We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Dunas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Dunas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. La Angostura 400, Ica, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boyds, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great place to stay with young kids! The hotel was perfect for us, easy check-in and check-out, very secure for kids to run around without supervision,games, shows, great swimming pools, quiet and clean rooms, different choices of food. The service everywhere was excellent, and the weather.....one of the best!!!
I would definitely recommende this place for vacacion to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us through Trip Advisor.
We are a family - oriented hotel and our priority is the kids fun in a safety enviroment.

We hope you choose our hotel in your next trip.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Las Dunas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    185
    57
    12
    6
See reviews for
232
86
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brindisi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Best thing they have is restaurant, meals are delicious, Very high service. Then the swimming pool is great, they have games to be rent, they have bikes, tennistable, tennis and basket courts. They have beatiful patio between rooms. Then the rooms are huge, we had one facing to an artificial lake. Then they have llamas, guacamayas and a wonderful dune inside they property. How can be better?

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Las Dunas. Your comments are very valuable for us.

We hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Las Dunas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is in a mini secure complex on the edge of Ica with beautiful grounds that reach right up to the edge of the dessert. In fact, it feels a bit like a mini desert village with most of the rooms in a winding low-rise maze of white buildings, separate from the main reception area, restaurants, bars and pools. There's plenty to do, especially for families. There are several swimming pools, children's play areas, an attractive shady bar, a big buffet restaurant and the hotel also arranges lots of little trips. For example, you can go horse riding, or take a buggy ride into the surrounding sand dunes - this is not for the faint-hearted.

The rooms are spacious and clean, although not quite as luxurious as I would have expected for the price. At about 480 soles per night at the weekend without any meals, it was definitely overpriced. However, there are lower rates during the week and special packages available. I also slept well here, enjoyed the facilities and loved the terrace outside my room, with a view over the grounds, where there were llamas munching on grass and horses grazing under shady trees, with the towering sand dunes in the background.

There are also games and competitions for children, which is great for families. However, if you don't have kids, this can be a problem, as you've got to listen to loud pop music and the organisers' shouts coming from a large sound system. Trying to enjoy morning coffee in this beautiful place with this din going on in the background was the low point of my stay here. However, later in the day, when it had quietened down, it was both relaxing and fun.

If you've got kids, you can't go far wrong with this place. I was here with my extended family and we had three young kids with us who loved the place. For that reason, it gets four stars. Had I gone by myself or just with my wife, I'd probably have given it a three.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Las Dunas Hotel on your last trip and sharing your comments through the Trip Advisor.

We liked to know that you enjoy our facilities, specially our gardens.

We have shared your suggestions with our entertaiment manager to improve our services and keep the noice down a Llittle lower.

We thank you again for your feedback and we hope you to choose the hotel in a new opportunity.

Sinceraly,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed for one night at Las Dunas and it was a great experience. At the beginning I was a little lost because the rooms were not ready but my friend and I went to the pool, had lunch and took the sand boarding tour while waiting for the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Las Dunas Hotel on your last visit to Ica.

We are glad to know that you enjoy our facilities and the dunebuggy tour.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon.

Sinceraly,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed as part of the Exodus Essential Peru Tour - this was the best hotel of the tour! The rooms are very big and comfortable. The facilities are great and they had bars and a restaurant surrounding the pool areas which also had an amazing view of the biggest sand dunes in the world. They had a very reasonably priced buffet at dinner which we enjoyed, and the food on the 'a la carte' menu looked equally as good. The breakfast buffet was also very good and plenty of variety on offer. I would definitely recommend this resort as a place to relax and have fun and was happy that Exodus booked such a nice resort as part of our tour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milagros H, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for your important comments and recommendation about Las Dunas Hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

We will be waiting for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Milagros Heredia
Sales and Marketing Manager
Las Dunas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night as part of my tour around Peru. I found this hotel to be ideal. I went in the pool as soon as I got there, which was very refreshing and had fun on the slide.

The room I was in was large and had an impressive bathroom, with a lovely hot shower and 2 sinks.

Food in the restaurant was great, it was my second day in Peru and I opted to have Alpaca. This was lovely and breakfast the next day was also excellent, a large choice of foods and various juices.

I heard that there is a small alpaca garden in the grounds but missed this; I would have loved to see them. The only problem is noise during the night, I could hear noises but it didn’t stop me from sleeping well. I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Ica.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very important for us.

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, California, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, and enjoyed our rooms (overly firm beds but otherwise nice). The grounds are incredible, and very peaceful when the music from the pool area isn't overwhelmingly loud, which it was for at least 5 hours in the afternoon. We were not impressed with the breakfast (runny eggs, fruit, cold deli meat, and croissants). The restaurant was ok, and of the 3 dinners I had while there, only one night was amazingly good - I recommend the Pecan Chicken stuffed with asparagus. Family friendly, but sound carries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Las Dunas Hotel on your last trip.

We received your comments and we are glad to know that you like our garden.

We have shared your suggestions with our executive chef and our entertaiment manager to improve our services.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Address: Av. La Angostura 400, Ica, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Dunas Hotel is found 300 Km South from Lima, an oasis in the heart of the desert, where the sun shines all year long over its gardens, lagoons and impressive sand dunes that gave them its name.Located in the Valley of Ica, between the mysterious Nazca Lines and the Paracas National Reserve; as well as the beauriful vineyards that originated the renown Peruvian wines and Piscos, Las Dunas Hotel will be your destination but at the same time the starting point of an adventure, relax and leisure trip.Rooms: We have 130 rooms, doubles, triples, quadruples, suites and family chalet, for a total of 420 guests. Rooms are fully equipped with air conditioning, LCD, cable TV, minibars, direct telephone lines, balcony, terrace, restrooms with a bathtub, blow-dryer, safety box and WiFi.Restaurants and Bars: The hotel offers an exquisite selection of dishes from Peruvian and International cuisine, where you will have a unique flavor experience. In our bars you can enjoy traditional Pisco Sour and a variety of cocktails prepared with our renowned pisco.Services ands Facilities: Restaurants, Bars, Conference rooms, Business center, Swimming pools, Spa, Gymnasium, 24 hour room service, Laundry, Karaoke, Souvenir shop, Planetarium, Paintball, Sports areas, sandboard, Dune buggies, Bycicle track, horse rides, Climbing wall, Dunas castle kids.Events and conventions: Las Dunas hotel: the greatest infrastructure and the best team at your service to reach your company's goals.Our spacious conference rooms are fully equipped with the latest technology, comfortable rooms, gastronomy and wide green and leisure areas for every type of event.Las Dunas Hotel is the ideal place to perform interaction and integration activities, in addition to our animation team's contribution in diverse environments ideas for relaxing, recreation and creativity, making your event a real success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Dunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.