We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a 3.5...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El MaPi Hotel to your Saves list
El MaPi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really a 3.5...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I really wanted to like this place, but I had to "round down" my rating. The staff was friendly and the look was modern and cool. It was conveniently located in town. So what's not to like? It seemed sort of slapped together with Ikea level appointments and very thin walls. We had a package that included two meals -- breakfast was good enough, but dinner, though stylishly presented, was like a slightly improved airplane dinner -- very generic. Our second night's dinner was better and the restaurant staff was less overwhelmed with a big group, but it was still only okay. My sense is, though, that it may be a decent deal all the same for the Aguas Calientes market.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

The hotel’s concept seeks to create a place where our travelers can find efficiency and friendliness. We are sorry to hear that we did not completely met your expectation but we appreciate your feedback that will help us improve. We can assure you that we are working hard on improving our facilities and service and hope to be at your service in a future occasion.

We would also like to thank you for your kind comments for our location, ambiance and service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    488
    168
    53
    28
See reviews for
210
528
76
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really enjoyed our night here. We were in room 115, our friends 104. Theirs had a dehumidifier in it and no outlook at all. Ours was higher and fine. Free water in room. Our included evening meal was great. Choice of 4 mains and starters beautifully presented we chose the 7.30 dinner sitting. Henri was barman and waiter and he enhanced our stay. Umbrellas in the room. Fresh omelettes for breakfast. There are hot spring baths at the top of the road. Wish we had taken our swimming gear. You could hire towels. Lots of places to eat lunch near the hotel. We tried El Manu up the hill on the left and Apu Qoyllur Riti ? opposite. Both were fine. We felt all prices here were a little higher than the rest of Peru for drinks souvenirs etc. Fridge in room. They met us at the station and collected our bags so we could go direct to Macchu Picchu. They also looked after our bags the next morning and would have taken them to the station for us if we had wanted them too. Forgot to mention Nilton another attentive waiter

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us this lovely review.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments for our facilities and service.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay @ the Inkaterra El Mapi Hotel. The 3 star hotel is located about 3 blocks from the bus station for Machu Picchu on the main street of town. In other words, an excellent location! The hotel itself is very generic and sterile. I would equate the room style and size to that of a college dorm room. The bathroom was a decent size with a walk in shower with good water pressure. We did come across some dead bugs in the bathroom, which was somewhat of a disappointment. Its very efficient and gets it done for sleeping quarters that are close to Machu Picchu. Our rate included dinner and breakfast. You had to pick from 3 times as to when to dine (6pm-7:30-9). We found that to be a little odd. The food quality was subpar and the service was rushed (felt like being on an inexpensive Caribbean cruise). Our desert was an uneatable piece of day old chocolate cake. I am happy to say that the breakfast was considerately better. They provided an eggs/omelet station as well as normal buffet options. Most importantly, they start serving breakfast at 4am, which is great because you stay in this hotel so that you get on an early bus to Machu Picchu before all the train guest arrives. Unfortunately Wi-Fi was only offered in the hotel lobby & bar (free of charge) and not in your room.
I would recommend this hotel for its location to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will help us to improve our service.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Obviously a good base from which to visit Machu Picchu. The hotel is set in a viilage location and just a short distance away is the departure point for the bus transfer climb to Machu Picchu itself. Also the train terminal is equally very close by. Indeed everything is close at hand including local restaurants and shopping.
The hotel seems to be undergoing renovations or extension in another wing, so construction noise is evident during the day. The wing I was located in was somewhat curious in that all rooms are situated either side of a marble floored corridor, hence noisy until residents settle down at night. Furthermore at 7.30 am the next morning there was a lengthy conversation being carried out noisily by a hotel employee (on a telephone) for approx half an hour in the room directly opposite mine. Further rest was therefore impossible.
Notwithstanding my room was bright, clean and comfortable with a small bathroom attached. TV reception was available on a good quality unit.
All staff encountered either at the front desk or in the restaurant were friendly and helpful (except for the room attendant aberration).
The dining room had a reasonable buffet menu for breakfast and the evening dinner menu was also acceptable.
In total a reasonable place to stay, subject to being aware of the construction and noises as mentioned

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

In order to improve our facilities, at the moment we are doing some improvements to our property that should be over soon; we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We appreciate your feedback that will allow us to take corrective measures and improve our service; we have transferred your concerns to our Management team.

We would also like thank you for your kind comments for our rooms and service. We hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at the El MaPi hotel for one night during a recent trip to Peru. The hotel is located conveniently close to the main plaza and to the buses which take people to Machu Picchu, and there are several good and interesting restaurants nearby. Our room, however, was very small and had no furniture except for the beds. Using a computer during my stay, therefore, was awkward. The "complimentary" dinner at the hotel was not particularly noteworthy, although the wait staff provided good service. The wi-fi connection in the room was weak and spotty, but good in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Check in at 3:30 PM was great and there it ended. We were on the fifth floor and could not get WiFi as advertised. The hotel is under construction and the noise and dust are awful and we felt like we had dust in our mouth way past the time the work crew left., Try and be away for the whole day from 7:30 to 5:30 PM. Be aware that due to a lot of hikers leaving early ( 5:00 to 6:00AM) and the fact that they send a cleaning crew at 7:00 AM to start cleaning the rooms sleeping in is impossible. The noise seem to be louder then any hotel we have been in at that expensive rate and I don't think that this will change even after they are finished with construction.The staff is wonderful and bears complaints with a smile. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the left side of the restaurant going up. The hike up to the fifth floor is te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Britain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived after our first tour of Machu Picchu and were greated at the front desk by a very friendly staff who had already taken our bags to our room. A short check in and we were escorted to our accommodation for the night. Our staff member showed us the features of the hotel along the way and made sure our room was satisfactory before handing us our two free "Pisco Sour" coupons and left us to settle in. The room was very good, they even had a dehumidifier going as it was rainy season and everything outside was damp. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. This will be our choice to stay on our next trip to Aguas Calients!

Room Tip: all where good as none faced the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#5 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Boutique Hotel
Casa del Sol Machupicchu - Bouti...
#4 of 21 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi Hotel

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your El MaPi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El MaPi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.