We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the 1st time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Calera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Calera to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Calera
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Metro Drive, Calera, AL 35040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 10%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calera
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Not as good as the 1st time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel, once in 2010 and now. We were very impressed the first time, everything was new and clean. We havent stayed here for a couple years and the hotel shows its wear. Room 422 is in need of wall paint, big scrapes around the entry door, near the desk chair and night stand. Not just minor spots, huge sections need to be painted. Additionally the hallway and room carpet needs to be steam cleaned. Especially behind doors, around furniture, etc where dirt builds up. The bedding however is clean and comfortable, the bathroom was clean as well. No mold or hair in the shower or sink area where you often find it. A little sprucing up is in need and it will earn my 5 star rating once again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    45
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
36
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent a long weekend to attend a wedding of a special family friend. The guest services for myself and the wedding party was wonderful. Very good experience. My room was spacious, efficiently arranged and super clean. Slept well because of the lack of noise! Breakfast was super crowded because of the large number of guests at hotel, but food was well prepared, well stocked and kept available. Attendants kept an eye of tables to make sure they were cleaned as well as keeping breakfast area clean. Great experience overall and will remember this location when traveling to Birmingham area in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Walton Beach Fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visiting family in area. Hampton Inn always our choice when traveling. Calera Hampton Inn was just as expected, clean, friendly staff, and comfortable beds. Breakfast hot and ready for you in the morning. The room was very clean. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was in the area for a local convention when I stayed at the location. The hotel and staff were extremely nice. The cookies and fruits provided were very fresh. I have been in some where they were not as fresh.

My only complaint about the facility was the air conditioner being extremely noisy. The carpet was soaked near the unit but it was not frozen inside that I know of. When I turned on the heat, it was still loud. I was able to warm the room enough to ultimately turn it off so I could sleep.

There are a few restaurants in the area. I didn't notice any prime meal locations like steakhouses, but I did notice a Cracker Barrel close by.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Hampton Inn in Calera is a nice place to stay. The room was clean, but a bit dark. Our bathroom only had a shower but it was large. The continental breakfast was very good, but there was ham mixed in with the eggs which might be a problem for some. The were fresh waffels and a good selection of other items. I would stay there again if the need arises.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I know the Hampton Inn is a national chain and is as cookie cutter as it gets. This is small town Alabama though, I don't know if there is much else to choose from. I can tell you that if I ever have the need to be in Calera, Al again I will be at the Hampton Inn. The staff was fantastic the breakfast was very good and full of choices. The whole property was clean and close to many restaurants and shops. My room was as clean and comfortable as I could ever want a room to be. I really thought that it was a bit over priced but they did not miss a beat in making me feel welcome and very relaxed. I also ate a fantastic shrimp and grits meal at a catfish place across the main road from the Hotel I don't recall the name but recommend it as well. I may take my wife back to Calera just to have dinner there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here! Staff is very friendly and nice! Convenient to a variety of restaurants.
If I ever need to stay over night again in this area, I will stay here! Cookies and coffee/tea were a nice treat also,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Calera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Calera

Address: 93 Metro Drive, Calera, AL 35040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Calera
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Calera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Calera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Calera Hotel Calera
Calera Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Calera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.