We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Food Poisoning!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marcelo

Hotel San Marcelo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel San Marcelo to your Saves list
Hotel San Marcelo
Car. Panam. Sur km. 444, Nazca, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Nazca B&B and Inns
La Paz Department, Bolivia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware Food Poisoning!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel itself is okay and the rooms seemed clean enough, however it's location isn't fantastic as it's in the middle of nowhere.

The main reason for this rating is that the hotel restaurant provided us with our worst dining experience in the whole of Ecuador and Peru. Three members of our group got really bad food poisoning and one of them had to be taken to hospital (they had to have 5 IV drips because they were so ill/dehydrated). While this could be a one off experience I very much doubt it given some of the other TripAdvisor reviews here.

I would recommend eating anywhere else as the food itself was terrible - catch a cab into town to one of the nice restaurants there instead!

It took the staff one and a half hours to serve us canned soup and cold spaghetti with bottled pasta sauce. It is likely that all the dishes were cooked using the same utensils/pan as the vegetarian in our group found pieces of mince in their spaghetti. The service was terrible and they forgot our drink orders. The kitchen here is unable to cope with serving large groups and the restaurant facilities are just an attempt to make a profit (the prices were slightly more expensive than some of the restaurants we'd been to).

It seems the tour operators (G Adventures) have no intention of taking their groups elsewhere so it's up to individuals to avoid this scenario.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanmarcelo, Gerente at Hotel San Marcelo, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por escribir. Somos un hotel que se encuentra a 5 minutos, en auto( o 1.5 km), del centro de la ciudad y a 12 o 15 minutos del aeropuerto, regularmente los pasajeros hacen todas sus actividades incluso pasear por la ciudad (que es muy pequeña, pero acogedora) durante una mañana y muchas veces tienen toda la tarde libre por lo que nosotros les damos facilidades con un late check out, piscina, amplias áreas verdes etc. Por lo que estar alejados a 5 minutos de la ciudad no nos parece estar en el medio de la nada.
Nos gustaría saber que fecha estuvo usted en el hotel, para seguir su caso ya que el hotel tiene para este tipo de casos un sistema de filmación que nos puede ayudar a ver nuestros errores y que personas no están cumpliendo con sus obligaciones. No recibí nunca una queja como la que usted manifiesta ya que despúes de cada comida me acerco a cada grupo a preguntar si todo esta bien, pero en todo caso nos podemos equivocar, demorar u olvidar por lo que ya tomamos las previsiones del caso y hemos optado por contratar mas personal en todas las areas del hotel y capacitarlos para una mejor atención. Tal vez una demora u omisión la haya predispuesto a pensar que se enfermo por lo que comió en nuestro restaurante, pero tengo entendido que ese tipo de grupos se queda mas de 24 horas en Nazca y normalmente cenan la primera noche en el hotel, y el resto de comidas las hacen fuera, por lo que nos parece extraño que no hubiese presentado una queja en la noche siguiente cuando se retiraba del hotel, tenga en cuenta que esa noche usted viajaba seguramente a Arequipa (pasaba de una ciudad de 400 mts de altitud a otra de 2500 mts) segundo no usamos enlatados y las salsas de nuestros fideos la hacemos nosotros mismos, de todas maneras ya revisamos todos nuestros procedimientos. En Nazca usted podrá encontrar comida desde US$ 2.00 hasta US$ 25.00 el plato. En nuestra oferta tenemos desde Hamburguesas de US$ 3.50, fideos desde US$6.50, y el plato mas caro no pasa de los US$ 12.00 esta información es facilmente verificable, En todo caso su opinión nos importa, y nos ayuda a mejorar y ya tomamos las acciones del caso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Although it looks okay from the outside, this place left much to be desired. It already has the location working against it; although it is a 5 minute drive to town, it feels much more remote, so much so I didn't actually venture to the town of Nazca. The wifi worked okay for us as we were staying on the ground floor. Be warned, we were here as part of G-Adventures tour and several of our tour group fell ill from eating dinner at the restaurant and possibly breakfast as well. We suspect that the food safety and hygiene/handling here was lacking. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanmarcelo, Gerente at Hotel San Marcelo, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por escribir. Como explique antes estar a 5 minutos en coche no nos parece tan remoto o lo trataremos de suplirlo dandoles mas opciones de entretenimiento dentro de nuestras instalaciones (aparte de la piscina, bar, WiFi, amplias areas verdes y la posibilidad de mantener su habitación hasta muy tarde si su bus parte por la noche) Nos gustaría saber la fecha de su ingreso para poder saber que paso con su alimentación. Le pedimos las disculpas del caso y sepa usted que ya tomamos medidas correctivas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel is fine. Room was good, grounds are really pretty. Biggest complaint is we had a lot of issues with the wifi, they kept having to reset it and then it worked for most people, but for me it literally only worked if i stood in one exact spot (which of course was a random spot in the middle of a hallway...)
The restaurant was pretty basic, prices were a bit higher than they kind of should be but food was fine and pretty quick if you wanted food.
Breakfast was included (typical Peruvian breakfast - tea and bread)
There was always someone at reception when I needed them, yet other reviews have said this is not true.
Location is not near anything. There is a main town area somewhere, I do not know where it is... Obviously most of the reason to go to Nazca and see the lines. You will not be able to get there easily from the hotel, you will have to arrange for a taxi to come (reception can help) and take you where you need to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I felt itchy so had to wear long sleeves and pants in bed.
No hot water
TV did not work
Usually no one in reception
WiFi worked for me but not all my group could get it
Swimming pool looked nice. Didn't use it though as It's winter and to cold to swim

