We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence Just Waiting for your Arrival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jamm
Save
You added Jamm to your Saves list
Angle Rue Paul/Abdoulaye Seck Marie Parsine | BP 667, Saint-Louis, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Saint-Louis B&B and Inns
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellence Just Waiting for your Arrival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It would be hard to imagine a better place to stay in Saint Louis, Senegal. But the owner, Yves Lamour, only has four rooms, so don't delay making your reservation once you know you're going to visit Saint Louis. Yves also has a gourmet cook and unless your stay is an extended one and you really want to explore other restaurants, taking dinner with Yves and his Senegalese wife adds an extra benefit to your stay. The house is charming, centrally located, the Lamours are excellent conversationalists (he speaks English but prefers French), and the staff is warm, welcoming, and helpful. I also had Yves arrange a half-day walking guide for me, and he provided a knowledgeable one fluent in English. My room was cozy, with mosquito net, working a/c, spotless bathroom with tub and shower, and absolutely quiet. I doubt that there's any place better in Saint Louis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Yves Lamour, owner of Jamm, provided a welcoming experience to his charming renovated inn in the heart of St-Louis. Once inside the doors of the inn, you can imagine how the city must have been in the late 19th century. The hospitality of Yves and his staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Our two families stayed in adjoining rooms on the second floor with private corner balconies and lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This small hotel with only four rooms is surely the best spot to stay in Saint-Louis. Housed in an old building renovated with style, decorated with local artifacts, and filled with interesting books, Hotel Jamm provides a marvelous entry into Saint-Louis. The proprietor, Yves Lamour, speaks English as well as French, and can set you up with knowledgeable guides for whatever interests you: walking the city, birding in the national parks, even visiting local artisans. He also arranged for someone to take us from Dakar to Saint-Denis and four days later, to drive us back to Dakar. The food and company was so good at Jamm that we had breakfast and dinner with the proprietor and his lovely wife, Dior, all four days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My adult son and I arrived for two nights in November and found a gracious owner, space and staff. The rooms have all the comforts of AC, flat screen TV, separate WC and tub/sink room with large earthen ware soaking tup and mod shower head, speedy free wireless, fridge with soda, beer, water for a small fee, ceiling fans; we did not use the first two items -- they worked, just did not need them -- but the rest were welcome. The high ceilings that accomodate a ladder to a twin bedded sleeping loft let us share the room comfortably. Beautiful bedding and furniture, lots of local art and space true to the pictures made the stay all the better. With delicious meals, easy conversation in French and English, helpful suggestions for guides to bird sactuary and the fishing villages as well as art galleries -- all orchestrated by owner Yves Lamour -- we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Also try the restaurant across the street for boxing history and Spanish food with fresh ingredients and graceful decor. Would love to come again for a week of writing/sitting in the third floor sun deck and exploring the environs.

Room Tip: The "green" room has both a balcony onto the quiet side street and onto the interior court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

One of the best experiences in Senegal. Hotel is beautiful, staff is welcoming and the owner, Yves Lamour does everything to make you feel at home. He was found an excellent guide to the Djoudj National Bird Sanctuary. Highest recommendation!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This small hotel is very nice, the building has been restored beautifully, and it's full of interesting objects. The owner is very helpful, very friendly. it was a shame we were staying there just for 1 night. Everything was working very well, and itwasvery quiet at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Jamm hotel is a gem as is the owner Yves. When we arrived he made us feel absolutely welcome.
The rooms were fantastic and clean. The interior decor was warm and had a great energy.
Yves made us feel like were were "a home away from home". Introduced us to a wonderful guide who took us arround St Louis. Yves personally took us around to Art galaries in his own vehicle. We were really surprised to see such amazing art galaries in Senegal.
The restaurants he suggested were all wonderful.
Thank you Yves for making this an absolutely amazing holiday. I will be back at your hotel I loved it so much.

I am really sorry I did not take any pictures of the interior of the rooms to show how beautiful they were

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamm

Address: Angle Rue Paul/Abdoulaye Seck Marie Parsine | BP 667, Saint-Louis, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Saint-Louis Region > Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four rooms "guest house" located in the center of the historical island of Saint-Louis.On demand, diner for the guests. Ancient house refurbished in 2008 with all the commodities of the XXI° century (Jacuzzi, WIFI, air conditionning). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.