We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, a bit overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Santuario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal El Santuario to your Saves list
Hostal El Santuario
Road Aguas Calientes | Km 111.5, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a nice room with balcony overlooking the valley and the river. Go for the rooms with riverview. The other rooms faced the backside of the building and looked very dark.
Very helpfull and friendly staff, nice terrace with complementary tea. The breakfast was a little less than ok.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
17
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Hotel was fine- it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing outstanding but good for 1 night. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great location near the river away from city noises; clean but service was poor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

We had a river view room on the second floor. The view of the Urubamba river is terrific. The room was basic and clean. The shower had tons of hot water. The room was fairly small but just fine. The staff seems a little dazed but we didn't have any problems. The place wasn't too busy. There is a single computer in the lobby available to guests. The food was fresh, nothing special. There are tons of places in town with great food so no problem there. When we were a bit cold in the room, the staff did give us an additional heater. Good value, and a great view!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The view from the hotel is incredible. Facing the Urubamba River and the beginning of the road to Machu Picchu. Comfortable and clean. Attentive staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The staff was not very communicative and the rooms were not that nice. Mind you, it calls it self a hostel, and I was expecting a "hotel", so in a sense it's my bad. I had to check out at 12:00 but didn't need to catch a train until 5. As I was sick that day, I asked them if I could stay in my room until the train and they said I would have to pay an extra $17. Which was fine, but during that whole period, the cleaning staff used my room as a home base for cleaning the other rooms on the floor and never left, so I couldn't use it. Therefore I stayed sick in the lobby. When I explained that the cleaning staff was in my room and I would like my $17 back, they made a big production about it, getting other staff and managers to agree to it. There was an unpleasant odor, but to be fair, the whole town doesn't smell too pleasant. At the bar, I had the only pisco sour in three weeks that didn't taste good. Even I, a humble foreigner, learned quickly how to make a great pisco sour. In sum, as a "hostel", maybe it meets the needs of those expecting a hostel. I wasn't expecting that.

Room Tip: Try for a room with the view of the front street so you can see the rivers and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We booked this place after reading numerous reviews of lodging in the $100 USD price range. It lived up to all expectations and was a nice, clean, and great location hotel. The front desk staff has basic knowledge of the area, but not out of their way to provide the best customer service. Surprisingly, the staff member that was the best was the bell boy. He was very friendly, recommended restaurants, and even carried our bags to/ from the train station. I was very impressed they had our bags waiting upon our return train trip back to Cusco after our Machu Picchu hike.

BTW...Ask for a river view room. We had a great sleep hearing the rushing river outside the room. But starting at 5.30 or 6.00 AM you will hear all the buses roaring by carrying people up to Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Santuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Santuario

Address: Road Aguas Calientes | Km 111.5, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal El Santuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Santuario Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hostal El Santuario Aguas Calientes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Santuario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.