We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe

Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe to your Saves list
Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe
downtown, Dagdag | in front of Youghurt House, Sagada, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Sagada B&B and Inns
Los Banos, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My friend recommended this Inn, I arrived on a peak season, i did not do any reservations prior to my visit, but i was glad 1 room was still available for a night,The inn is located just along the street, i fell in love with this inn because of its homey feel, i believe there were only 3 rooms upstairs that's why it was quiet, they have a sitting area where you can just sit and chill and nobody will bother you. The restroom was clean except for the worn out curtains which has holes, they have a water heater which is good, but there was no water early in the morning like if you want to take a shower or use a toilet around 4 am, and that was not good. The inn is located infront of the famous yoghurt house, so if you will take a nap in the afternoon, you will hear the noise on the street and the noise of people dining at the yoghurt house.

Room Tip: just reserve ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night in March 2012. Our group stayed in the two cottages. Although Perry the owner was very friendly we just couldn’t bear to stay another night after our bathroom being under siege by the largest cockroaches we’d ever seen. The showerhead was just a pipe sticking out of the wall. It is chilly that time of year and we would have enjoyed ourselves much more with a hot shower so we moved to a nearby guesthouse that was the same price (300pp/night) and had a much more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We went to Sagada in March but all the lodges that we wanted to stay were full. We decided to stay at the Yellow House since it's just right across the Yoghurt House and we were very tired. Toilet does not have a flush - and there was a dead cockroach! We told the ladies there about the cockroach but it was still there when we arrived back from our caving trip!!! My husband had to take it out himself! Light was busted in their living room and they wouldn't even change it if we didn't complain. We left the following morning!!!

For 400php/night, it's not really worth it. No wonder this is the only lodge that have all their rooms available. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Friends and I went to Sagada November and we stayed at the Yellow house for two nights. There were 11 of us. The rooms were clean and neat but you have to be creative where to hang your clothes or towel. They have rooms for 2-3 persons and even 1 person. There's shop inside so if you want to buy some souvenir, you don't have to go anywhere else. They also serve food. The staff are nice as well and helpful.

However, we didn't like the bathrooms. One of which has lavatory but no water so you have to get water from the shower area's faucet. The shower area's floor is awful, the water does not go down the drain immediately that you'll find your feet soaked. The other bathroom didn't have hot shower and it was so hard not to have hot shower in a place where you can barely move at night because it was so cold.

Room Tip: This is good for family or group of friends, as big as mine. But make sure to check their bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

i got a small private cabin with bathroom and hot water for about $7usd/night.
the owners brought tea on a nice tray with milk and sugar to the room even as early as 6:30a.
great meals prepared if you ask. directly across street from most popular restaurant - the yogurt house.
roosters start their bellowing about 4:15a, but i found a good pair of earplugs took care of it - in fact, after about 5 days there i grew to kinda like the sound.
yoga class upstairs on M, W, F 7:30a.
it is the owners of this questhouse who make it such an enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe

Address: downtown, Dagdag | in front of Youghurt House, Sagada, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Sagada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sagada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.