We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is away from everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sagada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Inn
Save
You added Rock Inn to your Saves list
Batalao, Sagada, Luzon 2619, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Sagada B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It is away from everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

It was my second time in Sagada but this time my husband tag long with me. I booked at Rock Inn because I thought he would like it there coz looking around the town, this B&B is quite the best already. But he didnt like the isolation. He found it too peaceful. Also didn't like the one car rough road goin to the place. The water heater wasn't giving enough heat. Food was qite expensive. They have this Saturday Buffet for 450+. oh, so not worth it. We just don't want to be out of the hotel in the night time so we had no choice but to eat all our dinner there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our group took our lunch here after our trekking in bomod-ok falls. It's very far from the town proper. Once you are there, you will be isolated from the activities in sagada. We ordered our food. And again, the food in the menu is a standard menu from any restaurants anywhere. No choice at all. The food was also expensive so we decided to order some dishes and later on divide it among us. And as usual in a sagada resto, food will be served an hour or so later. Well, there was a solution so that you will not get bored waiting for your food. For a fee of 50 pesos, you can go orange picking in their back yard. Eat all you can. Just ensure that you eat at least a kilo (around 6-7 pcs) as a kilo of orange is worth 50 pesos. After about an hour of orange picking, we went back to the resto. The food was not yet ready. We waited for at least another 30 minutes and the food was finally served. The food was ok (bulalo with potato), is this how they cook bulalo here? Very funny indeed. My group ordered fried bangus. They served us grilled bangus instead. Ho ho ho.... are they deaf here? We were all hungry, asking the resto to change our order will take another 1-1/2 hours. What in the world happened in sagada.... anyway, i'll have double thoughts coming back here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 5th December 2013. It took a while to find and is quite some distance from the town. It was clear the boss was away as the inn seemed to be run by a few disinterested kids who did not even welcome us and prefered to party amongst themselves and watch tv in the dining room with their even younger progeny. Rooms were poor, dirty and there was NO hot water. We took two of the more expensive rooms so this really wasnt acceptable especially when we had travelled for hours and hours to get there, and the only thing we longed for was a hot shower. The grounds are amazing but the whole experience was let down by the lack of basic courtesy on the part of the staff, however one of the men there made us a fire and took us to town for free to his credit, but this was the only thing resembling customer service we got. The inn really is out of the way, with misleading signs which say its '250 metres' ahead when it was another 1km walk! We were fine with this as we were told there was a free shuttle service which we took on the first evening. However on the second day this all changed and they tried to charge us 200 pesos to go to the town 2km away. We had already paid 350 the night before to get back to the inn at 9pm as there are no formal taxis in the town after dark. It was the final straw so we said we would leave instead and the young woman at reception said fine and really didn't care either way. Not good business sense when we were the only customers there and were going to pay 3500 in total for the next night. I know in british pounds sterling 200 pesos isnt much but when we had paid 500 pesos to travel 7hrs and 180km to sagada by coach you can't help but feel there are principles at stake here when the drive to town takes 5 minutes and is 2km. It is also dangerous to walk back to the inn in the dark as the route is plagued by stray dogs which seem to get vicious when night falls, so you have to take a chance asking favours in the town if you want to get back in the evening and for obvious reasons the locals like to try it on ripping off the tourists. All in all a disappointing experience which really let down the obvious care and attention that had gone into making the grounds spectacular. I think the boss should think twice before letting these kids run the hotel in his absence as they seem to be turning it into a private social club for their friends and babies at the expense of the customers.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The woman who runs this place was so nice to me. I wandered in one day just to check it out and take photos. The landscaping here is incredible! Very beautiful assortment of flowers and plants - many I have never seen in my travels. My photos turned out incredible. I can't wait to come back and stay sometime - perhaps update my review:)

Note: You are very removed from everything going on in Sagada, and the transportation costs will get you. They have a restaurant, but be prepared to pay a bit extra for the experience. Great for couples looking to get away for a long weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're looking for low key, peace and quiet with delicious food and a good location, then the Rock Inn or Rock Farm is for you. Yes, it's low-key - the showers are crude, but functional and the towels are rather thin, so if you want luxury, this place is not for you. If you eat at the property, be sure and have the fresh yogurt. It's amazing and comes with lots of fresh toppings. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is a wonderful firepit for pre-post dinner gatherings. The staff are very accommodating and kind, though their restaurant service was a bit unorganized, the food was good.

Room Tip: Most rooms are with bunk beds - if you need a double bed, be sure and ask for it. The bunks are comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

When we decided to visit this place I kept on complaining at the back of my head because it's a but far. But when we reached this place I was in awe because of the beauty of it and it's history. The owner is really really humble and kind. I will surely recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice little hotel tucked away in the forests of Sagada. Located a few kilometers away from the town proper so it's a little out of the way if you don't have a vehicle. Otherwise very quiet and very nice ambiance for a hotel. Food is also available for those that don't wat to go too far from the hote.l

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Inn

Address: Batalao, Sagada, Luzon 2619, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Sagada
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sagada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Sagada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.