We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great backpackers hostel - but remember to wear your flip flops!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecopackers Machupicchu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ecopackers Machupicchu to your Saves list
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Av. Imperio de los Incas 136, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great backpackers hostel - but remember to wear your flip flops!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location couldn't get any better, and neither could the price.. I was initially worried about finding accommodations in Aguas Calientes, as my sister and I arrived without reservations, but we were fortunate enough to be directed towards this hostel, and couldn't have been happier.

The hostal itself is a bit unassuming from the outside, but the services are quite comfortable inside. The rooms are rather standard, and my sister and I stayed in a 4 bed dorm that had only us in it for the night, but the beds were comfortable and the blankets warm and cozy. My only complaint about this hostal would be the bathrooms - as soon as you walked in, the stink of mold was overwhelming, and opening the shower curtain, you could immediately see why. The walls were slick with black mold, and it was really quite unappealing to shower in, but having stayed at hostals many times before, I had my flip flops handy and made the best of it. Not enough to keep me away from staying here again, but certainly worth mentioning.

The front desk staff were very friendly and incredibly accommodating the next day when we returned from our trip up to Machu Picchu. We arrived exhausted, hot and sweaty, and in need of a food, drink, and a shower. The gentleman at the front desk leapt into action, asking our food orders so the rooftop bar restaurant could start preparing them while we hopped in the shower. We had technically already checked out and were only storing our baggage there whilst we went up the mountain, so we were very impressed that he would let us use the services for free! After a warm shower in the empty dorm being used for baggage storage, we made our way up to the rooftop lounge, where our food was just about ready. The rooftop lounge was perfect - a pool table, small radio with music playing, a fantastically priced happy hour drink menu, and the fragrance of freshly prepared food sizzling away behind the bar. We sat down, enjoyed a beer, and stared out at the fantastic view of both Aguas Calientes pueblo and the mountains looming above. Our food arrived - the chicken burger, and the alpaca steak - and we devoured with few words exchanged. We then ordered two pisco sours each, lovingly and painstakingly prepared by who I assumed to be the owner or manager (he was so proud of each drink, and brought them over personally to ensure we liked them before walking away!) and mused that it was a perfect end to a fantastic day.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
8
30
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

You're only ever going to be in Aguas caliente for a night or 2, and this place ticked the boxes for my needs; clean bed, warm room, clean bathroom, hot water, bar and food, communal areas (inside and rooftop) TV/film, chill out area, breakfast included, and a nice, mixed crowd, and friendly and knowledgable staff. Located conveniently for the bus terminal, food and drink, and the mighty Machu Picchu, and did I mention it was clean, and cheap.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

After staying at the location in Cusco, I had to stay here as it was a no brainer. Once again it was clean, affordable and great location for the bus and train. It's a bit smaller than Cusco so make a reservation! The top floor bar is great especially, when it's raining, you still feel outdoors and immersed in the scenery. You are next to train tracks so it can be a tad loud but earplugs are provided which is a nice touch. Don't think just go!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz do Sul, RS
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrive in Machu Picchu Peublo at night. The guys of the hostel said that they will be waiting for us at the train station, but they aren´t there. We had a city map, and because of this we hadn´t problems to find the hostel. The hostel is very good located near from bus station and train station, at the main "street", with easy . This was very good, because there´s a lot of hostels in Aguas Calientes and to get many of them you need to climb a lot. The bathroom was really really small. The bedroom was very simple, without a table or chair. Only the beds and a wardrobe. The beds was very good. We had some noise problems because our room was next to the front desk, so we heard some conversations and calls. But usually the hostel is quiet, because all the people wake up very early to go to Machu Picchu. The breakfest was simple, with juice, coffee, bread and jam. It´s a good option for 1 night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed in Ecopacker Machu Picchu for 2 nights and the hostel is great!!! I stayed in room I a four bed dorm with private bathroom which was at the front of the hostel where the trains pass, when they pass it is quite noisy but I wasn´t awoken by any so this wasnt a problem.

The room, bed and bathroom was clean, The bathroom did flood a bit after taking a shower which is a shame! The bar area with a pool table upstairs is a nice touch and the staff were friendly.and pleasent.

A special mention to Andres who went out of his way to help, top quality service!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Me and my friends stayed for a night at Ecopackers Machupicchu. Beds were very confortable, and the view from our room was just incredible. Julio Sequeiro (at reception) was extremely nice to us the whole stay. He helped us to leave our bags when going up.
Breakfast is served from 4:00am in case you want to go up to Machupicchu first thing in the morning.
Only minor problem: the shower didn't have a curtain in one of the rooms.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I spent two nights in the 4-dorm. Beds are comfortable and the room is very clean. You can sleep soundly (even with the noise of the train). Shower is hot and lockers are very large. There is a hall where you can find a restaurant with delicious and very cheap food. At 4 am breakfast starts being served (one great option for those going to Machu Picchu early!). There are also 2 large TVs in the hall, a pool table and good music plays during the day. Wifi is satisfactory. The atmosphere is very nice and a lot of that is due to the very well prepared and friendly staff (especially Andres and Leonardo - who is one of the friendliest people in the world). The guys have a sincere courtesy, care about your comfort and well being and are pro-active in helping us with any issue. They work very hard indeed.
Ecopackers is located very close to the train station and less than 5 minutes from the bus stop to MaPi.
Super recommended.. It is a benchmark for hostels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecopackers Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecopackers Machupicchu

Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas 136, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Ecopackers Hostel is now open in Aguas Calientes - Machu PicchuCome and stay with us in our brand new Hostel with the same standard of quality and service that characterizes us.We offer you a priviledged location in between the Aguas Calientes train station and the bus station making it a lot easier for you to get to where you want to go and fast !In Ecopackers Hostels we pride ourselves in being a Hostel with very high standards. It is for this reason that we offer our guests a prime location, the best orthopedic mattreses available, sheets and bed dressing of the same quality of a 4 star Hotel, the best hot water system available, and also of course the best quality and customer service you deserve ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Ecopackers Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecopackers Machupicchu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.