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After reading the reviews below I was dreading staying at this hotel as part of a Tucan tour. However since the moment of arrival I was pleasantly surprised and it became the second best hotel during our full tour.

We stayed in room 213 on the second floor. It was clean and spacious - no bugs in sight. We also had hot water for our shower and the best night sleep all holiday.

The gardens are pretty and yes, I agree that the place is a little tired and don't expect to use the pool due to flies. However it was nowhere near deserving a 1 or 2 rating IMHO.

What particularly impressed me was how breakfast was laid out - all fresh and well covered.

The staff were also quite friendly.

The location is a little out in the wild and woollies so eat in Nazca and go back when it's ready for bed!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here one night on G Adventures tour of Peru. No hot water ever, there was a TV in the room but no picture at all, rubbish restaurant, no one ever in reception. Told the staff that the bed side lamp didn't work but they took no notice, same response about the lack of hot water. Needs a new owner and G Adventures should stop using the place. Swimming pool was ok and surprisingly so was the wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Before I start this I just want to say that I am not a stranger to bugs, I camp a lot and am more than happy to deal with spiders and the like....however I think I saw more insect life in the two rooms we had here than on the whole of our tour of Peru (and any camping trips I can remember).

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our Gadventures tour. We arrived in the dark, drove into the middle of nowhere, down a dirt track and onto what looked like a farm. The hotel has a large, open dining area with rooms on two levels surrounding a central courtyard.

We were one of the few pairs to be given a ground floor room and I think that's why we had a bit more of a bug problem than anyone else we were travelling with. The first room we were given contained grasshoppers, mosquitoes and cockroaches. My friend went to the front desk and asked for another room, initially they just offered us a plug-in insect repellent but after some persistence told us there was nothing on the 1st floor but agreed to move us to another ground floor room. This still had a couple of bugs and a cockroach in the bathroom but at this point we were too tired to do anything about it.

The room was big but basic, with the floor painted in that hard wearing, dark red paint you see in garages. Nearly all of the plug sockets were hanging off the walls and the TV was precariously attached to the wall on a dodgy looking bracket. The bathroom was also big but didn't look particularly clean.

The dinner and breakfast wasn't great and there was a pool but it was completely bug infested when we saw it. Your also quite a way out from Nazca town so wouldn't be able to walk in on a night for dinner.

We stayed in a lot of B&Bs and hostels during our tour but this place was definitely the worst - I think Gadventures need to explore other options for this night on the trip!

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the 1st floor to avoid the visiting bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Marcelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marcelo

Address: Car. Panam. Sur km. 444, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nazca
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Marcelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Marcelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.