We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel to your Saves list
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We booked into the Sumaq hotel after reading the many rave reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was clean and tidy, our room was large, and the dinner included in our rates was good. However we did not experience the excellent service that many other reviewers spoke of. The staff were friendly, but did not go out of their way for us. Perhaps this was because we arrived with our guide, who looked after things where the staff may have otherwise. The hotel was also very large. We would have preferred something more 'boutique' and intimate. For us it didnt make for the unique experience that we were looking for, but for many I am sure that it would be just fine, as you will see from the other reviews!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    196
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
222
526
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

After seeing the beauty of Machu Picchu by day, the Sumaq was an elegant respite from the heat and crowds. The chocolates, meals and steam sauna were wonderful. The steam sauna was a relaxing healing experience after getting a cold from the pollution in Lima. Its a 'must-do' for overall peace of mind & relaxation. We will definitley return!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night as part of a Globus tour. The location of the hotel was a 5 minute walk from the shops and bus stop, maybe 10 minutes to the markets and train station. The hotel is the last one on the road to Machu Piccu and is located along the river.

Our room was average to small with one queen bed. We had a large balcony that overlooked the road and river. The sliding door to the balcony didn't really shut, so we constantly heard the river (which some people may enjoy) and buses once they started in the morning. Some of our tour group had rooms on the other side of the hotel that faced a wall or train tracks and were up all night because of the trains.
the bathroom was of average size. The shower was nice and washcloths were provided. There was a hair dyer in the bathroom. The counter space near the sink was limited. Two free bottles of water are provided in the room each day.

We had dinner, breakfast , and lunch at the hotel compliments of our tour. Dinner service was slow, about an hour and a half to two hours for appetizer, main course and dessert. Lunch took about an hour. The food was beautifully presented, but lacked taste. The breakfast buffet was on the small side, but had hot and cold choices.

There was a large bar and sitting area on 3rd floor. There were also two computer (only one was working) with free internet. There was supposed to be free wireless, but we could never connect.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This Hotel is wonderful ! Service is what it is all about. Started with being met at the train station by a porter. He took care of my bag so I could go directly to Machu Picchu. After a very enjoyable day of climbing, it was great to check into this hotel. My bag was waiting for me in my room. Room was most comfortable with all amenities and a great view of the river and of course the mountains. Treated myself to a spa treatment. Best massage ever. Dinner is included at this hotel and it was really special. Dining room service is 5 star. Food was delicious with good choices. Andean flute band for entertainment. Didn't think I would be hungry enough for breakfast the next morning, but I'm glad I was - Excellent fresh juices, homemade yougurt which more like a smoothie and everything else you could want. Checked out and left my bag. There is a nice walk which will take you to the Machu Picchu museum which is well worth it. Porter met me at the train station with bag. I cannot think of any suggestions to improve this Hotel. My only regret was that I only spent one night there. I am a travel agent in San Francisco and I will happily and confidently recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate after a hike on Machu Picchu. I was there with my husband and a friend and they accommodated us perfectly with a 3-bed suite. It was more expensive than other options, but included dinner and breakfast and a "cooking" lesson (pisco sour and ceviche). The room was huge, the service was impeccable, and the location is just about as good as you can get if you're not actually at Machu Picchu in the Sanctuary (and is significantly less expensive). We booked thinking it was a splurge and left feeling like we'd gotten good value!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

The day we were to tour Machu Picchu it was pouring rain. The staff went into town and purchased poncho's for the 4 of us and arranged for the bus to pick us up in front of the hotel. When we returned we were tired and asked for an early dinner which was immediately taken care of. They provided a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We recently stayed at the Sumaq hotel, Aguas Calientes after a long hike up the Inca Trail and an awe inspiring visit to Machu Picchu. The hotel is the first one that you will get to coming down from Machu Picchu. The hotel is lovely, with nice size rooms, a welcoming Pisco Sour gratis and a delicious dinner that should be included with your room rate. The showers are amazing and ask for a view of the Urubamba River.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes Train Station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails.•Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru.•Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs.•Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities.•Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.