We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kinda haunting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chauchilla

Chauchilla
Nazca, Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Nazca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cemetery holds the mummified remains of members of the Nasca culture, dating back between 200 BC and 500 AD.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“kinda haunting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I thought it would be cool to see the nasca cemetery and see some mummies. The site is kinda haunting.... The "mummies" are set up in open air pits- excavated burial tombs and they are just sitting there in the air. there was apparently a lot of grave robbing activity at some point, and you can see bones and remains strewn across the desert... interesting but haunting at the same time. Worth going to see, but its pretty basic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    74
    26
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“very intresting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After going to the museum we decide we would like to go and learn some more,we booked the trip through our hotel which i am glad we did.You can do this trip yourself by booking a taxi , which quite a lot of people did but the just seemed to wander around just looking in the graves where we was explained the history behind the graves. Downside we were taken to two workshops pottery and a gold one which were interesting but always feel awful when i don't buy anything.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Make sure you have a guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Well worth a visit. Very interesting and our guide was very informative. Amazing how intact the mummies are and that there are bones just lying around the area. Glad we went first thing in the morning to avoid the heat and it was great that we had the place to ourselves for the first half hour or so. It really added to the experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of hair and bones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is well worth the trip. You can readily arrange a taxi for about 50-60 soles, saves a visit to the obligatory workshops if you go with a tour. It's a pretty but desolate location. It's clear many many more tombs await excavation. Evening light was lovely. The small museum has two amazing mummies, look for the skin and leg hairs on the male!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Located in the dry, windy desert, this grave-site is a fascinating look into the culture at the time. The well preserved mummies give this place a very eerie feeling. It is sad that this site has been heavily desecrated by grave robbers over the centuries. Make sure you visit this site with a well informed guide.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chauchilla also viewed

Nazca, Ica Region
Nazca, Ica Region
 

Been to Chauchilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chauchilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.