We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel to your Saves list
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Westlake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Just got back from 8 days in Peru. The Sumaq was my favorite hotel. The food, service, hospitality, room, view, and cleanliness were top notch.
What I liked:
You are greeted with a glass of freshly squeezed juice when checking in.
There are many perks: afternoon deserts, teas, pisco sours...
All the rooms open to fabulous views of the river
Clean, clean, clean!
all updated (new hotel) technology
it is modern yet still feels authentic
one of the best dinner I've ever eaten
the bus to Machu Picchu can pick you up & drop you off infront of the hotel

What I didn't like:
The Spa prices are ridiculously high

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    196
    47
    18
    4
See reviews for
220
523
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ashleymartabano
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

The Sumaq was a perfect refuge from a hectic amount of travel, and the perfect place to spend the night before our 5am trek up to machu picchu. The staff was incredibly accommodating, the food fantastic, and the rooms very nice. My only complaint is that I wish we could stay longer. Amazing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Just spent a night at the Sumaq Hotel on our 2 day trip to Machu Picchu...not cheap at US$585 a night but a worthwhile treat. Amazing service, superb food, a stunning room overlooking the Urubamba River and a perfect location for a visit to Machu Picchu. Take a 20 minute walk down the road to the Botanical Gardens, and don't forget to visit the Hot Springs on the other side of the town.... a great in haven of relaxation for only $5.00 in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We spent one night at the Sumaq during a Lima / Cuzco / Machu Picchu trip. This was my favorite of the three hotels used. The location was incredible, the staff wonderful, and the food excellent. The meals were included in our package, so I thought they would be simple dishes. It was the best meal in the 8 days we spent in Peru. The staff met us at the train and transferred our bags to the hotel. They also arranged for the bus to pick us up at the hotel the morning we visited MP. After we checked out, we visted MP and the hotel stored our bags, then transferred them back to the station for us. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Fabulous hotel - a little pricy, but treat yourself!

Staff will bend over backwards to assist you. If you have a ticket to M.P. they will reserve you a spot on the bus and ensure it stops to pick you up before heading on up to M.P. This is an amazing service because you don't have to stand out in the cold and wet to wait in the line to get on the sunrise busses. Just walk out your hotel door!!!

Breakfasts and dinners were included and were delicious and beautifully presented.

The rooms were stunningly beautiful and overlooked the river - try to get a room on the 3rd floor for the best view. Vast range of pillows and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is nicely appointed and they even have loofas to use under the big square showerhead - delightful after a long hot day at M.P.

The walk into town is easy and pleasant along the river and downtown is very close.

Free internet, tea, coffee & treats. Free fruit drink and pisco sour on check-in!

The only problem with security is that there did not seem to be a way to lock the balcony doors. However, the problem is easily solved as if you put the two armchair legs in the door frame as wedges, there is no way anyone could enter from the balcony.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat and feel privileged to do so.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

The Management and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is exactly as shown and described in pictures. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and .nicely decorated. It had all the amenities and the extras that we needed. The view was spectular overlooking the Enchanting Urubamba River and surrounded by Majestic Mountains.
Our dinner was very enjoyable,(Muy Bueno) the chef's presentation was awesome.
I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for luxury, comfort. and delicious food.
This was one of the best trips that we have ever been on. We would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We found it very comfortable, the staff was very friendly, nice and above all extremely helpful. We went to Maccu-Picchu for a family vacation and out all the hotels available Sumaq was definetely the best option. We definetely hope to return and enjoy the river, Macchu-Picchu and Wayna-Picchu.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes Train Station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails.•Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru.•Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs.•Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities.•Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.