We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Dunas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Dunas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. La Angostura 400, Ica, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ica
Oakville Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I found a quite place, standard room, tennis court that needs maintanance, swimming pool very well kept, food was Ok, service was Ok, it is a family resort, excellent sunny days during the day, has a place to dance, but need a better DJ

Room Tip: facing the golf area, top floor away from swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you had a good expierence in our hotel and hope you come back to visit us soon.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    162
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
184
77
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel calls itself a spa and resort but the rooms are anything but spalike. I expected nice amenities in the room but found only shampoo and a bathtub full of ants. No robe or slippers nothing to make me feel like I was pampered. Our friends woke one morning to a snake in the bathroom! The food at the one and only place to eat was great can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us through Trip Advisor.

We are sorry you didn't like our in rooms amenities, our apoligies for any inconveniences this might cause.

It is the first time in 12 years that a guest reported a snake in our facilities. In this part of the country there is enough wind and some insects can enter the room that way from or from our gardens. We are working to prevent this from happemimg.

Sincerily,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Hotel las DUnas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voss Municipality, Norway
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights and found it to be a very nice place to relax. There three swimming pools, and even if the hotel were crowded there were enough space for everybody. The breakfast was very good, so was the restaurant. Ok place for families, with a lot of animals in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us throught Trip Advisor.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Hotel las Dunas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

In my view the hotel is not suitable for business travellers and I would also not recommend it for couples without children. If you don't care about the noise, and you have children, then this maybe an option. Food in general is decent, but too expensive for what you get and the quality good be better. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms and other areas are more or less clean, but with room for improvements. Facilities for business travellers are basic. Too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away as possible from the swimming pool and other central areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will definitely visit many business people and tourism, thanks to our location and services.
We regret that our hotel was not to your liking for business.

We hope you can come visit your family vacation.

Sincerely

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Traveled to Ica for the first time for a conference. This was a well organized event and the Resort was well prepared to receive and cater to a large group. Food and beverage service was good and agile; no long waits either for food or bar.

Rooms are a little dated but kept in OK shape. Grounds are kept very well and staff was helpful at all stages. Wifi could be spotty at times, but generally available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasdunashotel, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments about our hotel, they help us to give you a better service.
We hope you could return as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Milagros Heredia S.
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Las Dunas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Noisy place due to construction works near the swimming pool.
Staff also makes a lot of noise near our room.
Low privacy in some rooms on the ground floor.
The breakfast and restaurant are good.
Quite costly for what offers.

Room Tip: Low privacy in some rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasdunashotel, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments, they help us to give you a better service.

At the moment we are working in a new bar near the pool. We are very sorry that you have felt uncomfortable in spite of all the arrangements we made in order to have no noise.

We are very concerned about the noise near the room, we are going to review that.
Sincerely,

Milagros Heredia S.
Gerente de Ventas y Marketing
Hotel Las Dunas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

this is my 2nd best hotel in all ica province but if i was to choose only in ica? then this hotel las dunas is my first best since girlie years..its so excellent..the location just very few minutes to walk bus transportation or take randomly taxi to go ica downtown or historic huacachina lol i still have fresh memories of my old times with family..im so happy this hotel survived the earthquake..not only has magnificent pool its also has lagoon hmm its has everything to feel like a royal pleasure because its has patio for landing helicopter..not to mention to ride in horse towards the dunes lol well its fun and adventurous..you can stay at hotel to enjoy after the exhausting touristic tour around ica..im still the frequent guest to this hotel when i stop in ica i will definitely visit this hotel again..its so comfortable for family travelers like me..that way i can protect my elderly parents knowing my parents are enjoying and loving the vacation....i remember in my girlie years i used to get lost due the big fun to play but i always was cared and respected so im happy and definitely visit this hotel very soon in near future..visit this hotel and you will not regret it lol

Room Tip: if you love about scenic view..i suggest the lagoon view room because at night its so wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share tour comments with us througt Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Address: Av. La Angostura 400, Ica, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Dunas Hotel is found 300 Km South from Lima, an oasis in the heart of the desert, where the sun shines all year long over its gardens, lagoons and impressive sand dunes that gave them its name.Located in the Valley of Ica, between the mysterious Nazca Lines and the Paracas National Reserve; as well as the beauriful vineyards that originated the renown Peruvian wines and Piscos, Las Dunas Hotel will be your destination but at the same time the starting point of an adventure, relax and leisure trip.Rooms: We have 130 rooms, doubles, triples, quadruples, suites and family chalet, for a total of 420 guests. Rooms are fully equipped with air conditioning, LCD, cable TV, minibars, direct telephone lines, balcony, terrace, restrooms with a bathtub, blow-dryer, safety box and WiFi.Restaurants and Bars: The hotel offers an exquisite selection of dishes from Peruvian and International cuisine, where you will have a unique flavor experience. In our bars you can enjoy traditional Pisco Sour and a variety of cocktails prepared with our renowned pisco.Services ands Facilities: Restaurants, Bars, Conference rooms, Business center, Swimming pools, Spa, Gymnasium, 24 hour room service, Laundry, Karaoke, Souvenir shop, Planetarium, Paintball, Sports areas, sandboard, Dune buggies, Bycicle track, horse rides, Climbing wall, Dunas castle kids.Events and conventions: Las Dunas hotel: the greatest infrastructure and the best team at your service to reach your company's goals.Our spacious conference rooms are fully equipped with the latest technology, comfortable rooms, gastronomy and wide green and leisure areas for every type of event.Las Dunas Hotel is the ideal place to perform interaction and integration activities, in addition to our animation team's contribution in diverse environments ideas for relaxing, recreation and creativity, making your event a real success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Dunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.