We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nasca Lines

Nasca Lines
Nazca, Peru
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$600*
and up
Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands...
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Nazca
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We got a taxi to the observation tower at Nazca Lines. Entry was 2 soles. After climbing the rather perilous and vertigo-inducing makeshift structure, we were left feeling disappointed. The lines are largely unimpressive and fail to leave you with a great sense of history like other more impressive inca remains - Machu Picchu in mind. You'll have to take the historians' word for it that these are truly 1500 year old geoglyphs. The actual real joy of the trip was experiencing the sheer reclusiveness of the Pan-American highway in the Nazca desert, and the bus journey through dramatic scenery between the two towns of Ica and Nazca - a landscape well worth seeing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    335
    102
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

An amazing experience! The planes are very safe and comfortable! It's a great idea if traveling with a friend, for one to sit on the left hand side of the plane and the other on the right hand side (you get the best pics this way as you get both angles). You usually fly with 4 people. If you experience travel sickness, take a Travel Calm 30 minutes before the flight! Well worth the trip!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We left Lima at 7AM in an SUV for a 4-hour drive to Pisco. We were the only passengers (Feb 24). We took a flight from Pisco in a 12-passenger plane (one seat per window). Although passengers on both sides had a chance to see the various figures, I don't think we flew as low as some of the smaller planes. Consequently, some of the figures were not so easy to find. Luckily I took photos anyway & have located most of the figures when I zoomed in on my digital images. The flight took a total of 1 hour & 50 minutes (45 minutes to the Lines, 20 minutes flying over, 45 minutes to return to Pisco). We had to wait about 1.5 hours for the flight (I think because all planes were in use). We were back in Lima by 6:30 PM. We didn't experience any sick feelings since the plane didn't roll much. There have been accidents with the smaller planes flying out of the town of Nazca, so the flights from Pisco are a bit safer. The Pisco airport is pretty small, but they are in the process of building a new one. So it will probably become one of the major airports for Nazca Line tours, since it's a one-day trip from Lima. Driving provides an opportunity to see a little more of the country from the ground. It was an interesting day trip. But I would have preferred to see the Nazca Lines from a lower altitude or have flown over earlier in the day. The sun was directly overhead, so that made it more difficult to make out the images as well. The Nazca Lines tour was scheduled by Intense Peru, which did a fantastic job of planning our 7-day trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another check off the bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Glad I did it! It was a hot day in March and I was literally soaking wet when I got off the plane. DO NOT eat before the flight.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Aventuras Al Sur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took a flight over the nazca lines which was fun. We felt a little sick on the plane due to turbulence, but it was a fine half hour flight. Finding the right tour group to book this with was difficult. We went around to every tour company in Nazca looking for the best price, with a tour operator that seemed honest and friendly. We finally ended up at Aventuras Al Sur. They offered us the best price out of all the tour companies, without us even having to ask for it. One tour company had quoted us the same price, which they all have in American Dollars. When Aventuras Al Sur converted the price in soles, it was 10 soles cheaper than the other company. We were glad for their honesty. Their hostel also looked very nice. Had we known about it the day before, we would have spent the night there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasca Lines also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Nasca Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nasca Lines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.