We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carpati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carpati to your Saves list
Hotel Carpati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str. Minerva 16, Baia Mare 430143, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Baia Mare
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

Everything at Carpati Hotel from Baia Mare was so perfect. I received a great apartment with lot of space comprising two areas, one for sleeping and one for watching tv or desktop working, two bathrooms and one big LCD tv. The restaurant of the hotel surprised me with really traditional dishes and drinks from Romania with local colours which is absolutely remarkable for most of the romanian hotels. You can really spoil yourselves by tasting the authentic romanian food and romanian traditional drinks during your stay at Carpati Hotel.
If I'll be thinking about drafting a short list of the best hotels I've ever visited in Romania Carpati Hotel will surely be part of it. For your own good I'm kindly asking you not to pass by Baia Mare without trying at least once the restaurant if not the entire offer of the hotel. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

It was our second time here. Same good feeling, with a very friendly and helpful staff. This time we got a very large room, which looks like they had removed a wall separating two rooms. So my wife and I had a separate bathroom. Cool.
Free good Wifi in public areas and at least part of the rooms.
When my colleague, wasn't satisfied with his room Wifi strength, they gave him a Cellular stick modem to use for free!
Buffet breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Indeed, as other travelers said, the "professional" photos do not help this hotel...it is much better than in the photos...
Nice staff...they can prepare anything, even though it is not in the menu...
Rooms not to big, not to small, but very very clean.
Definitely number 1 in Baia Mare.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Nice rooms and good restaurant open until late. Staff was helpful, did our check in while we put the bags in our rooms - so we could get to the restaurant before they closed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

The website photo of this hotel really doesn't do it justice. This is a really beautiful hotel. We had been travelling in very bad weather and it was great to arrive here and find it way better than we had expected. It has a massive restaurant and also a lovely semi outdoor cafe. Nice little bar. Lots of English-speaking staff.
Lovely rooms and beautifully furnished. I was so surprised when we found so many English-speaking staff here. They need to get some of them on the booking end of their business. I had to book this hotel using Romanian, because I thought I was being misunderstood when using English. I suppose a phone call would have made it all easier. I doubt if there is a better hotel in all this area. Beautiful views from both sides. However if I were booking again I would ask for a room looking out on the mountains rather than the river. Great hotel and spotless. Bank-o-mat right at front door.

  • Liked — Bright and beautifully furnished. Cafe. WiFi internet access.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike. Perhaps a easier booking.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

I've stayed at this hotel several times for business - and it is an excellent hotel. Rooms are a bit small, but large enough to be comfortable. Best feature is that they are very clean!

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carpati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carpati

Address: Str. Minerva 16, Baia Mare 430143, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Baia Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Baia Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carpati 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carpati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpati Hotel Baia Mare
Hotel Carpati Baia Mare, Maramures County, Romania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carpati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.