We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel to your Saves list
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
San Jacinto, California
1 review
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a wonderful experience, from the staff to the tour guide which lead us around Machu Pichu for 4 hours. Our tour guide had his B.S. in history of the Inca people, what a wonderful day full of history and beauty. We stayed one night in a beautiful suite, and then the hotel arranged for us to get tickets to hike the STAIRS OF DEATH or Wana Pichu, what a beautiful hike, we worried about nothing because the hotel staff was very attentive and wonderful. Spend the money and stay at the best place in town... a romantic beautiful place...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for experiencing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!

We are very happy to know that your stay in Sumaq was empty of care by our friendly team.

Without question, Wayna Picchu is a unique experience! You will never forget your trip in the heart of the inca´s culture.

We look forward to hosting you in the next future.

Best regards,

E- commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    197
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
224
527
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearmont, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a wonderfully welcoming place this hotel is. It surrounds you with beauty from within and without. Look out any window to see clouds and forest and mountains and streams. Look around you in the lobby or dinning room or bar and you see the artistry of the Inca and Peruvian culture. The rooms are also beautiful and perfectly maintained.
Then, of course, there is the food. Just the best.
If you have the opportunity to stay at the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel, you are one lucky person.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!

We are very glad for your high appreciation!

It is exciting to read your comment and see that you did enjoy your experience in our hotel.

As your description, we designed Sumaq with the proposed to bring a cultural atmosphere where our guest can feel the Andean culture inside or outside of the hotel.

Our culinary proposal is also one of our best dedications, we buy the best imputs, the dishes are made trough an exclusive research and the results are the exquisite flavors.

Sure hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,

E-commerce Sumaq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived on the 9:00 am train and were met by hotel staff who took out luggage to the hotel. Our guide met us a well and took us immediately on our tour of Macchu Picchu. After finishing and returning to the hotel, we were met with warm towels to freshen up while they checked us in. We were also given fresh squeezed oj and homemade chips. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. We tried 4 different entrees and all were fantastic.. as were the desserts. Our wait staff led by Hermidario were wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Try the Pisco Sours (Guido makes excellent Pisco cocktails). Also recommend the Cerviche (appetizer on the dinner menu- dinner is included in the hotel fee). Ask about the Pisco Sour and Cerbiche class- free of charge. River view was spectacular, our room could have used new rugs, but no big deal. Front desk is extremely helpful. Restaurant staff was fantastic.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel and share your experience with us

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Myself and my husband started out honeymoon here and what a great place to start. When we got off the train they were the waiting for us, took our bags and walked us down to the hotel. It is only two minutes away.

When we arrived first we were brought to a room junior sweet, which was not the room that's we had booked. We had been upgraded when booking to a sumaq sweet, we brought our bags down and explained that Jorge had upgraded our room, they got the room ready within an hour which was great. The room was far superior, huge comfortable bed and an amazing bathroom, we we looking over the river, then view is breath taking. I thought that as they knew that it was our honeymoon they would do a little something special but that was not done, we were spoilt on the train though!!

We had dinner that night, which was delicious, lamb shank, was very tasty! Food in the hotel is very good, breakfast has everything you would

We organized the tour to Matchu picchu through the hotel, the guide was so lovely, told us great facts. It lasts around three hours and then you are left to adventure around. It is pricey though, $170 per person.

We stayed here two nights, I would advise one night as there is not much else to do here. You arrive at around 12pm if going by train, so you have loads of time to look around and do the tour early, 6am, leave at 5.30am, you will be done by 12 and the train back is at 3pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, the train goes behind so can be loud at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. Thank you for your comments on our food. We are very happy you enjoyed it. also we really appreciate that you pick us for your honeymoon.
Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights when doing Machu Pichu. Rooms are a good size, attractively furnished, CLEAN and the beds are comfy.
The food in the restaurant is tops and whilst not the cheapest in town, I would say its the best quality and value. My stepson had a birthday and the hotel served us a gratis cake which was large enough to share with all the wait staff (who incidentally were very friendly). Drinks from the bar will do your wallet some damage, but to much alcohol at altitude is not a good idea so no problems : >)
The hotel is the last on the road to Machu Pichu so away from the hustle and bustle of town, but the bus stops at the door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise , the town is pretty disappointing, They transported our luggage from the train station and we were guided by foot to the hotel a short walk away. We stayed one night on the river side which I recommend. Clean well appointed rooms, food in the dining room , better than expected with a nice breakfast buffet. The restaurants in town or pretty poor, you are better off eating at the hotel. Also at the end of the next day after we visited MP, they met us at the train station with our luggage, very convenient.

Room Tip: Stay River side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
thank you very much for give us a very nice review about our meals. We really appreciate your words on our food. you can also make our first review at our Restaurant profile Qunuq and be the first on www.tripadvisor.com
thank you for your advice about our river view room.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes Train Station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails.•Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru.•Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs.•Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities.•Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.