We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel to your Saves list
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

For a good advice, there is really no need to sleep in MPicchu, the early train at 6:50 and a late afternoon return will more that do it. Other that that, Aguas Calientes is horrible...but if you can't resist don't do it at Sumaq.
The cost is absurd for a very average hotel. Rooms are clean but simple. Faces the river in a very noisy part, so if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs with you. Service tries really hard to be nice but is confused and lacks flexibility. The night I spent, there were only three rooms in the hotel, two of them with me, I imagine due to a transport strike in Cusco, but still, went to dinner (included), good food but the maitre looked like a robot. I asked him to switch the free pisco sour for a glass of wine...same price...and no chance. Ended up buying a bottle of wine which cost was 3 times more than the one I had seen minutes ago in a local shop !
Next day left early to climb MPicchu through the stairs...trainning for my next year Inca Trail, left the bags to pick them up before the train. On my way back, had to stop by the front desk because in the morning the credit card machine wasn't working to pay the famous wine...and asked for a bottle of water....guess what 10 soles ! 5 times more than a local shop. Also had nobody to take my bag to the station..had to carry myself...aaafff never more, this Hotel is in my worse top 3 ever.

Room Tip: noise everywhere, take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
First of all I would like to thank the time you have taken to leave your comments on Tripadvisor website, it is very important for us to know the opinion of our guests, this allows us to identify our strengths and work on our weaknesses to achieve continuous improvement in our services.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have suffered during your stay with us and I am deeply sorry that the service we delivered was not according to your needs, sincerely I understand your frustration and I will address this matter to the leaders so incidents like these do not happen again.

I appreciate your feedback, I hope in time you can stay again with us so that we can reverse the negative perception we left on you.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    196
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
222
526
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel was delightful. They have a person meeting the trains to collect your luggage and transport it to the hotel. You can then continue on directly to M.P. without stopping to check in. Reception is welcoming, with a drink and some cake. The bus to Aguas Calientes will stop at the hotel if you ask. And the hotel will arrange for the bus to pick you up in the morning - just buy bus tickets for the following day. Rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious. Dinner (included in our rate) offered a nice range of choices, including vegetarian options. Breakfast buffet offered a wide range of choices. Excellent service overall.

Room Tip: We were just happy to get a room. Ours overlooked the river and street on a low floor but was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

After a long trip from Cusco, we were just very happy to find a very nice hotel in Aguas Calientes! We had a very spacious room, with a river and mountain view. The dinner was included and we had a light dinner, and went to bed early as we had to leave early morning for Macchu Picchu. Excellent , generous breakfast, good coffee too. The staff are very imposing in a positive way, and the internet worked very well. It was a pleasant hotel in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Adelaida

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate your review on our services and meals.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice size rooms, very clean and comfortable. Had a small plate of biscuits and cakes in our room on our arrival. Had room looking out to the river and mountains and it was beautiful to stand on the balcony and gaze at the view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. One member of our party was sick and we were able to have a late checkout the next day.We had half board and the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent. It was our son's birthday and the staff surprised him with a cake and they all sang happy birthday. Staff met us at the train and carried our luggage and then carried it back when we left.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

very nice hotel in the sacred valley, close to machu pichu.staff friendly and helpful. our room included breakfast and half board. food very good, loved the alpacha, delious! breakfast buffet, just ask for omelette or fried eggs. Price a bit high, but cheaper than sanctuary lodge...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really apprecite your review about our services and staff

We are happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were four couples touring together in late November 2013 and spent a night in this hotel. Contrary to a recent review ("A satisfactory hotel"), we had a great stay here right from the welcoming reception onwards. Staff collected our luggage from the train station and delivered it back on our return.

The food at both dinner and breakfast was superb - good choices at dinner (I had the alpaca). We had a leisurely breakfast waiting for the clouds to break. Special birthday dish for one of group which was shared around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about our Property. We are very grateful for your nice review towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were disappointed in the quality of the hotel. The rooms were OK but dated and the overall standard would be more live a 3 star hotel in terms of décor, bed comfort, bedding, bathroom fixtures etc. in short, it is time for the Sumaq to invest in a serious top-to-bottom renovation. The restaurant was weak but OK. The staff were terrific and it was very nice to be able to book a seat on the bus to Machu Picchu. The situation of the hotel along the river is lovely and the rooms were reasonably sound proofed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
thank you very much for giving us your feedback about our property. As you can see right now we are are currently remodeling our hotel to improve some aspects that we need. hopefully is almost done and you will tell the difference when has done.
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes Train Station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails.•Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru.•Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs.•Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities.•Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.