We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and fantastic breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lapusneanu Street, Iasi, Romania (Formerly Victoria Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Iasi
Raalte, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service and fantastic breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very centrally located hotel, in the same building as the Traian hotel. They have a great service, for example they washed some shirts for me on sunday, while normally this service is only provided the other six days of the week.
Great breakfast at the Traian Hotel, which can be reached very easily through an inside corridor
Also a nice Irish Pub beside the reception.
Spacious, clean rooms, with airco.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
2
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

It's definetly not a very glamourous hotel but it is part of the Best Western Chain. I can confirm that you get Miles and More Points (or the Best Western rewards) if you stay there, provided you book from the Best Western site.

The good part is the location, right in the center of Iasi. There is a decent pub and also a very nice restaurant in a nearby hotel.

The furniture is a bit on the old side but still decent. Clean rooms and wide clean bathrooms. It was definetly not very impressive and rather dull. The staff was very nice though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I checked into the Astoria for a business trip for five days. I was at first given a room without hot water, phone, or Internet. I asked to be switched the next day. the next night I was woken up at 5am by the man in the room next door's alarm , the walls are so paper thin I could even hear him snoring. I pounded on the wall several times, and then called reception. A few minutes later, someone started pounding at MY door repeatedly. I was totally terrified it was the man in the room next door, as no one announced who they were. I called the front desk woman and told her what was going on. She rudely told me 'that there was no noise problem'. The next day I was furious and went to complain at the front desk, and was told 'not to exaggerate' that it wasn't a big deal and that they simply made a mistake. I checked out ASAP three days early to a nearby hotel. The manager I was told, came in whenever he chose to and they had no idea how to contact him/her. WORST HOTEL EVER. INCOMPETENT RUDE STAFF. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

I have been staying at the Astoria for several years, usually for a few days in the winter.

The hotel is comfortable, the staff are efficient, and the location is very good. However in the winter the hotel is extremely hot -- it's not uncommon for me to need to open the window to cool the room to a temperature which allows me to sleep (even with the room radiator turned off and when it's well below freezing outside). At times there must be a temperature difference of about 40 degrees as you go through the rotating doors!

Breakfast is fine - bread, cheese, cold meats, fried eggs, hot meats etc. The hotel now has free, fast WiFi throughout. The London pub is fine for a quick drink - a colleague particularly liked the hot chocolate.

Although I had a nonsmoking room (according to the sign on the door and a notice inside) it had an ashtray and smelt slightly of smoke.

I notice it's now a Best Western hotel, although the front desk could not credit my BW account with points for the stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

At the end of July we were looking for a hotel on-line in Iasi. The Astoria site lists a hotel in Iasi so we emailed them to book us in for two nights. When we arrived we were rudely treated at the front desk and informed that this hotel was not part of the Astoria chain. Despite our email of the day before, the receptionist proved to be inflexible and unwilling to verify our email. The rates were not as listed on the web site and we ended up going across the street to a great hotel for less money with very friendly staff. Astoria needs to take this hotel off their site.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

Iasi is hardly a tourist hotspot, even by Romanian standards and therefore the choice of hotels is not exactly vast. Which is why the Astoria is a great little find, centrally located, very cheap, lovely staff, there is not really anything by which to fault it. It is basic, but then again this is Iasi not Bucharest, which is just as well because Iasi is a far nicer city anyway, a great place in which to observe the culture of this amazing country without the nightmare bustle of its capital. Lots of places to eat, things to see and even a couple of rather cool clubs from which to sip a drink and listen to DJ's in the company of Iasi's many students. Will I return?, no doubt, and no doubt will choose the Astoria again, highly recommended, oh, but pay locally if you can, unilkely to be full and was around £15 a night for a double with breakfast, bargain. One word of advice though, walk carefully in the streets particularly in winter, the pavements are somewhat cracked and undulate periodically, but thats all part of the charm.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 1 Lapusneanu Street, Iasi, Romania (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Iasi County > Iasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Iasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Iasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.