We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel to your Saves list
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located not too far from the train station and buses leaving for Machu Picchu. The staff is competent and most helpful. The room has everything that is needed but nothing special. The dining room offers a good variety of food for dinner. The breakfast buffet was not as elaborate as other places we visited during this trip. We would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    196
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
223
526
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The room was spotlessly clean, good beds. Dinner was good and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and not a bad selection. Staff allowed us to use their binoculars to see a bear (rare sighting) on the opposite side of the river. Found the shower difficult to use. Try to get a room on the river side as the trains are very noisy and wake you up. I believe the even number rooms are the river side and the odd are the train side. The room was hot, and we did not want to open the window as there were numerous bugs around waiting to fly into your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us a nice review. We are very happy for share your experience about the bear sometimes the bears walk by the river and you were very lucky to see them.
thanks again and we are happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel
really hope to have the chance to host you again in time

best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

When you get off the train in Aguas Calientes you are not struck with the overall appearance of the town ( with the exception on the amazing setting) a member of the staff meets you and takes your luggage then you are walked down the dirt road to the hotel along the river. Great greeting, pleasant orientation before being shown to your room. We overlooked the raging river. Room was very nice, amenities quite nice, very comfortable bed, did not hear other "hotel" noise.

The amazing part of this place is the restaurant. Our reservation included breakfast and dinner. We were not disappointed. The food was 1st class and the presentation was lovely, each plate delicious, arranged like artwork and served as in a starred Michelin restaurant.

My only complaint is the lack of screens on the doors. We were not able to get fresh air without inviting mosquitos.

We are mature (not old!) world travelers with experience traveling at all levels from camping to exclusive resorts. This rates right up there. We also enjoyed Aguas Calientes - very eclectic - and of course the star is Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: No swimming pool. Didn't use the spa. We liked our room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Sumaq Hotel was a surprise even though we had checked the reviews. The rooms were spacious and clean and had all amenities and the service was top class. They provided a baggage service from the train station and to fill in time while waiting for the train, a cooking class. We were also able to use their lounge while waiting for the train. Overall an excellent experience

Room Tip: Ask for a river view as the back rooms have a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. The location is excellent and we really liked the convenience of being able to hop on and off the bus to Machu Picchu right outside the front door of the hotel. Just let them know at the front desk what time you want to leave, and they will arrange for the bus to stop. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable The view from the balcony is enjoyable . Service was suburb and meals were excellent. One nice touch that we appreciated is that a representative from the hotel met our train and helped us with our luggage.

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms are in a good location, facing the river across the street. However, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services. you have discribed all our services and room as we do every day. thank you for share your experience with us
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spend as little time in the town of Aguas Calientes as possible. Restaurants are generally poor. The sole purpose of the city is to relieve tourists of their money. As for the sumaq Hotel as least they attempt to deliver value for the money. Though they are expensive they do offer good value for this city. Rooms are clean, restaurant is good. Welcome drink could be a bit larger!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback. We really apreciate you review about Aguas Calientes and basically Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel,
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent hotel, from the arrival to the departure to train station it was the best hotel experience. According to photos and reviews I really recommend this hotel. If you are going to Machupicchu this hotel let you enjoy your stay before or after your trip to the lost city. Highly recommended.

Excelente hotel ubicado en un sitio muy estrategico para ir o regresar de Machupicchu.

Room Tip: If you like river sounds choose front otherwise choose back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are very pleased for having you as a guest in our hotel.
We truly appreciate your positive comments about your experience at Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes Lim18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#2 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes Train Station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails.•Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru.•Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs.•Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities.•Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.