hotel, it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

location,price, rooms with balcony, restaurant and garden are all perfect, but the most important thing is the owner of the hotel who is very friendly and always tries to make your holiday better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Really sweet place, far enough off the beaten track to feel special & close enough to town to be at the beach in 10 minutes. Really lovely manager, who gave us free beer on arrival and cava on the day we left. Eating outside under the candelit olive trees is pretty nice too! Our room was small, but clean, and we had no problems with noise (although the bedroom doors do slam a bit)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Oliva is a small hotel on a relatively quiet side road. We only spent one night there, and didn’t have dinner there. Since we also left very early we had no time for breakfast, but after we mentioned it to the staff they prepared quite extensive lunch bags (for free instead of breakfast), which was a nice service. The rooms are spacious and quite comfortable, though ours had the AC blow directly on the bed (not everyone likes that). Also strange that the windows had nearly lightproof shutters, but the balcony door had nothing, hence with a streetlight just outside it was very bright in the room all night. Overall not a bad choice. A walk to the old town takes about 20 minutes, to the beach about 10.
There's free WIFI and a nice garden to relax.

Room Tip: If you don't like the AC blowing at you at night, better check several rooms to see if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Very welcoming hotel manager (may be the owner). Made us feel very welcome. Room was grand. clean and had everything we needed. had a nice balcony which was lovely. We had a room at the back and so didn't hear the street noise much, I think the rooms at the front may be noisy at right with traffic from the street. Ate in the restuarent in the hotel and was very very tasty and very reasonable. Hotel is located only about 7/8 minute walk from the main beach area so perfect location. All in all very happy with our stay. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful and that makes a big difference.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oliva

Address: Velji Vinogradi bb, Budva 85310, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Budva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oliva 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oliva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oliva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.